SENATE SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1, TO 1995 SENATE BILL 511

March 26, 1996 - Offered by Committee on Transportation, Agriculture and Local Affairs.

AN ACT *to amend* 114.14 (2) of the statutes; **relating to:** the number of commissioners who may serve on an airport commission and the length of terms of such commissioners.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

Section 1. 114.14 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

114.14 (2) The governing body of a city, village, town or county which has established an airport may vest jurisdiction for the construction, improvement, equipment, maintenance and operation thereof in an airport commission of 3 or 5 commissioners. The governing body of such a city, village, town or county may determine the number of commissioners on the commission. In the case of a county, the commissioners shall be appointed by the chairperson of the county board, subject to the approval of the county board; in the case of cities, villages and towns by the mayors or city managers, village presidents and town chairpersons, respectively. The terms of the commissioners shall be 4 years. On the first appointment of a 3-member commission, commissioners shall be appointed for terms of 2, 4 and 6

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

vears, respectively. On the first appointment of a 5-member commission, commissioners shall be appointed for terms of 1, 2, 3, 4 and 6 years, respectively. If the number of members on a commission is expanded from 3 to 5, the commissioners on the 3-member commission shall serve on the 5-member commission until the expiration of the terms for which they were appointed and the 2 new commissioners shall be appointed for the remaining terms. The number of commissioners shall be reduced from 5 to 3 by not appointing members to fill the next 2 vacancies occurring on the commission determined by the governing body. Their compensation and allowance for expenses shall be as fixed by the governing body. The commissioners shall be persons especially interested in aeronautics. The airport commission shall elect one member chairperson and one secretary who shall keep an accurate record of all its proceedings and transactions and report such to the governing body. The commission shall have complete and exclusive control and management over the airport for which it has been appointed. All moneys appropriated for the construction, improvement, equipment, maintenance or operation of an airport, managed as provided by this subsection, or earned by the airport or made available for its construction, improvement, equipment, maintenance or operation in any manner whatsoever, shall be deposited with the treasurer of the city, village, town or county where it shall be kept in a special fund and paid out only on order of the airport commission, drawn and signed by the secretary and countersigned by the chairperson. In case of union airports owned by 2 or more governmental units, each

governmental unit shall appoint an equal number of commissioners to serve for

terms of 6 years. The remaining number of commissioners shall be appointed

alternately from each governmental unit for terms of 6 years starting with the

governmental unit whose name comes first in the alphabet that are determined by

1

 $\mathbf{2}$

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

each of the governmental units that appoint the respective commissioners. The moneys available for union airports shall be kept in the manner provided in this subsection in the treasury of one of the governmental units selected by the commission, and paid out in like manner.

Section 2. Nonstatutory provisions.

(1) Terms of commissioners. Notwithstanding the treatment of section 114.14 (2) of the statutes by this act, an airport commissioner appointed before the effective date of this subsection shall continue in office until the expiration of the term to which appointed and a successor is appointed and qualified.

10 (END)