171

SAFETY AND PROFESSIONAL SERVICES

SPS 133.04

Chapter SPS 133

EXAMINATIONS

SPS 133.01	Examination requirements.	SPS 133.03	Examination review.
SPS 133.02	Examination grade.	SPS 133.04	Reexamination.

Note: Chapter RL 133 was created as an emergency rule effective 11–1–98. Chapter RL 133 was renumbered chapter SPS 133 under s. 13.92 (4) (b) 1., Stats., Register November 2011 No. 671.

SPS 133.01 Examination requirements. (1) An applicant for registration as a home inspector shall file an application for examination on a form prescribed by the department and shall submit a fee specified in s. 440.05 (1) (b), Stats., at least 30 days before the date of the examination.

Note: Application forms are available on request to the department at 1400 East Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708–8935.

(2) Prior to January 1, 2001, the department shall prepare and approve a 2-part examination required by the department. Part I shall consist of an examination relating to the Wisconsin statutes. Part II shall consist of an examination relating to the administrative rules and other principles and procedures relating to the practice of home inspection.

(3) On or after January 1, 2001, the department shall prepare or approve a 2-part examination. Part I shall consist of an examination relating to the Wisconsin statutes and administrative rules that relate to the practice of home inspection. Part II shall consist of an examination relating to the principles and procedures that relate to the practice of home inspection.

Note: An otherwise qualified applicant with a disability shall be provided with reasonable accommodations.

History: Cr. Register, July, 1999, No. 523, eff. 8–1–99; am. (3), Register, May, 2001, No. 545, eff. 6–1–01.

SPS 133.02 Examination grade. (1) To pass each examination part the applicant shall receive a grade determined by the department to represent the minimum competence to practice. The department shall determine the passing grade for part I of the examination after consultation with subject matter experts who have reviewed a representative sample of the examination questions and available candidate performance statistics, and shall set the passing grade for the examination at that point which represents minimum acceptable competence in the profession. The department shall determine the passing grade for part I of the examination in the same manner as for part I or the department may accept the passing grade recommendation of a testing agency whose examination has been approved by the department.

(2) The department may refuse to release grades or issue a home inspector registration if the department determines that an applicant violated the rules of conduct of the examination or otherwise acted dishonestly.

History: Cr. Register, July, 1999, No. 523, eff. 8–1–99; am. (1), Register, May, 2001, No. 545, eff. 6–1–01.

SPS 133.03 Examination review. An applicant who fails the required examination may request a review of that examination as permitted by the examination provider. If a review is provided, all of the following conditions apply:

(1) An applicant shall file a written request with the department within 30 days after the date on which the examination results were mailed and pay the fee specified in s. SPS 4.05.

(2) An applicant may review the examination by appointment only and shall be limited to the time permitted by the examination provider.

(3) An applicant may not be accompanied during the review by any person other than the proctor.

(4) An applicant shall be provided with a form on which to write comments, questions or claims of error regarding any items in the examination. Bound reference books shall be permitted. An applicant may not remove any notes from the area. Notes shall be retained by the proctor and made available to the applicant for use at a hearing, if desired. The proctor may not defend the examination nor attempt to refute claims of error during the review.

(5) An applicant may not review the examination more than once.

History: Cr. Register, July, 1999, No. 523, eff. 8–1–99; correction in (1) made under s. 13.92 (4) (b) 7., Stats., Register November 2011 No. 671.

SPS 133.04 Reexamination. An applicant who fails to achieve passing grades on the examinations required under this chapter may apply for reexamination on forms provided by the department. For each reexamination, the applicant shall pay the reexamination fee specified in s. 440.06, Stats.

Note: Forms are available on request to the department at 1400 East Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708–8935. **History:** Cr. Register, July, 1999, No. 523, eff. 8–1–99.