Removed by Register August 2014 No. 704. For current adm. code see: http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code.

SAFETY AND PROFESSIONAL SERVICES

SPS 193.04

Chapter SPS 193
LICENSE APPLICATIONS AND PERMITS

243
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Note: Chapter RL 193 was renumbered chapter SPS 193 under s. 13.92 (4)
(b) 1., Stats., Register November 2011 No. 671.

SPS 193.01 Bond required for promoter and club
license. Any promoter or club who wishes to conduct a profes-
sional or amateur mixed martial arts contest shall post a bond or
other surety of not less than $10,000 as required by s. 444.035,
Stats., with their application for a promoter or club license, to
ensure payment of the expenses incurred in conducting an event
including, in order of priority, the department, contestants and the
officials.

History: EmR1032: emerg. cr., eff. 9-1-10; CR 10-102: cr. Register April 2011
No. 664, eff. 5-1-11.

SPS 193.02 Promoter’s license. (1) APPLICATION. Any
person, club, corporation or association who wishes to conduct a
mixed martial arts event in this state shall, before conducting an
event, submit an application for a promoter’s license on forms
provided by the department, together with the $500 fee, as speci-
fied in s. 444.03, Stats.

Note: Applications are available from the Department of Safety and Professional
Services, Division of Professional Credentialing, 1400 E. Washington Avenue, P.O.
Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708, or from the department’s website at:
http://dsps.wi.gov.

(2) ELiGIBILITY. (a) To be eligible for a promoter’s license an
applicant shall:

1. Comply with the requirements in s. 444.03, Stats.

2. Comply with the requirements in s. 444.11, Stats.; submit
a copy of their articles of incorporation and proof that the secretary
of state has filed their articles pursuant to s. 180.0122, Stats.; iden-
tify all persons connected with or having a proprietary interest in
the professional club, corporation or association and the percent-
age of proprietary interest.

3. Possess appropriate knowledge of the proper conduct of
competition involved in the sport of mixed martial arts.

4. Post a $10,000 bond, or other surety made payable to the
department, a copy of the certificate verifying the approval and
the filing of the bond, or other surety with the department.

(b) The department shall issue a promoter’s license if it finds
that the applicant is not in default on any payments, obligations,
or debts payable to the state of Wisconsin.

(c) The department may deny a license to an applicant who has
committed any act which would, if committed by a licensee, sub-
ject the applicant to discipline under ch. SPS 196.

History: EmR1032: emerg. cr., eff. 9-1-10; CR 10-102: cr. Register April 2011
No. 664, eff. 5-1—11; correction in (2) (c) made under s. 13.92 (4) (b) 7., Stats.,
Register November 2011 No. 671.

SPS 193.03 Matchmaker’s license. (1) APPLICATION.
A person shall, before acting as a matchmaker at any mixed mar-
tial arts event, submit an application on forms provided by the
department together with the $10 fee as specified in s. 444.11,
Stats.

Note: Applications are available from the Department of Safety and Professional
Services, Division of Professional Credentialing, 1400 E. Washington Avenue, P.O.
Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708, or from the department’s website at:
http://dsps.wi.gov.

(2) ELiGBILITY. (a) To be eligible for a license as a match-
maker an applicant shall be at least 18 years of age.

(b) The department may deny a license to an applicant who has
committed any act which would, if committed by a licensee, sub-
ject the applicant to discipline under ch. SPS 196.

History: EmR1032: emerg. cr. as s. RL 193.04, eff. 9-1-10; CR 10-102: cr. Reg-

ister April 2011 No. 664, eff. 5-1-11; correction in (2) (b) made under s. 13.92 (4)
(b) 7., Stats., Register November 2011 No. 671.

SPS 193.04 Contestant’s license. (1) APPLICATION. A
person shall, before acting as a professional or amateur mixed
martial arts contestant at any event, submit an application on
forms provided by the department together with the $40 fee as
specified in s. 444.11, Stats.

