http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin\_code FUNERAL DIRECTORS EXAMINING BOARD

## Chapter FD 5 LICENSURE BY RECIPROCITY

FD 5.01 Qualifications.

FD 5.02 Application procedure.

Note: Chapter FDE 5 was renumbered chapter FD 5 under s. 13.93 (2m) (b) 1., Stats., Register, September, 1993, No. 453.

**FD 5.01 Qualifications.** A person licensed as a funeral director in another state may obtain a license as a funeral director under this chapter if the applicant meets all of the following criteria:

(1) Has met requirements in another state substantially equal to those in this state.

(2) Has never been disciplined by the licensing authority in any other state, territory or country for any misconduct or violations which demonstrate lack of competence to practice as a funeral director in Wisconsin as determined by the board.

(3) Is not under any current investigation and is not a party in a proceeding involving a complaint against the applicant which relates to the applicant's practice as a funeral director.

(4) Does not have an arrest or conviction record, subject to ss. 111.321, 111.322 and 111.335, Stats.

(5) Has satisfactorily completed 9 months or more of instruction in a prescribed curriculum in funeral service education offered by an educational institution accredited by the American board of funeral service education or deemed to be equivalent by the board.

(6) Passes the board's examination on Wisconsin law. The board shall determine the passing grade after consultation with subject matter experts who have reviewed a representative sample of the examination questions and available candidate performance statistics, and shall set the passing grade for the examination at that point which represents minimum acceptable competence in the profession.

**History:** Cr. Register, December, 1989, No. 408, eff. 1–1–90; am., Register, November, 1998, No. 515, eff. 12–1–98.

**FD 5.02 Application procedure. (1)** An applicant for a license under this chapter shall file an application with the board no later than 30 days prior to the examination under s. 445.08 (4), Stats. The applicant shall pay the costs and fees necessary to obtain the information required in subs. (2) and (4). The application shall be on the board's form and include:

(a) Information relating to the requirements in s. FD 5.01 and the signature of the applicant.

(b) The fee specified under s. 440.05 (2), Stats.

**Note:** Application forms are available upon request to the board office located at 1400 East Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, WI 53708.

(2) The applicant shall request that the school of mortuary science attended by the applicant forward to the board a certified transcript of the applicant's record.

(3) The applicant shall request the authorized official in each state in which the applicant holds or has held a license to forward to the board a certified statement showing the qualifications upon which the license was granted, the current status of the applicant's license, and a description of any complaints filed against the applicant and the disposition of all complaints.

(4) Applicants who have a pending criminal charge or have been convicted of any crime shall provide the board all related information necessary for the board to determine whether the circumstances of the pending criminal charge or conviction are substantially related to the circumstances of the licensed activity.

(5) An application is not complete until all the information described in this section is received by the board. An applicant shall be scheduled to take the examination after completing sub. (1). However, the board shall not grant a license under this section until the application is complete.

History: Cr. Register, December, 1989, No. 408, eff. 1-1-90.