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1 STATE PUBLIC DEFENDER

PD 1.04

Chapter PD 1

CERTIFICATION
PD 1.01 Annual review. PD 1.05 Appeal of certification decisions.
PD 1.02 Certification of newly admitted attorneys. PD 1.06 Decertification for cause.
PD 1.03 Certification application. PD 1.07 Voluntary removal.
PD 1.035 Residency requirements. PD 1.08 Access to files.
PD 1.04 Certification criteria.

Note: Chapter SPD 1 was renumbered chapter PD 1 under s. 13.93 (2m) (b) 1.,
Stats., Register, July, 1995, No. 475.

PD 1.01 Annual review. (1) The state public defender
shall annually notify each active member of the state bar of Wis-
consin of the procedure for applying for certification under the
provisions of s. 977.08, Stats. Publication of a notice in the publi-
cation of the state bar of Wisconsin constitutes notice.

(2) The state public defender shall annually update its certifi-
cation list under s. 977.08, Stats., regarding the availability of pri-
vate attorneys to be appointed to state public defender matters.

History: Cr. Register, August, 1978, No. 272, eff. 9—1-78; r. and recr. (1) and (2),
r. (3), Register, November, 1984, No. 347, eff. 12—-1-84.

PD 1.02 Certification of newly admitted attorneys.
The state public defender shall provide the Wisconsin supreme
court and the state bar of Wisconsin with materials to insure that
every person admitted to the state bar after January 1, 1978, is pro-
vided with information for applying for certification under s.
977.08, Stats.

History: Cr. Register, August, 1978, No. 272, eff. 9-1-78; am. Register, Novem-
ber, 1984, No. 347, eff. 12—-1-84.

PD 1.03 Certification application. The state public
defender shall prepare an application to be completed by attorneys
seeking certification as provided in s. 977.08 (3), Stats.

History: Cr. Register, August, 1978, No. 272, eff. 9-1-78.

PD 1.035 Residency requirements. In addition to the
certification criteria listed in s. PD 1.04, the following require-
ments exist for certification.

(1) An attorney must reside or maintain his or her principal
office in Wisconsin A post office box in Wisconsin does not con-
stitute a residence or principal office in Wisconsin.

(2) An attorney may be certified for trial division cases only
in those counties in which he or she resides or maintains his or her
principal office, except that in counties in which there are less than
10 attorneys on any certification list, an attorney residing or main-
taining his or her principal office in one or more adjacent counties
may also be certified for that county.

(3) Notwithstanding subs. (1) and (2), the state public
defender may, on a case—by—case basis, certify an attorney to han-
dle a case if such certification is necessary for effective client rep-
resentation. Considerations include, but are not limited to, case-
load, availability of other counsel, proximity to the court, and
cost—effectiveness.

History: Cr., Register, July, 1997, No. 499, eff. 8-1-97.

PD 1.04 Certification criteria. (1) An attorney shall be
certified for misdemeanor and paternity cases if the attorney has
requested certification and the attorney is admitted to the state bar
of Wisconsin.

(2) An attorney shall be certified for felony cases involving a
felony offense bearing a maximum penalty of less than 20 years
imprisonment if:

(a) The attorney has requested certification;

(b) The attorney is admitted to the state bar of Wisconsin; and

(c) Either, within the past 5 years:
1. Has served one year as a prosecutor;
2. Has served one year as a public defender;
3. Has been trial counsel alone of record in 5 misdemeanor
cases brought to final resolution;
4. Has been trial counsel alone of record in 2 felony cases
brought to final resolution; or
5. Has been trial counsel alone or with other trial counsel and
handled a significant portion of the trial in 2 cases, civil, criminal,
or juvenile, that have been tried to a jury to final resolution.
(2m) (a) Except as provided for in pars. (c) and (d), an attor-
ney shall be certified for the types of cases specified in the follow-
ing schedule if the attorney has been certified for misdemeanors
and has completed the indicated number of credits of state public
defender provided legal education:

Type of Case Credits
1. Chapters 51 & 55 2
2. Juvenile—chs. 48 and 938, Stats. 4
4

(plus completion of 4

3. Termination of Parental Rights credits for juvenile

certification)
4. Probation & Parole Revocations 2
5. Writs & Extradition 1

Note: Line 2 does not include termination of parental rights (TPR) cases. Line 3
applies to TPR cases.