Note: Applications are available from the Department of Safety and Professional
Services, Division of Professional Credentialing, 1400 E. Washington Avenue, P.O.
Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708, or from the department’s website at:
http://dsps.wi.gov.

(2) EuiGBILITY. (a) To be eligible for a license as a profes-
sional or amateur mixed martial arts contestant, an applicant shall
do all of the following:

(b) Be at least 18 years of age.

(c) Obtained an Association of Boxing Commission’s mixed
martial arts national identification number along with a $20 pro-
cessing fee at the department before participating in a scheduled
contest.

(d) Provide results of a physical examination by a physician
and laboratory results conducted no more than 90 days before the
date of the application in accordance with ch. 448, Stats., affirm-
ing all of the following:

1. Negative HIV.

2. Negative hepatitis B surface antigen. If a contestant had
a failing hepatitis B antigen test, the contestant shall pass a hepati-
tis B “PCR” quantitative test. The quantitative limit shall be
within permissible limits according to the laboratory where the
test was administered. The commissioner, department representa-
tive, or ringside physician may request that a contestant take an
additional hepatitis B antigen test and provide the results within
2 weeks of a professional contest in which a contestant is sched-
uled to compete.

3. Negative hepatitis C antibody. If a contestant had a failing
hepatitis C antibody test, the contestant shall pass a hepatitis C
“PCR” quantitative test. The quantitative limit shall be within
permissible limits according to the laboratory where the test was
administered. The commissioner, department representative, or
ringside physician may request that a contestant take an additional
hepatitis C antibody test and provide the results within 2 weeks of
a professional contest in which a contestant is scheduled to com-
pete.

4. Eye examination by a licensed physician, ophthalmologist,
or optometrist.

5. An applicant 35 years of age and older is required to submit
a cat scan (CT) with contrast or MRI examination in addition to
all other required medical examinations.
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6. An applicant 39 years of age and older is required to submit
in addition to all other required medical examinations:

a. MRI/MRA brain examination.

b. A stress echocardiogram examination with cardiology
clearance.

¢. Metabolic blood profile.

d. A chest x—ray that has been given within 2 years.

(e) The department may deny a license to an applicant who has
committed any act which would, if committed by a licensee, sub-
ject the applicant to discipline under ch. SPS 196.

History: EmR1032: emerg. cr. as s. RL 193.05, eff. 9-1-10; CR 10-102: cr. Reg-

ister April 2011 No. 664, eff. 5-1-11; correction in (2) (e) made under s. 13.92 (4)
(b) 7., Stats., Register November 2011 No. 671.

SPS 193.05 Judge’s license. (1) APPLICATION. A per-
son shall, before acting as a judge at any professional contest, sub-
mit an application on forms provided by the department with the
$15 fee as specified in s. 444.11, Stats.

Note: Applications are available from the Department of Safety and Professional
Services, Division of Professional Credentialing, 1400 E. Washington Avenue, P.O.
Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708, or from the department’s website at:
http://dsps.wi.gov.

(2) ELiGiBILITY. (a) To be eligible for a license as a judge an
applicant shall be at least 18 years of age.

(b) The department may deny a license to an applicant who has
committed any act which would, if committed by a licensee, sub-
ject the applicant to discipline under ch. SPS 196.

(c) The applicant shall obtain an annual examination with cor-
rective lenses. The results of the examination shall be on forms
provided by the department.

(3) QuALIFICATIONS. In accordance with s. 444.095 (3), Stats.,
the department shall determine whether a person possesses the
knowledge and experience necessary to hold a license as a judge
by reviewing criteria from the following list:

(a) Certificate of completion of a judge’s training program
from another state, other regulating bodies such as the Association
of Boxing Commission, and other organizations that have a
judge’s training program certified by the Association of Boxing
Commission.

(b) A resume with 3 professional references that can verify the
number of years of experience as an amateur or professional judge
along with a log of experience.

(c) A valid and current license as a judge from another state or
organization that regulates the sport of mixed martial arts.

