## WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

## Chapter DE 3

## EXAMINATION AND LICENSING

	Examination	DE 3.03	Grading
DE 3.02	Practical examination	DE 3.04	Issuance of licenses

DE 3.01 Examination. (1) All persons desiring to practice dentistry in this state must first present applications and credentials as prescribed by the dental law and in accordance with the following rules of the board. Applicants shall file the following with the secretary of the board at least 5 days prior to the date set for the beginning of the examinations.

(a) A verified application on a form approved by the board and furnished by the secretary, properly filled out.

(b) A diploma or certificate of graduation bearing the seal of a dental college approved by this board. In the event the diploma or certificate of graduation has been lost, the applicant must present, in lieu thereof, an affidavit equivalent to a diploma or certificate of graduation from the registrar of the dental college under the seal of the college.

(c) Testimonials of good moral character:—In the case of persons licensed in other states of the United States, the testimonials must bear the signature of the president and secretary of the state dental association of that state, under the seal of that association, or the signature of secretary of the board of dental examiners of such state under the seal of said board. Recent graduates must present a testimonial of good moral character from the dean of the dental college from which they have graduated; said testimonials must bear the seal of the college and be in the form of a sworn affidavit.

(d) A recent, unmounted, passport-sized photograph must be attached to the application on the space provided for such photograph.

(e) A fee of \$25 shall accompany the application of all applicants for licenses to practice dentistry in this state.

(f) No dental school or college will be recognized by this board which does not require all educational prerequisites both dental and predental imposed upon Wisconsin dental schools or colleges by section 152.03 (1), Wis. Stats., or are otherwise required by Wisconsin dental schools or colleges.

(2) All persons desiring to practice dental hygiene in this state must first present applications and credentials as prescribed by law and in accordance with the following rules of the board. Applicants shall file the following with the secretary of the board at least 5 days prior to the date of the beginning of the examination:

(a) A verified application on the form approved by the board and furnished by the secretary properly filled out.

(b) A diploma or certificate in dental hygiene from a college, dental infirmary or other institution, which maintains a course of instruction approved by the board.

(c) Testimonials of good moral character.

(d) A recent, unmounted, passport-sized photograph attached to application on a space provided for same.

(e) A fee of \$10 shall accompany the application.

(3) Permission to take the examination shall be granted to those applicants who have paid the necessary fee and whose credentials have been favorably acted upon by the board after being presented as provided in subs. (1) and (2)

(4) As provided in section (152.03 (3)) Wis. Stats., the board may, in its discretion, permit dental students who have successfully completed at least two years' work of eight months each in/a recognized dental school and who file proof satisfactory to the board that they have the preliminary education described in section 152.03 (1), Wis. Stats., to take written examinations and credit satisfactory grades toward final examination. The board shall require a fee of \$10 for such examination.

(5) All written examinations must be in books or on paper supplied by the board.

(6) No persons, other than those directly connected with the examination shall be admitted to the examination room, except by special permission of the president and secretary, and a copy of this rule shall be posted in a conspicuous place in said room.

(7) An applicant who gives or receives assistance during the written or clinical examination, shall be dismissed from the examination and his markings for that subject shall be void.

**DE 3.02 Practical examination.** (1) All operations in operative and prosthetic dentistry must be in the presence of the board or at least 3 members of the board.

(2) The requirements for the practical examination in operative and prosthetic dentistry shall be decided upon by the board and shall be announced at the option of the board and according to the statutes.

(3) Each applicant must furnish patients, instruments and materials. Applicants will be entitled to the return of their prosthetic work. Chairs will be provided and assigned by the board.

(4) Applicants shall be allowed the allotted time as per the schedule for the various examinations.

**DE 3.03** Grading. (1) Papers in theory, and the work performed in each practical department shall be graded on a basis of 100 credits.

(2) The grade of each applicant in the theoretical examination shall be obtained by adding the credits in the several subjects and dividing the total by the number of such subjects given. If an applicant has been exempt from a subject through the examination provided for in section 152.03 (3); Wis. Stats., he shall receive the same grade in the subject that he attained at that examination.

(3) The practical work shall be graded by at least 3 members of the board. The average of the grades of the members of the board shall be the final grade in the practical department. In case of a doubt regarding a certain applicant's work, all members of the board shall view that portion of the practical examination and grade same. All grades to be averaged for final mark.

(a) All practical demonstrations will be inspected as follows:

Before the operation is started.

When the cavity preparations are finished.

When the demonstrations are completely finished.

Jun and

(b) In grading the foil, inlay and amalgam filling, the following points will be taken into consideration:

Rubberdam adjustment (where indicated).

Outline, resistance, retention and convenience forms.

Walls and angles.

Enamel margin.

Filling margins.

Adjoining tooth injury and gum laceration.

Reproduction of tooth form.

Contacts.

General skill and finished operation.

(c) In grading the set-up, the following points will be taken into consideration:

Esthetics.

Centric, lateral and protrusive occlusion.

Arch form; relationship of teeth to alveolar ridges.

General skill; neatness, case waxed for flasking, wax margins, contour of wax, etc.

(4) The theoretical average count  $\frac{1}{2}$  and the practical  $\frac{9}{2}$  toward the final average for passing.

(5) Each applicant who attains a general average of 80% shall be considered as having passed the examination. Any applicant who attains an average of less than 80% in the practical requirements shall be considered as having failed. Any applicant who attains less than 80% in more than 5 subjects shall be considered to have failed, (unless such applicant shall obtain an average of 85% in all practical requirements).

(.6) Each applicant for examinations provided for in section 152.03 -(3), Wis. Stats., must attain a mark of 80% to pass each subject.

(7) Successful applicants shall be granted licenses to practice and the same shall be forwarded to them by registered mail, by the secretary. Unsuccessful applicants shall be notified by the secretary, by mail, of their failure, and shall be given a list of those subjects in theory in which they have made a grade of 80% or better for the purpose of exemption at the next examination.

(8) Each member of the board shall be allowed one per diem for each set of questions for examination he prepares, and one per diem for each 20 papers or fraction thereof, that he grades. All examination papers must be graded as provided in these rules, and tabulated returns of the same must be delivered or mailed to the secretary within reasonable time after such examinations. All examination papers must be held by the examiner for a period of 5 years before destroying.

(9) In those instances where the board accepts the certificate/of the national board of dental examiners as provided in section 152.04, Wis. Stats., the foregoing provisions of this section relating to the averaging of the practical examination with the papers on theory shall not be followed. In all such cases the applicant will be required to obtain a passing grade in the practical examination in accordance with the board's rules and procedures relating to the practical examination.

History: 1-2-56; cr. (9), Register, November, 1959, No. 47, eff. 12-1-59.

Register, November, 1959, No. 47

## 8 WISCONSIN STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

**DE 3.04 Issuance of licenses.** (1) Licenses shall be issued as provided in these rules to all successful candidates.

(2) Duplicate licenses may be issued by the board upon receipt of application showing satisfactory evidence that the applicant's license has been lost or destroyed; the fee for such license shall be \$5 and said fee shall accompany the application.

(3) New licenses may be issued by the board when a licentiate shall have changed his or her name. Said licentiate shall present an order from the court authorizing said change; shall make a formal application to the board and shall accompany said application with a fee of \$5.