(b) 1. Paragraph (a) only applies to attorneys who seek certifi-
cation after January 1, 1993. However, except as provided under
subd. 2., any attorney who seeks certification after January 1,
1993 shall be conditionally certified under this subsection for 6
months if he or she agrees, in writing, to complete the indicated
number of credits specified in par. (a) within 6 months of the date
that he or she was conditionally certified. Upon an attorney’s
request, the state public defender may extend the conditional cer-
tification for an additional 6 months.

2. Conditional certification under this subsection is not avail-
able for attorneys who represent clients in termination of parental
rights cases or juvenile waiver cases.

(c) With the approval of the state public defender, an attorney
may substitute other accredited training for state public defender
provided legal education.

(d) An attorney may be assigned a revocation case, whether or
not he or she is certified for revocations, when that attorney has
a prior pending case with the same client.

(3) An attorney shall be certified for felony cases involving a
felony offense bearing a maximum penalty of 20 or more years
imprisonment if:

(a) The attorney has requested certification;

(b) The attorney is admitted to the state bar of Wisconsin; and

(c) Either, within the past 5 years:

1. Has served 2 years as a prosecutor;
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2. Has served 2 years as a public defender; or

3. Has been trial counsel alone or with other trial counsel and
handled a significant portion of the trial in 5 cases, civil, criminal,
or juvenile, that have been tried to a jury to final resolution.

(5) (a) Certification for appellate cases in general. An attor-
ney shall be certified for appellate cases if he or she meets all of
the following requirements:

1. The attorney has requested certification.

2. The attorney is licensed in good standing to practice law
in this state.

3. The attorney meets the applicable qualifications in pars. (c)
to (f).

(b) Power of appellate division director. Notwithstanding
pars. (c) to (f), the director of the appellate division may determine
whether an attorney’s education or experience may be substituted
for compliance with the qualifications under pars. (c) to (f) and
may deny certification for good cause.

(bc) Provisional appellate certification. The appellate divi-
sion director, or his or her designee, may provisionally certify
attorneys to receive appointments for appellate cases;

1. The appellate division director may change an attorney’s
certification status to provisional certification in lieu of initiating
decertification.

2. All appellate certifications granted after January 1, 2003,
shall be provisional certifications.

3. After one year of provisional certification, the appellate
division director, or his or her designee, shall review the perfor-
mance of the attorney and determine whether the provisional cer-
tification should continue, the provisional certification should
become non—provisional, or the attorney should be excluded from
the appellate certification list.

4. The review may include file reviews, brief reviews, phone
conferences, personal conferences, client communications, and
reviews of court records. Appellate division performance stan-
dards shall provide a guide to determining whether the provisional
certification should be continued, discontinued, or converted to
non—provisional certification, but the determination of certifica-
tion status is at the discretion of the appellate division director, or
his or her designee.

5. If the provisional certification is continued under subd. 3.,
the attorney’s performance shall be reviewed again after a period
of time set by the appellate division director ,or his or her desig-
nee, not to exceed one year.

6. Appeals from decisions under this paragraph shall proceed
as provided in s. PD 1.05.

(c) Level one. Level one certification means the attorney is
certified for misdemeanor cases, sentencings after revocation of
probation or parole and any pleas to class E felonies. An attorney
is qualified for certification at this level if the attorney has done
either of the following:

1. Filed one brief-in—chief in any appellate court in the
United States in the 5 years immediately preceding application for
certification. A copy of the brief must accompany the application
for certification.

2. Completed 3 credits of state public defender approved legal
education on appellate procedure, or its equivalent, including a
law school course, clinical program or judicial clerkship, in the 3
years immediately preceding application for certification.

(d) Level 2. Level 2 certification means the attorney is certified
for level one cases and cases involving any pleas to class B, C, or
D felonies, and trials in which the defendant was convicted of a
class C, D, or E felony. An attorney is qualified for certification
at this level if the attorney has done all of the following:

1. Filed a minimum of 2 briefs—in—chief in Wisconsin appel-
late courts that complied with s. 809.30 or 809.40, Stats., in the 5
years immediately preceding application for certification. A copy
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of one of the briefs must accompany the application for certifica-
tion.