(d) Obtain a passing grade on an examination administered by
the department designed to test the examinee’s knowledge of
mixed martial arts and successful completion of the trial judge
program.

(e) The trial judge program administered and supervised by the
commissioner, inspector, or department representative shall con-
sist of all of the following:

1. Observing mixed martial arts events.
2. Shadowing a licensed judge at mixed martial arts events.

3. Officiating, on a trial basis, as a judge during a mixed mar-
tial arts event under the supervision of the commissioner, inspec-
tor, or department representative.

History: EmR1032: emerg. cr. as s. RL 193.06, eff. 9-1-10; CR 10-102: cr. Reg-

ister April 2011 No. 664, eff. 5—-1-11; correction in (2) (b) made under s. 13.92 (4)
(b) 7., Stats., Register November 2011 No. 671.

SPS 193.06 Referee’s license. (1) APPLICATION. A per-
son shall, before acting as a referee at any professional event, sub-
mit an application on forms provided by the department together
with the $15 fee as specified in s. 444.11, Stats.

Note: Applications are available from the Department of Safety and Professional
Services, Division of Professional Credentialing, 1400 E. Washington Avenue, P.O.
Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708, or from the department’s website at:
http://dsps.wi.gov.
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(2) ELiGIBILITY. (a) To be eligible for a license as a referee an
applicant shall be at least 18 years of age.

(b) The department may deny a license to an applicant who has
committed any act which would, if committed by a licensee, sub-
ject the applicant to discipline under ch. SPS 196.

(c) An applicant shall provide the results of a physical exami-
nation conducted by a licensed physician. The results of the
examination shall be on forms provided by the department.

Note: Forms are available from the Department of Safety and Professional Ser-
vices, Division of Professional Credentialing, 1400 E. Washington Avenue, P.O. Box
8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708, or from the department’s website at: http://dsp-
S.Wi.gov.

(3) QuALIFIcATIONS. In accordance with s. 444.095 (3), Stats.,
the department shall determine whether a person possesses the
knowledge and experience necessary to hold a license as a referee
by reviewing criteria from the following list:

(a) Certificate of completion of a referee training program
from another state, other regulating bodies such as the Association
of Boxing Commission, and other organizations that have a ref-
eree training program certified by the Association of Boxing
Commission.

(b) A resume with 3 professional references that can verify the
number of years of experience as an amateur or professional ref-
eree along with a log of experience.

(c) A valid and current license as a referee from another state
or another organization that regulates the sport of mixed martial
arts.

(d) Obtain a passing grade on an examination administered by
the department designed to test the examinee’s knowledge of
mixed martial arts and successful completion of the trial referee
program.

(e) The trial referee program administered and supervised by
the commissioner, inspector, or department representative shall
consist of all of the following:

1. Observing mixed martial arts events.
2. Shadowing a licensed referee at mixed martial arts events.

3. Officiating, on a trial basis, as a referee during a mixed mar-
tial arts event under the supervision of the commissioner, inspec-
tor, or department representative.

History: EmR1032: emerg. cr. as s. RL 193.07, eff. 9-1-10; CR 10-102: cr. Reg-
ister April 2011 No. 664, eff. 5—-1-11; correction in (2) (b) made under s. 13.92 (4)
(b) 7., Stats., Register November 2011 No. 671.

SPS 193.07 Ringside physician’s license. (1) AppLI-
CATION. A person shall, before acting as a ringside physician at
any mixed martial arts event, submit an application on forms pro-
vided by the department together with the $10 fee as specified in
s. 444.11, Stats.

Note: Applications are available from the Department of Safety and Professional
Services, Division of Professional Credentialing, 1400 E. Washington Avenue, P.O.
Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708, or from the department’s website at:
http://dsps.wi.gov.

(2) ELiGBILITY. (a) To be eligible for a license as a ringside
physician an applicant shall hold a credential to practice medicine
in Wisconsin in accordance with ch. 448, Stats.

