

State of Misconsin 1995 - 1996 LEGISLATURE

## SENATE SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1, TO 1995 SENATE BILL 354

March 12, 1996 - Offered by COMMITTEE ON JUDICIARY.

5	SECTION 1. 48.293 (2) of the statutes, as affected by 1995 Wisconsin Act 77, is
	The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:
4	placements.
3	of a child from a foster home, treatment foster home or certain other physical
2	$48.357\ (1),48.357\ (2m)$ and $48.78\ (2)\ (a)$ of the statutes; relating to: removal
1	AN ACT to amend 48.293 (2), 48.295 (1), 48.295 (3), 48.33 (5), 48.355 (2) (b) 2.,

6 amended to read:

7 48.293 (2) All records relating to a child which are relevant to the subject 8 matter of a proceeding under this chapter shall be open to inspection by a guardian 9 ad litem or counsel for any party, upon demand and upon presentation of releases 10 where necessary, at least 48 hours before the proceeding. Persons entitled to inspect 11 the records may obtain copies of the records with the permission of the custodian of 12 the records or with permission of the court. The court may instruct counsel not to 13 disclose specified items in the materials to the child or, the parent or any other party 1995 – 1996 Legislature

3

if the court reasonably believes that the disclosure would be harmful to the interests
 of the child.

**SECTION 2.** 48.295 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

- 2 -

4 48.295 (1) After the filing of a petition and upon a finding by the court that 5 reasonable cause exists to warrant an examination or an alcohol and other drug 6 abuse assessment that conforms to the criteria specified under s. 48.547 (4), the court 7 may order any child coming within its jurisdiction to be examined as an outpatient 8 by personnel in an approved treatment facility for alcohol and other drug abuse, by 9 a physician, psychiatrist or licensed psychologist, or by another expert appointed by 10 the court holding at least a masters degree in social work or another related field of 11 child development, in order that the child's physical, psychological, alcohol or other 12drug dependency, mental or developmental condition may be considered. The court may also order an examination or an alcohol and other drug abuse assessment that 1314 conforms to the criteria specified under s. 48.547 (4) of a parent, guardian or legal 15custodian whose ability to care for a child is at issue before the court. The court shall 16 hear any objections by the child, the child's parents, guardian or legal custodian or 17any other party to the request for such an examination or assessment before ordering 18 the examination or assessment. The expenses of an examination, if approved by the 19 court, shall be paid by the county of the court ordering the examination. The 20payment for an alcohol and other drug abuse assessment shall be in accordance with 21s. 48.361.

22 **SECTION 3.** 48.295 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

48.295 (3) If the child or, a parent or any other party objects to a particular
physician, psychiatrist, licensed psychologist or other expert as required under this

section, the court shall appoint a different physician, psychiatrist, psychologist or
 other expert as required under this section.

3

**SECTION 4.** 48.33 (5) of the statutes is amended to read:

4 48.33 (5) IDENTITY OF FOSTER PARENT OR TREATMENT FOSTER PARENT: 5 CONFIDENTIALITY. If the report recommends placement in a foster home or a treatment 6 foster home, and the name of the foster parent or treatment foster parent is not 7 available at the time the report is filed, the agency shall provide the court and the 8 child's parent or guardian with the name and address of the foster parent or 9 treatment foster parent within 21 days after the dispositional order is entered, 10 except that the court may order the information withheld from the child's parent or, 11 guardian or any other party if the court finds that disclosure would result in 12imminent danger to the child or to the foster parent or treatment foster parent. After notifying the child's parent or guardian, the court shall hold a hearing prior to 1314 ordering the information withheld.

15

**SECTION 5.** 48.355(2)(b) 2. of the statutes is amended to read:

16 48.355 (2) (b) 2. If the child is placed outside the home, the name of the place 17or facility, including transitional placements, where the child shall be cared for or 18 treated, except that if the placement is a foster home or treatment foster home and 19 the name and address of the foster parent or treatment foster parent is not available 20 at the time of the order, the name and address of the foster parent or treatment foster 21parent shall be furnished to the court and the parent within 21 days of the order. If, 22after a hearing on the issue with due notice to the parent or guardian, the judge finds 23that disclosure of the identity of the foster parent or treatment foster parent would 24 result in imminent danger to the child, the foster parent or the treatment foster

1995 – 1996 Legislature

12

3

parent, the judge may order the name and address of the prospective foster parents or treatment foster parents withheld from the parent or, guardian <u>or any other party</u>. **SECTION 6.** 48.357 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