2. Conducted a minimum of 3 contested trial court hearings,
including one evidentiary hearing, in the 5 years immediately pre-
ceding application for certification.

3. Met the criteria of par. (c) 2. or attended 6 hours of state
public defender approved legal education in criminal law within
one year immediately preceding application for certification.

(e) Level 3. Level 3 certification means the attorney is certified
for level 2 cases, cases involving any pleas to class A felonies and
trials in which the defendant was convicted of a class A or B fel-
ony. An attorney is qualified for certification at this level if the
attorney has done all of the following:

1. Filed a minimum of 3 briefs—in—chief in the Wisconsin
Supreme Court or the Wisconsin Court of Appeals that complied
with s. 809.30 or 809.40, Stats., in the 5 years immediately preced-
ing application for certification. At least one of the briefs must
have been in a felony jury trial case and this brief must accompany
the application for certification.

2. Conducted a minimum of 3 evidentiary hearings in crimi-
nal cases, one of which must have been a trial or postconviction
hearing, in the 5 years immediately preceding application for cer-
tification.

3. Met the criteria of par. (c) 2. or attended 6 hours of state
public defender approved legal education in criminal law in the
year immediately preceding application for certification.

(f) Specialized areas of certification. Specialized areas of cer-
tification include any of the following:

1. Termination of parental rights cases. An attorney is quali-
fied for certification in termination of parental rights cases if the
attorney meets the criteria of par. (e), and:

a. Has completed 4 credits of state public defender approved
legal education in termination of parental rights cases in the year
immediately preceding application for certification; or

b. Has been sole trial or appellate counsel of record in at least
one contested termination of parental rights case in the 3 years
immediately preceding application for certification.

2. Other juvenile cases under chs. 48 and 938, Stats. An attor-
ney is qualified for certification in other juvenile cases under chs.
48 and 938, Stats., if the attorney meets the criteria of par. (c), and:

a. Has been sole trial counsel of record in at least 5 completed
juvenile cases in the 3 years immediately preceding application
for certification; or

b. Has completed 4 credits of state public defender approved
legal education in cases under chs. 48 and 938, Stats., in the year
immediately preceding application for certification.

3. Cases under chs. 51 and 55, Stats. An attorney is qualified
for certification in cases under chs. 51 and 55, Stats., if the attor-
ney meets the criteria of par. (c), and:

a. Has been sole trial counsel of record in 5 cases under chs.
51 and 55, Stats., in the 3 years immediately preceding application
for certification; or

b. Has completed 2 credits of state public defender approved
legal education in cases under chs. 51 and 55, Stats., in the 3 years
immediately preceding application for certification.

4. Cases under ch. 980, Stats. An attorney is qualified for cer-
tification in cases under ch. 980, Stats., if the attorney meets the
criteria of par. (e), and:

a. Has completed a minimum of 2 credits of state public
defender approved education in cases under ch. 980, Stats., in the
year immediately preceding application for certification; or

b. Has been sole trial or appellate counsel of record in at least
one contested commitment under ch. 980, Stats., in the 3 years
immediately preceding application for certification.

(6) The state public defender may develop specialized lists
within subs. (1) to (5), which may be based on additional certifica-
tion criteria to be developed by the state public defender. Special-
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ized lists within sub. (3) for cases requiring exceptional expertise
may be developed with the approval of the state public defender.

(8) (a) An attorney may be excluded by the state public
defender on the following grounds:

1. The attorney is disbarred, suspended, or has surrendered a
license to practice law in this state;

2. The attorney fails to meet the education or experience crite-
ria set forth herein.

(b) The state public defender may exclude from a certified list
any attorney barred by statute from engaging in criminal represen-
tation.

(c) Any attorney who is excluded from the certification list by
virtue of the exclusions set forth herein above shall be placed on
the appropriate certification list within 30 days after a submission
of a written notification to the state public defender that the attor-
ney is no longer disqualified, provided further that such attorney
had previously submitted a timely and properly prepared certifi-
cation application.

