Chapter RL 91

APPLICATION

RI. 91 01 RL 91.02 Application for registration. Special registration time limits RL 91.03

Reciprocal registration.

RL 91.04

Accommodations relating to a disability

RL 91.01 Application for registration. Except as provided in s. RL 91.02, an individual applying for registration as a massage therapist or bodyworker shall submit all of the following to the department:

- (1) An application on a form provided by the department. Note: Application forms are available upon request to the department at 1400 East Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708.
 - (2) The fee required under s. 440.05 (1). Stats.
 - (3) Evidence satisfactory to the department that he or she:
- (a) If filing an application for registration before March 1, 2000, has completed at least 500 classroom hours of study in a course of instruction at an approved school of massage therapy or bodywork, as provided under s. 440.982 (1) (b), Stats.
- (b) If filing an application for registration on or after March 1, 2000, has completed at least 600 classroom hours of study in a course of instruction at an approved school of massage therapy or bodywork, as provided under s. 440.982 (1) (b), Stats.
- (c) Subject to ss. 111.321, 111.322 and 111.335, Stats., does (e) not have a conviction record.
- 9/3/00 (d) Has in effect malpractice liability insurance coverage in an amount that is not less than \$1,000,000 per occurrence and \$1,000,000 for all occurrences in one year.
 - (e) If filing an application for registration on or after March 1, 2000, passed examinations approved by the department relating to the practice of massage therapy or bodywork and state laws governing the practice of massage therapy and bodywork.

History: Cr. Register, February, 1999, No. 518, eff. 3-1-99.

- RL 91.02 Special registration time limits. (1) Instead of applying for registration under s. RL 91.01, an individual may elect to apply for registration under this section by satisfying either the requirements under par. (a) or the requirements under par. (b). A registration granted under par. (a) shall be valid for 3 years after the date that it is issued and may not be renewed. A registration granted under par. (b) may be renewed.
- (a) An individual applying for registration between February 1, 1999 and August 31, 1999, shall submit the following to the department:
- 1. An application on a form provided by the department that describes his or her education and experience in the practice of massage therapy or bodywork.
- Note: Application forms are available upon request to the department at 1400 East Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708.
- 2. Evidence satisfactory to the department that he or she satisfies each of the following:
- a. Has completed at least 100 classroom hours of instruction in the practice of massage therapy or bodywork as provided in ch. RL 92 or has practiced massage therapy or bodywork for compensation for at least 2 years during the 5 year period immediately preceding the date of application.
- b. Has in effect malpractice liability insurance coverage in an amount that is not less than \$1,000,000 per occurrence and \$1,000,000 for all occurrences in one year.
 - c. Has paid the fee required under s. 440.05 (1), Stats.

- (b) An individual applying for registration between February 1, 1999 and February 29, 2000, shall submit the following:
- 1 An application on a form provided by the department that describes his or her education and experience in the practice of massage therapy or bodywork.

Note: Application forms are available upon request to the department at 1400 East Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708

- 2. Evidence satisfactory to the department that he or she has passed an examination approved by the department.
 - 3. The fee required under s. 440.05 (1), Stats. History: Cr. Register, February, 1999, No. 518, eff. 3-1-99.
- RL 91.03 Reciprocal registration. (1) An individual applying for registration on the basis of a license, registration or certification in another state or jurisdiction of the United States or another country shall:
- (a) Submit an application on a form provided by the department

Note: Application forms are available upon request to the department at 1400 East Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708.

- (b) Pay the fee required under s. 440.05 (2), Stats.
- (c) Submit evidence satisfactory to the department that the individual:
- 1. Holds a current license, registration or certificate to practice massage therapy or bodywork in another state or jurisdiction of the United States or another country.
- 2. Is not currently under investigation for a matter related to his or her practice of massage therapy or bodywork in the other state, territory or country.
- 3. Has never been disciplined for a matter related to his or her practice of massage therapy or bodywork in the other state, territory or country.
- 4. Subject to ss. 111.321, 111.322 and 111.335, Stats., does not have an arrest or conviction record.
- 5. Is not currently a party in pending litigation in which it is alleged that he or she is liable for damages for acts committed in the course of the practice of massage therapy or bodywork.
- 6. Has never been found liable for damages for acts committed in the course of the practice of massage therapy or body-
- 7. Has in effect malpractice liability insurance coverage in an amount that is not less than \$1,000,000 per occurrence and \$1,000,000 for all occurrences in one year.
- (2) In determining whether to grant a reciprocal registration, the department shall consider whether the requirements for a license, registration or certificate in the other state or jurisdiction are similar to the requirements for registration as a massage therapist or bodyworker in this state.

History: Cr. Register, February, 1999, No. 518, eff. 3-1-99.

RL 91.04 Accommodations relating to a disability. A qualified individual with a disability shall be provided with reasonable accommodations requested in connection with the completion of an application for registration as a massage therapist or bodyworker.

History: Cr. Register, February, 1999, No. 518, eff. 3-1-99.