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Chapter PC 2
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PC 2.01 Time limits and address for filing com-
plaints.  All complaints shall be filed according to the appropri-
ate time limits established by statute or rule and shall be filed at
the offices of the commission. The time limit for filing complaints
with the commission pursuant to Wisconsin’s fair employment act
or the elder abuse reporting law shall be the period set forth in s.
111.39 (1), Stats.

Note:  The mailing address of the commission is:

State Personnel Commission
131 W. Wilson St., Room 1004
Madison, WI 53703

The Wisconsin fair employment act provides that complaints under that act be filed
“no more than 300 days after the alleged discrimination, unfair honesty testing or
unfair genetic testing occurred.” s. 111.39 (1), Stats.

 Complaints of retaliation relating to occupational safety and health are to be filed
“within 30 days after the employe received knowledge of the discrimination or dis-
charge.” s. 101.055 (8) (b), Stats.

 Complaints of retaliation under the “whistleblower  law” must be filed “within 60
days after the retaliatory action allegedly occurred or was threatened or after the
employe learned of the retaliatory action or threat thereof, whichever occurs last.” s.
230.85 (1), Stats.

Complaints under the family medical leave act are to be filed ‘‘within 30 days after
the violation occurs or the employe should reasonably have known that the violation
occurred, whichever is later,” s. 103.10 (12) (b), Stats.

History:  Cr. Register, August, 1987, No. 380, eff. 9−1−87; am. Register, May,
1996, No. 485, eff. 6−1−96.

PC 2.02 Complaints.  (1) CONTENT.  Complaints should
identify the name, address and telephone number of the complain-
ant, the name of the respondent agency, the facts which constitute
the alleged unlawful conduct and the statutory basis of the allega-
tion.

Note:  See the note in s. PC 1.02 (9), for listing of potential statutory bases.

(2) FORM.  Complaints shall be written on a form available
from the commission or on any other form that is acceptable to the
commission. The complaint shall be signed, verified and nota-
rized.

(3) AMENDMENT.  A complaint may be amended by the com-
plainant, subject to approval by the commission, to cure technical
defects or omissions, or to clarify or amplify allegations made in
the complaint or to set forth additional facts or allegations related
to the subject matter of the original charge, and those amendments
shall relate back to the original filing date.

(4) ASSISTANCE.  Appropriate assistance in completing com-
plaint forms, including notarization, shall be provided by the com-
mission in the commission’s offices.

History:  Cr. Register, March, 1980, No. 291, eff. 4−1−80; r. and recr. Register,
August, 1987, No. 380, eff. 9−1−87; am. (1), Register, May, 1996, No. 485, eff.
6−1−96.

PC 2.03 Notice to respondents.  (1) Except where pre-
vented by the anonymity requirement of s. 111.375 (1), Stats., the
commission shall serve a copy of the complaint upon each respon-
dent prior to the commencement of any investigation.

(2) When the commission invokes s. 111.375 (1), Stats., and
preserves a complainant’s anonymity, the commission shall serve
the respondent with a general statement describing the complaint.

History:  Cr. Register, August, 1987, No. 380, eff. 9−1−87.

PC 2.04 Answers.  Respondents may file written answers
within 20 days after service of the complaint. If no answer is filed,
every material allegation of the complaint is in issue. However, as

part of an investigation, the commission may require that respond-
ents file an answer to a complaint within a time period specified
by the commission and may require that the answer include a
statement regarding each allegation in the complaint, the respon-
dent’s version of the underlying facts, copies of documents relat-
ing to the allegations and the assertion of any legal defenses to the
allegations. The commission may modify the specified period for
good cause shown.

History:  Cr. Register, August, 1987, No. 380, eff. 9−1−87; am. Register, May,
1996, No. 485, eff. 6−1−96.

PC 2.05 Investigations.  (1) METHODS.  The commission
shall determine the nature and scope of the investigation and shall
impartially obtain and analyze information relevant to the com-
plaint. The commission may obtain information by methods
including, but not limited to, fact−finding conference, interview,
on−site inspection, inspection of documents or examination of
written submissions of parties and witnesses. To carry out its
investigation, the commission may use all those methods of dis-
covery specified in ch. 804, Stats., issue subpoenas and subpoenas
duces tecum and require answers as provided in s. PC 2.04.