(b) The department may deny a license to an applicant who has
committed any act which would, if committed by a licensee, sub-
ject the applicant to discipline under ch. SPS 196.

History: EmR1032: emerg. cr. as s. RL 193.08, eff. 9-1-10; CR 10-102: cr. Reg-
ister April 2011 No. 664, eff. 5—-1-11; correction in (2) (b) made under s. 13.92 (4)
(b) 7., Stats., Register November 2011 No. 671.

SPS 193.08 Second’s license. (1) APPLICATION. A per-
son shall, before acting as a second at any mixed martial arts event,
submit an application on forms provided by the department
together with the $40 fee as specified in s. 444.11, Stats.

Note: Applications are available from the Department of Safety and Professional
Services, Division of Professional Credentialing, 1400 E. Washington Avenue, P.O.
Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708, or from the department’s website at:
http://dsps.wi.gov.
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(2) ELiGIBILITY. (a) To be eligible for a license as a second an
applicant shall be at least 18 years of age.

(b) The department may deny a license to an applicant who has
committed any act which would, if committed by a licensee, sub-
ject the applicant to discipline under ch. SPS 196.

History: EmR1032: emerg. cr. as s. RL 193.09, eff. 9-1-10; CR 10-102: cr. Reg-

ister April 2011 No. 664, eff. 5-1-11; correction in (2) (b) made under s. 13.92 (4)
(b) 7., Stats., Register November 2011 No. 671.

SPS 193.09 Timekeeper’s license. (1) APPLICATION.
A person shall, before acting as a timekeeper at any mixed martial
arts event, submit an application on forms provided by the depart-
ment together with the $10 fee as specified in s. 444.11, Stats.

Note: Applications are available from the Department of Safety and Professional

Services, Division of Professional Credentialing, 1400 E. Washington Avenue, P.O.
Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708, or from the department’s website at:
http://dsps.wi.gov.

(2) ELiGBILITY. (a) To be eligible for a license as a timekeeper
an applicant shall be at least 18 years of age.

(b) The department may deny a license to an applicant who has
committed any which would, if committed by a licensee, subject
the applicant to discipline under ch. SPS 196.

History: EmR1032: emerg. cr. as s. RL 193.11, eff. 9-1-10; CR 10-102: cr. Regis-
ter April 2011 No. 664, eff. 5-1-11; correction in (2) (b) made under s. 13.92 (4)
(b) 7., Stats., Register November 2011 No. 671.

SPS 193.10 Term of license. A license as a promoter,
matchmaker, contestant, judge, referee, ringside physician, sec-
ond, or timekeeper shall be valid for one year, unless suspended
or revoked for cause, and expire 12 months after its date of
issuance.

History: EmR1032: emerg. cr. as s. RL 193.12, eff. 9-1-10; CR 10-102: cr. Reg-
ister April 2011 No. 664, eff. 5-1-11.

SPS 193.11 Renewal of license. A promoter, match-
maker, contestant, judge, referee, ringside physician, second, or
timekeeper who chooses to continue licensure after the date of
expiration of a license shall file an application for renewal. The
criteria and conditions for an original license apply equally to
applications for renewal.

History: EmR1032: emerg. cr. as s. RL 193.13, eff. 9-1-10; CR 10-102: cr. Reg-
ister April 2011 No. 664, eff. 5-1-11.

SPS 193.12 Permits. (1) A licensed promoter or club
who wishes to conduct a professional or amateur mixed martial
arts event shall, before conducting an event, obtain a permit from
the department. An application for a permit to conduct an event
shall be submitted to the department at least 30 calendar days
before the proposed date of the event and no more than 90 calendar
days before an event by a promoter or an authorized representative
of a licensed professional club, corporation or association on
forms provided by the department and shall include all of the fol-
lowing:

Note: Applications for permits are available from the Department of Safety and
Professional Services, Division of Professional Credentialing, 1400 E. Washington
Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708, or from the department’s web-
site at: http://dsps.wi.gov.