(9) Any attorney certified under ch. PD 1 shall complete 6
hours of continuing legal education each calendar year in courses
approved by the state public defender. This requirement shall
apply beginning with the first full calendar year following gradua-
tion from law school. The state public defender shall establish pro-
cedures to monitor compliance with this requirement.

(10) The state public defender shall offer training for private
attorneys seeking certification under this chapter. As used in s.
977.05 (5) (e), Stats., “sponsor’” means to use state public defender
resources to produce and promote state public defender confer-
ences and training programs. As used in s. 977.05 (5) (e), Stats.,
“tuition” means all revenue realized from state public defender
conferences and training programs and materials.

History: Cr. Register, May, 1978, No. 269, eff. 6-1-78; am. Register, August,
1978, No. 272, eff. 9-1-78; r. and recr. (1), renum, (2) to (4) to be (5) to (7) and am.
(7), cr. (2) to (4), Register, August, 1981, No. 308, eff. 9-1-81; am. (1) (intro.) and
(c), (2) (c) and (d) 5., (3) (c) and (d) 3., renum. (4) to (7) to be (5), (7), (8) and (9) and
am. (8) (a) (intro.) and 2. and (9), cr. (4) and (6), Register, November, 1984, No. 347,
eff. 12-1-84; am. (5) (a) , Register, April, 1990, No. 412, eff. 5-1-90; correction in
(9) made under s. 13.93 (2m) (b) 4., Stats., Register, April, 1990, No. 412; r. and recr.
(1), am. (2) (b), (3) (b), (5) (b), (7), (8) (a) (intro.), (c) and (a), r. (2) (c), (3) (c), (4)
and (8) (a) 2., renum. (2) (d) (intro.), (3) (d) (intro.) and (8) (a) 3. to be (2) (c¢) (intro.),
(3) (c) (intro.) and (8) (a) 2. and am., cr. (2m), Register, October, 1992, No. 442, eff.
11-1-92; correction in (9) made under s. 13.93 (2m) (b) 7., Stats., Register, July,
1995, No. 475; r. and recr. (5), . (7), Register, April, 1996, No. 484, eff. 5-1-96; cor-
rection in (5) (c) 1. and (f) made under s. 13.93 (2m) (b) 6. and 7., Stats., Register,
July, 1996, No. 487, correction in (2m) (a) made under s. 13.93 (2m) (b) 7., Stats.,
Register, October, 1996, No. 490; cr. (10), Register, August, 1999, No. 524, eff.
9-1-99; CR 02-110: cr. (5) (bc), am. (5) (d) 3. and (e) 3., Register December 2002
No. 564, eff. 1-1-03.

PD 1.05 Appeal of certification decisions. (1) The
state public defender shall notify each attorney who has submitted
a certification application of the counties or county and categories
for which the attorney is eligible. Upon request by that attorney,
the state public defender shall inform the attorney excluded from
a particular list of the reasons for the exclusion from a particular
list and the manner by which the attorney may appeal the decision
or reapply for recertification.

(2) Any attorney may appeal the state public defender’s certi-
fication decision by mailing a letter of appeal to the state public
defender within 30 days of the notice of exclusion. The attorney
shall state in the letter the certification from which the attorney has
been excluded. The letter may also state the reasons the attorney
believes the exclusion was improper.

(3) Upon receipt of an appeal letter, the state public defender
shall place the matter on the agenda of the next state public
defender board meeting unless that meeting is less than 10 days
from the receipt of the appeal letter, in which case the matter may
be scheduled for the following meeting. The state public defender
shall, at least 10 days prior to hearing, inform the attorney of the
time and place of the board meeting at which the appeal will be
considered.

PD 1.06

(4) The state public defender shall transmit to the board and
the attorney all material relied upon in reaching the certification
decision, including the certification application and all written
comments received under s. 977.08 (3), Stats.

(5) The attorney may submit to the board any material that he
or she believes is relevant to the appeal. The hearing before the
board shall be considered a “class 3” proceeding and is governed
by ch. 227, Stats.

(6) The state public defender board may deliberate the matter
in executive session pursuant to the provisions of s. 19.85 (1) (a),
Stats. The board shall issue a written decision either affirming,
reversing, or modifying the certification decision of the state pub-
lic defender. The written decision shall be mailed to the attorney
within 20 days of the board meeting and shall be signed by an offi-
cer of the board.