(2) INTERVIEWS.  The commission may require that an inter-
view with any employe, except a management or supervisory
employe who is a party to or is immediately involved in the subject
matter of the complaint, be conducted outside the presence of the
appointing authority or any representative or agent thereof unless
the employe voluntarily requests that presence. An appointing
authority shall permit an employe to be interviewed without loss
of pay and to have an employe representative present at the inter-
view. An appointing authority of an employe to be interviewed
may require the commission to give the appointing authority rea-
sonable notice prior to the interview. In scheduling interviews, the
commission shall consider the programmatic needs of the
appointing authority. As used in this subsection, “management or
supervisory employe” includes persons who served in manage-
ment or supervisory positions at the time of the events that com-
prise the basis of the complaint.

(3) TIME LIMIT FOR RESPONDING TO COMMISSION’S DISCOVERY

REQUESTS.  A party shall respond to the commission’s discovery
requests within 30 days after service unless the commission grants
an extension or modification for good cause shown.

(4) SANCTIONS.  (a)  The commission shall notify the party
from whom discovery is sought that the failure to answer or pro-
duce requested information necessary for an investigation may
result in the imposition of those sanctions set forth in pars. (b), (c)
and (d).

(b)  If a complainant fails to answer or to produce requested
information necessary for an investigation, the commission may
dismiss the complaint or make an appropriate inference and issue
an initial determination. In the alternative, at any hearing arising
out of the complaint the hearing examiner or commission may
exclude any evidence which should have been offered in response
to the discovery request.

(c)  If a respondent fails to answer or to produce requested
information necessary for an investigation, the commission may
make an appropriate inference, analyze the available evidence
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and issue an initial determination. If probable cause is ultimately
found, conciliation is unsuccessful and a hearing on the merits of
the complaint is convened, the hearing examiner or commission
may exclude any evidence which should have been offered in
response to the discovery request.

(d)  If a respondent fails to file an answer when required by the
commission under s. PC 2.04, the hearing examiner or the com-
mission may invoke those sanctions described in par. (c).

History:  Cr. Register, August, 1987, No. 380, eff. 9−1−87.

PC 2.06 Fact−finding conferences.  Upon the agree-
ment of the parties, the commission may convene fact−finding
conferences in order to obtain information, to identify those mat-
ters in dispute and to explore the possibility of a negotiated settle-
ment. At least 10 days prior to the conference, notice of the confer-
ence shall be provided to all parties. A fact−finding conference is
not a contested case hearing. A member of the commission’s staff
shall conduct and control the conference.

History:  Cr. Register, August, 1987, No. 380, eff. 9−1−87.

PC 2.07 Initial determinations.  (1) WHEN ISSUED.  At
the conclusion of each investigation and absent a settlement
between the parties or other final disposition of the complaint, the
commission shall make an initial determination as to whether
probable cause exists as to each claim raised in a complaint. The
initial determination shall be in writing and shall be served on the
parties along with an explanation of any time limits for obtaining
review of the initial determination.

(2) PROBABLE CAUSE DETERMINATIONS.  Upon either an initial
determination of probable cause following investigation or a find-

ing of probable cause following hearing, the commission shall
seek to resolve the dispute between the parties by conciliation
unless either party waives conciliation in writing. If conciliation
is waived or is unsuccessful, the complaint may proceed to hear-
ing on the issue of whether a violation occurred as alleged in the
complaint.

Note:  See the note in s. PC 1.02 (9), for listing of statutory bases over which the
commission has jurisdiction.

(3) NO PROBABLE CAUSE DETERMINATIONS.  Within 30 days
after the service of an initial determination of no probable cause
as to any claim raised in a complaint, a complainant may file, with
the commission, a written request for hearing on the issue of prob-
able cause as to that claim. If, after a hearing, the commission finds
probable cause as to the claim and reverses the initial determina-
tion, the complaint shall be processed under sub. (2).

(4) MIXED DETERMINATIONS.  When a complaint includes 2 or
more claims and findings of both probable cause and no probable
cause have resulted, those claims for which probable cause has
been found shall be processed under sub. (2), and those claims for
which no probable cause has been found shall be processed under
sub. (3), except that the parties may agree to process the entire
complaint under sub. (2) as if probable cause had been found as
to all claims.

History:  Cr. Register, August, 1987, No. 380, eff. 9−1−87; am. (2), Register, May,
1996, No. 485, eff. 6−1−96.

PC 2.08 Conciliation conferences.  At any time during
the pendency of a complaint, the commission may seek to effectu-
ate a settlement between the parties by convening a conciliation
conference.

History:  Cr. Register, August, 1987, No. 380, eff. 9−1−87.
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