(a) The name, address, phone number and license number of
the promoter or professional club, corporation or association.

(b) The name and license number of the matchmaker, the pro-
moter, or professional club, corporation or association’s plans to
use for the event. If the matchmaker is not licensed in Wisconsin,
the event permit application shall include the proposed match-
maker’s application for licensure along with all required docu-
ments.

(c) The proposed date, starting time, and location of the event
as well as all of the following information regarding the venue:

1. Name and address.

2. Seating capacity.

3. A floor plan which indicates the dressing room locations
and fire exits.
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4. Name and telephone number of the primary contact person
of the proposed venue.

5. Evidence satisfactory to the department that the promoter
or professional club has entered into a valid agreement with the
owner or manager of the venue where the proposed mixed martial
arts event will be conducted.

(d) Information regarding whether the proposed event will be
all professional, all amateur, or combined professional and ama-
teur, the number of rounds for each scheduled bout, and the pro-
posed number of professional bouts and amateur bouts.

(e) A minimum number of 24 rounds and 8 bouts shall be
scheduled. The commissioner or department representative may
grant a waiver of rounds.

(f) All combined professional and amateur events shall start
with the amateur bouts. The intermixing of professional and ama-
teur bouts as well as conducting mixed martial arts events in com-
bination with other forms of single combat sports is not allowed,
pursuant to s. 444.01 (1j) (a), Stats.

(g) A non-refundable $300 dollar permit application process-
ing fee pursuant to s. 444.02 (3), Stats.

(h) The preliminary fight card for the event which shall include
all of the following:

1. The name and weight class of each of the proposed mixed
martial arts contestants in each bout.

2. The contestant’s Wisconsin license number.

3. The contestant’s Association of Boxing Commission’s
mixed martial arts national identification number.

4. The contestant’s contest history.

5. The names and Wisconsin license numbers of the contes-
tant’s seconds and manager.

6. Proposed purse.

(i) A detailed plan to provide medical personnel and equip-
ment for the event and for evacuating a seriously injured contes-
tant to a hospital, including the name of the promoter or profes-
sional club’s representative responsible for evacuating an injured
contestant, a detailed evacuation route, method of removal from
the contest area, the means of transportation to the hospital, and
the name of the nearest hospital, pursuant to s. 444.095 (2) (c) and
(d), Stats.

(j) A detailed plan to furnish adequate police or private secu-
rity forces for the protection of the spectators.

(k) The date, time and location of the official weigh—in and
physical examination.

(L) Proof of having obtained the insurance required by s.
444.18, Stats.

(m) Proof of having complied with s. 444.035, Stats., and s.
SPS 193.01.

(n) The admission fee of all tickets and the proposed number
of tickets, including the number and proposed value of compli-
mentary tickets.

(2) Upon receipt of an application for a permit to conduct a
professional mixed martial arts event, the department may deny
the application upon the occurrence of any one of the following:

(a) The applicant does not provide all the required information.

(b) The department does not have the appropriate number of
judges, referee, inspector, or ringside physicians available on that
date.

(c) One or more mixed martial arts contestant listed on the fight
card is not licensed or is ineligible to compete due to being under
a suspension or revocation order issued by the department or
another licensing jurisdiction for one of the following reasons:

1. A recent knock—out or series of consecutive losses.
2. Aninjury, a requirement for a medical procedure, or a phy-
sician’s denial of certification.

3. Testing positive for a prohibited drug.
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4. The use of false aliases, falsifying, or attempting to falsify
official identification cards or documents issued pursuant to ch.
444, Stats.

5. Unprofessional conduct or other inappropriate behavior
inconsistent with generally accepted methods of competition at
mixed martial arts events.

6. The department may grant a permit for the event, but with-
hold approval of one or more mixed martial arts contestants
scheduled to compete in an event.

