

## State of Misconsin 2015 - 2016 LEGISLATURE

LRB-0442/2 RNK:jld&kjf:jf

DOA:.....Ley, BB0157 - Antique snowmobile registration

### FOR 2015-2017 BUDGET -- NOT READY FOR INTRODUCTION

AN ACT ...; relating to: the budget.

# Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau NATURAL RESOURCES

#### RECREATION

Current law prohibits a person from operating a snowmobile in this state unless the snowmobile is covered by a public-use or private-use registration certificate issued by DNR, is registered as an antique snowmobile, or is exempt from registration. A person who owns a snowmobile is generally exempt from snowmobile registration requirements in this state if the snowmobile is covered by a valid registration in another state or country. A public-use registration certificate is valid for two years and a private-use registration certificate is valid until ownership of the snowmobile is transferred. Beginning July 1, 2015, a public-use registration certificate for a snowmobile that is not an antique is valid for three years. This bill provides that, beginning July 1, 2015, the registration certificate for an antique snowmobile is also valid for three years.

Under current law, a person who owns a snowmobile that is not registered in this state or is exempt from registration must display a trail use sticker issued by DNR on the snowmobile. Beginning July 1, 2015, all snowmobiles, with limited exceptions, must display a trail use sticker and pay a fee for the sticker, regardless of whether the snowmobile is registered in this state. One exception to this requirement provides that a person is not required to pay a fee for a trail use sticker issued for a snowmobile that has a model year that is at least 30 years earlier than

the year in which the trail use sticker is issued. Under this bill, a snowmobile must have a model year that is at least 35 years earlier than the year in which the trail use sticker is issued in order to qualify for the fee exemption.

For further information see the *state* fiscal estimate, which will be printed as an appendix to this bill.

## The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

**Section 1.** 350.12 (3) (b) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:

350.12 (3) (b) 1. Any person who is a resident of this state and the owner of a snowmobile may register the snowmobile as an antique snowmobile if it is at least 35 years old at the time that the owner applies for such registration. Upon payment of a fee of \$20, the owner shall be furnished a registration certificate and decals of a distinctive design, in lieu of the design on the decals issued under par. (d). The design shall show that the snowmobile is an antique. The registration certificate shall be valid for 2-3 years. If the snowmobile is registered before April 1, the -2-year 3-year period begins on the July 1 before the date of application. If the snowmobile is registered on or after April 1 of a given year, the -2-year 3-year period begins on the July 1 after the date of application. The fee for issuance of the initial registration certificate is \$20. The fee for renewal of the registration is \$5.

**SECTION 2.** 350.12 (3j) (br) of the statutes, as created by 2013 Wisconsin Act 142, is amended to read:

350.12 **(3j)** (br) There is no fee for a trail use sticker issued for a snowmobile that has a model year that is at least 30 35 years earlier than the year in which the trail use sticker is issued.

SECTION 9332. Initial applicability; Natural Resources.

(1) Snowmobile registration. The treatment of section 350.12 (3) (b) 1. of the statutes first applies to snowmobile registration certificates issued on the effective date of this subsection.

(END)