File inserted into Admin. Code 12–1–2011. May not be current beginning 1 month after insert date. For current adm. code see: http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code

87

http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code SAFETY AND PROFESSIONAL SERVICES

SPS 82.04

Chapter SPS 82

EXAMINATION

SPS 82.01	Examination.	SPS 82.03	Reexamination.
SPS 82.02	Examination procedures.	SPS 82.04	Claim of examination error.

Note: Chapter RL 82 was renumbered chapter SPS 82 under s. 13.92 (4) (b) 1., Stats., Register November 2011 No. 671.

SPS 82.01 Examination. (1) In order to obtain a residential or general appraiser certification or a certificate of licensure as an appraiser, an applicant shall pass the national examination required for certification as a residential appraiser or general appraiser or for licensure, as appropriate, and the state examination on Wisconsin statutes and rules governing appraisers.

Note: The examination on Wisconsin statutes and rules is administered by the Department of Safety and Professional Services. The national examination is administered by a provider approved by the department.

(2) The national examination required for appraiser certification or licensure shall be consistent with and equivalent to the uniform state certification examination issued or endorsed by the appraiser qualifications board of the appraisal foundation.

(3) A score determined by the department to represent minimum competence to practice is required to pass each examination. The department may adopt the passing grade on the national examination recommended by the examination provider. Following consultation with subject matter experts who have reviewed a representative sample of the examination questions and available candidate performance statistics, the department shall make a determination of the passing grade on the Wisconsin statutes and rules examination and shall set the passing score for the examination at that point which represents minimum acceptable competence in the profession.

(4) Individuals who apply for licensed and certified appraiser credentials have up to 24 months, after receiving authorization to sit for the examinations from the department, to take and pass the state and national examinations required under sub. (1).

(5) Successful completion of the state and national examinations required under sub. (1) is valid for a period not to exceed 24 months. An applicant who does not complete all requirements for a credential within 24 months after successful completion of the national examination shall do all of the following:

(a) Submit a new application for the appropriate credential.

(b) Pay the fees required under s. SPS 81.02 (1).

(c) Retake and pass the state and national examinations required under sub. (1).

(6) The only prerequisite to take the state and national examinations required under sub. (1) is submission of an application for licensure or certification under s. SPS 81.02 and successful completion of the education class hours required under s. SPS 84.02, 84.03 or 84.04, as appropriate.

History: Cr. Register, September, 1991, No. 429, eff. 10–1–91; emerg. am. (1) and (2), eff. 10–1–91; am. (1) and (2), Register, May, 1992, No. 437, eff. 6–1–92; am. Register, June, 1996, No. 486, eff. 7–1–96; CR 04–007: am. (1), cr. (4), (5) and (6) Register August 2004 No. 584, eff. 9–1–04; CR 06–033: am. (6) Register November 2006 No. 611, eff. 12–1–06; CR 10–135: am. (1), (6) Register August 2011 No. 668,

 ${\rm eff.}$ 9–1–11; correction in (5) (b), (6) made under s. 13.92 (4) (b) 7., Stats., Register November 2011 No. 671.

SPS 82.02 Examination procedures. (1) An applicant shall not practice any deception or fraud with respect to his or her identity in connection with the taking of an examination.

(2) An applicant shall not cheat or attempt to cheat on an examination by any means, including but not limited to, any one of the following:

(a) Giving or receiving answers to examination questions.

(b) Attempting to obtain, receive or communicate to other persons examination questions.

(c) Using unauthorized materials during any portion of the examination.

(d) Failing to comply with additional written instructions provided at the time of examination relating to cheating other than those specified in pars. (a) to (c).

(4) Silent cordless calculators may be used by the applicant when taking the examination.

History: Cr. Register, September, 1991, No. 429, eff. 10–1–91; r. (1), renum. (2) and (3) to be (1) and (2) and r. and recr. (2) (d), Register, June, 1996, No. 486, eff. 7–1–96; am. (2) (intro.), (a), (b) and (c), Register, January, 1998, No. 505, eff. 2–1–98; CR 01–100: am. (1), Register February 2002 No. 554, eff. 3–1–02.

SPS 82.03 Reexamination. Upon payment of the required fee, an applicant may retake an examination.

History: Cr. Register, September, 1991, No. 429, eff. 10–1–91; CR 01–100: r. (2), renum. (1) to be RL 82.03, Register February 2002 No. 554, eff. 3–1–02.

SPS 82.04 Claim of examination error. (1) To claim an error on the Wisconsin statutes and rules examination, an applicant shall file a written request with the department within 30 days of the date the applicant reviews the examination. The request shall include all of the following:

(a) The applicant's name and address.

(b) The type of certificate for which the applicant applied.

(c) A description of the mistakes the applicant believes were made in the examination content, procedures, or scoring, including the specific questions or procedures claimed to be in error.

(d) The facts which the applicant intends to prove, including reference text citations or other supporting evidence for the applicant's claim.

(2) The department shall review the claim, make a determination of the validity of the objections and notify the applicant in writing of the decision and any resulting score changes.

(3) If the decision does not result in a passing grade, the applicant may retake the examination.

History: Cr. Register, September, 1991, No. 429, eff. 10–1–91; emerg. am. (3), eff. 10–1–91; am. (3), Register, May, 1992, No. 437, eff. 6–1–92; am. (1) (intro.), (3), Register, June, 1996, No. 486, eff. 7–1–96; am. (1) (intro.), (a), (b) and (c), Register, January, 1998, No. 505, eff. 2–1–98.