(7) The board’s written decision shall constitute findings of
fact and conclusions of law within the meaning of s. 227.47, Stats.

(8) The board may appoint a panel of board members to con-
duct the hearing specified in subs. (5) and (6). After reviewing the
record of the hearing and receiving the panel’s recommendation,
the entire board shall issue a written decision.

History: Cr. Register, August, 1978, No. 272, eff. 9-1-78; am. (1) to (6), Register,
November, 1984, No. 347, eff. 12—1-84; corrections in (5) and (7), made under s.
13.93 (2m) (b) 7., Stats., Register, April, 1990, No. 412; am. (5), cr. (8), Register, July,
1997, No. 499, eff. 8—1-97.

PD 1.06 Decertification for cause. (1) Any interested
party, or the assigned counsel director on his or her own motion,
may request in writing that an attorney, previously certified to
accept cases from the state public defender, be decertified for
cause. Upon receipt of a request, the state public defender shall
conduct an investigation. Upon a finding of cause, the state public
defender may decertify the attorney. The state public defender
shall inform the attorney of the reasons for decertification and the
manner by which the attorney may appeal the decision.

(2) An attorney may appeal the state public defender’s decer-
tification decision by mailing a letter of appeal to the state public
defender within 30 days of the notice of decertification. The attor-
ney shall state in the letter the reasons why the attorney believes
the decertification was improper.

(3) Upon receipt of an appeal letter, the state public defender
shall place the matter on the agenda of the next state public
defender board meeting unless that meeting is less than 10 days
from the receipt of the appeal letter, in which case the matter may
be scheduled for the following meeting. The state public defender
shall, at least 10 days prior to hearing, inform the attorney of the
time and place of the board meeting at which the appeal will be
considered.

(4) The state public defender shall transmit to the board and
the attorney all material relied upon in reaching the decertification
decision.

(5) The attorney may submit to the board any material that he
or she believes is relevant to the appeal. The hearing before the
board shall be considered a “class 3” proceeding and is governed
by ch. 227, Stats.

(6) The state public defender board may deliberate the matter
in executive session pursuant to s. 19.85, Stats. The board shall
issue a written decision either affirming or reversing the decision
of the state public defender. The written decision shall be mailed
to the attorney within 20 days of the board meeting and shall be
signed by an officer of the board.

(7) The board’s written decision constitutes findings of fact
and conclusions of law within the meaning of s. 227.47, Stats.

(8) The board may appoint a panel of board members to con-
duct the hearing specified in subs. (5) and (6). After reviewing the
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record of the hearing and receiving the panel’s recommendation,
the entire board shall issue a written decision.

History: Cr. Register, August, 1981, No. 308, eff. 9-1-81; am. (1) and (2), Regis-
ter, November, 1984, No. 347, eff. 12—1-84; am. (1) and (2), . (4), Register, October,
1992, No. 442, eff. 11-1-92; r. and recr., Register, July, 1997, No. 499, eff. 8—1-97.

PD 1.07 Voluntary removal. Any attorney may request
to be removed from any certified list for a specified period of time,
and the state public defender shall remove the attorney until noti-
fied in writing by the attorney that the attorney wishes to be placed
back on the list. If an attorney is inactive for more than 3 years, the
attorney shall reapply for certification.

History: Cr. Register, August, 1978, No. 272, eff. 9-1-78; am. (1), Register,
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November, 1984, No. 347, eff. 12—1-84; am. Register, October, 1992, No. 442, eff.
11-1-92.

PD 1.08 Access to files. (1) The state public defender
may not disclose to any person except the subject, any comments
made by any person who has initiated or responded to an inquiry
relating to the fitness of an attorney for certification, unless
ordered to do so by the public defender board or a court.

(2) Only certified lists, board proceedings and decisions under
these rules shall be considered public documents and open to pub-
lic inspection.

History: Cr. Register, August, 1978, No. 272, eff. 9-1-78; am. (1), Register,

November, 1984, No. 347, eff. 12—1-84; am. (1), Register, October, 1992, No. 442,
eff. 11-1-92.
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