- 4 -

4 48.357 (1) The person or agency primarily responsible for implementing the 5 dispositional order may request a change in the placement of the child, whether or 6 not the change requested is authorized in the dispositional order and shall cause 7 written notice to be sent to the child or the child's counsel or guardian ad litem, 8 parent, foster parent, treatment foster parent or other physical custodian described 9 in s. 48.62 (2), guardian and legal custodian. The notice shall contain the name and 10 address of the new placement, the reasons for the change in placement, a statement 11 describing why the new placement is preferable to the present placement would be 12in the best interests of the child and a statement of how the new placement satisfies 13 objectives of the treatment plan ordered by the court. Any person receiving the notice 14under this subsection or notice of the specific foster or treatment foster placement 15under s. 48.355 (2) (b) 2. may obtain a hearing on the matter by filing an objection 16 with the court within 10 days of receipt of the notice. Placements shall not be 17changed until 10 days after such notice is sent to the court unless the parent, 18 guardian or legal custodian and the child, if 12 or more years of age, sign written 19 waivers of objection, except that placement changes which were authorized in the 20 dispositional order may be made immediately if notice is given as required in this 21subsection. In addition, a hearing is not required for placement changes authorized 22in the dispositional order except where an objection filed by a person who received 23notice alleges that new information is available which affects the advisability of the  $\mathbf{24}$ court's dispositional order. If a hearing is held under this subsection and the change 25in placement would remove a child from a foster home, treatment foster home or 1995 – 1996 Legislature

other placement with a physical custodian described in s. 48.62 (2), the court shall 1 2 permit the foster parent may, treatment foster parent or other physical custodian 3 described in s. 48.62 (2) to make a written or oral statement during the hearing or 4 to submit a written statement prior to the hearing, relating to the child and the 5requested change in placement. If a hearing is held under this subsection and the change in placement would remove a child from a foster home, treatment foster home 6 7 or other physical placement described in s. 48.62 (2) in which the child has been placed for a total of 4 or more years, the foster parent, treatment foster parent or 8 9 other physical custodian may be represented by counsel, may request an 10 examination or assessment of the child under s. 48.295 by an expert of the foster 11 parent's, treatment foster parent's or other physical custodian's own choosing, may 12present evidence relative to the issue of placement, including expert testimony, may 13 confront and cross-examine witnesses and may make alternative placement 14 recommendations. In addition, counsel for the foster parent, treatment foster parent 15or other physical custodian may, notwithstanding s. 48.78 (2) (a), inspect and obtain 16 copies of all records relating to the child that are relevant to the issue of placement 17as provided under s. 48.293.

- 5 -

18 SECTION 7. 48.357 (2m) of the statutes is amended to read:

19 48.357 (2m) The child, the parent, guardian, or legal custodian of the child or 20 any person or agency primarily bound by the dispositional order, other than the 21 person or agency responsible for implementing the order, may request a change in 22 placement under this subsection. The request shall contain the name and address 23 of the place of the new placement requested and shall state what new information 24 is available which affects the advisability of the current placement and why the new 25 placement would be in the best interests of the child. This request shall be submitted

1 to the court. In addition, the court may propose a change in placement on its own 2 motion. The court shall hold a hearing on the matter prior to ordering any change 3 in placement under this subsection if the request states that new information is 4 available which affects the advisability of the current placement, unless written 5 waivers of objection to the proposed change in placement are signed by all parties 6 entitled to receive notice under sub. (1) and the court approves. If a hearing is 7 scheduled, the court shall notify the child, the parent, foster parent, guardian, and legal custodian of the child, any foster parent, treatment foster parent or other 8 9 physical custodian described in s. 48.62 (2) of the child and all parties who are bound 10 by the dispositional order at least 3 days prior to the hearing. A copy of the request 11 or proposal for the change in placement shall be attached to the notice. If all the 12parties consent, the court may proceed immediately with the hearing. If a hearing 13 is held under this subsection and the change in placement would remove a child from 14a foster home, treatment foster home or other placement with a physical custodian 15described in s. 48.62 (2), the court shall permit the foster parent may, treatment foster parent or other physical custodian described in s. 48.62 (2) to make a written 16 17or oral statement during the hearing or to submit a written statement prior to the 18 hearing relating to the child and the requested change in placement. If a hearing is held under this subsection and the change in placement would remove a child from 19 20 a foster home, treatment foster home or other physical placement described in s. 2148.62 (2) in which the child has been placed for a total of 4 or more years, the foster 22parent, treatment foster parent or other physical custodian may be represented by 23counsel, may request an examination or assessment of the child under s. 48.295 by  $\mathbf{24}$ an expert of the foster parent's, treatment foster parent's or other physical custodian's own choosing, may present evidence relative to the issue of placement, 25

- 6 -

1995 – 1996 Legislature – 7 –

1	including expert testimony, may confront and cross-examine witnesses and may
2	make alternative placement recommendations. In addition, counsel for the foster
3	parent, treatment foster parent or other physical custodian may, notwithstanding s.
4	48.78 (2) (a), inspect and obtain copies of all records relating to the child that are
5	relevant to the issue of placement as provided under s. 48.293.
6	SECTION 8. 48.78 (2) (a) of the statutes, as affected by 1995 Wisconsin Act 77,
7	is amended to read:
8	48.78 (2) (a) No agency may make available for inspection or disclose the
9	contents of any record kept or information received about an individual in its care
10	or legal custody, except as provided under s. <u>48.357 (1) or (2m)</u> , 48.371, 48.38 (5) (b)
11	or (d), 48.432, 48.433, 48.93 or 48.981 (7) or by order of the court.
12	SECTION 9. Initial applicability.
13	(1) This act first applies to hearings under section $48.357$ (1) or (2m) of the
14	statutes, as affected by this act, held on the effective date of this subsection.
15	SECTION 10. Effective date.
16	(1) This act takes effect on July 1, 1996 or on the day after publication,
17	whichever is later.
18	(END)