(3) A permit issued under this section shall allow the permit
holder to conduct only the event named in the permit. A permit
is not transferable. The promoter or representative of the profes-
sional club, corporation or association whose name appears on the
permit shall be present at the weigh—in and at the event until the
conclusion of the final bout unless executed by the department.

(4) The department shall establish all rules and requirements
for conducting mixed martial arts events, pursuant to s. 444.02 (1),
Stats.

(5) The commissioner or department representative shall
determine if the contestants are evenly and fairly matched accord-
ing to skill level, experience, and weight so as to produce a fair and
sportsmanlike contest.

History: EmR1032: emerg. cr. as s. RL 193.14, eff. 9-1-10; CR 10-102: cr. Reg-

ister April 2011 No. 664, eff. 5-1-11; correction in (1) (m) made under s. 13.92 (4)
(b) 7., Stats., Register November 2011 No. 671.

SPS 193.13 Permits, issuance and effect. (1) All
promoters and professional clubs who have obtained an event per-
mit from the department shall submit no later than 4 business days
before the scheduled event, all of the following:

(a) All complete and signed bout agreements, on forms pro-
vided by the department.

Note: Forms are available upon request to the Department of Safety and Profes-
sional Services, Division of Professional Credentialing, 1400 E. Washington Avenue,

P.O. Box 8935, Madison, WI 53708, or on the department’s website at: http://dsp-
S.Wi.gov.

(b) The complete and executed contract or rental agreement
between the promoter or professional club and the venue.

(c) Complete license applications for all contestants, manag-
ers, judges, referees, timekeepers and seconds.

(d) All required physical examination forms and laboratory
reports from contestants as stated in s. SPS 193.04 (2) (d).

(e) The final fight card for the event listing the name, license
number, contest history, weight class, scheduled rounds and oppo-
nent of each contestant, and red/blue corner designations.
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(2) If the department denies an application for a permit or
refuses to approve a contestant whose name has been submitted
to the department by the applicant, it shall provide the applicant
with an opportunity to have that decision reviewed by the com-
missioner or department representative. The review shall be con-
ducted at the discretion of the commissioner or department repre-
sentative.

(3) Issuance of a permit by the department authorizes a pro-
moter or professional club to conduct a mixed martial arts event
under the control of the commissioner, inspectors, department
representatives, referees and ringside physicians assigned and
listed in the permit.

(4) A promoter may substitute a mixed martial arts contestant
listed on their permit application after requesting a substitute. The
request shall be submitted to the department no later than one busi-
ness day preceding the date of the event. Exceptions may be
allowed and shall be determined by the department.

History: EmR1032: emerg. cr. as s. RL 193.15, eff. 9-1-10; CR 10-102: cr. Reg-
ister April 2011 No. 664, eff. 5-1-11; correction in (1) (d) made under s. 13.92 (4)
(b) 7., Stats., Register November 2011 No. 671.

SPS 193.14 Canceling an event. (1) At any time dur-
ing an event, the assigned department representative may cancel
all or part of an event upon the occurrence of either one of the fol-
lowing:

(a) The commissioner or department representative reason-
ably believes that the event is not being conducted according to
chs. SPS 192 to 196 and ch. 444, Stats., or the conditions stated
in the permit which authorizes the event; or

(b) The commissioner or department representative reason-
ably believes that the event poses an unreasonable threat to the
health or safety of contestants, spectators, or officials.

(2) The department may cancel an event at any time for viola-
tion of chs. SPS 192 to 196.

(3) A promoter or professional club may cancel an event by
notifying the department and those members of the media whom
the promoter or professional club initially notified about the event
no later than 30 hours before it was scheduled to begin. Any can-
cellation by a promoter shall result in an assessment of costs by
the department pursuant to s. 444.035, Stats.

History: EmR1032: emerg. cr. as s. RL 193.16, eff. 9-1-10; CR 10-102: cr. Reg-
ister April 2011 No. 664, eff. 5-1-11; correction in (1) (a), (2) made under s. 13.92
(4) (b) 7., Stats., Register November 2011 No. 671.
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