

State of Misconsin 2015 - 2016 LEGISLATURE

LRB-0480/P5 MED:cjs:rs

DOA:.....Potts, BB0173 - Four-year professional license renewal cycles

FOR 2015-2017 BUDGET -- NOT READY FOR INTRODUCTION

AN ACT ...; relating to: the budget.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau SAFETY AND PROFESSIONAL SERVICES

PROFESSIONAL LICENSURE

Under current law, the period of licensure, certification, or registration for most credentials issued by DSPS or an attached credentialing board is two years, with specific renewal dates in either the odd-numbered or even-numbered year listed in the statutes. For example, under current law, the renewal date for a real estate broker license is December 15 of each even-numbered year.

This bill instead provides that the period of licensure, certification, or registration for those credentials is 4 years, staggered so that the actual renewal dates for credential holders who have even-numbered birth years are two years apart from the renewal dates for credential holders who have odd-numbered birth years. The bill does not modify the precise renewal months and days that apply to each credential.

The bill provides that the change from two-year to four-year credential periods takes effect on July 1, 2016, but that DSPS may establish a system to transition credential holders from 2-year to 4-year licensure periods by phasing in the change so that certain credentials may have one more renewal for a two-year period after July 1, 2016.

To account for the change from 2-year to 4-year credential periods, the bill modifies numerous provisions regarding continuing education requirements for

various credentials, which credential holders must generally satisfy in order to renew a credential.

For further information see the **state** fiscal estimate, which will be printed as an appendix to this bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. 440.03 (14) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:

440.03 (14) (c) The renewal dates for certificates granted under par. (a) and licenses granted under par. (am) are specified in shall be as determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag). Renewal applications shall be submitted to the department on a form provided by the department and shall include the renewal fee determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a) and evidence satisfactory to the department that the person's certification, registration, or accreditation specified in par. (a) 1. a., 2. a., or 3. a. has not been revoked.

Section 2. 440.032 (5) of the statutes is amended to read:

440.032 (5) LICENSE RENEWAL. The renewal dates for licenses granted under sub. (3) (a) are specified in shall be as determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) 68e and (ag). Renewal applications shall be submitted to the department on a form provided by the department and shall include the renewal fee determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a) and evidence satisfactory to the department that the person's certification or membership specified in sub. (3) that is required for the license has not been revoked or invalidated.

SECTION 3. 440.08 (2) (a) (intro.) of the statutes, as affected by 2015 Wisconsin Act (this act), is amended to read:

440.08 **(2)** (a) (intro.) Except as provided in par. (b) and in ss. 440.51, 442.04, 444.03, 444.11, 447.04 (2) (c) 2., 449.17 (1m) (d), 449.18 (2) (d), 463.10, 463.12, and

463.25 and subch. II of ch. 448, the renewal dates for credentials are as follows <u>all</u> of the following apply with respect to renewals of credentials:

****Note: This is reconciled s. 440.08 (2) (a) (intro.). This Section has been affected by drafts with the following LRB numbers: -0807/P7 and -0480/P4.

SECTION 4. 440.08 (2) (a) 1. to 46w. of the statutes are renumbered 440.08 (2) (ag) 1. to 46w. and amended to read:

440.08 **(2)** (ag) 1. Accountant, certified public: December 15 of each the odd-numbered year years.

- 3. Accounting corporation or partnership: December 15 of each the odd-numbered year years.
 - 4. Acupuncturist: July 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.

4m. Advanced practice nurse prescriber: October 1 of each the even-numbered year years.

- 5. Aesthetician: April 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.
- 6. Aesthetics establishment: April 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.
- 7. Aesthetics instructor: April 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.
- 8. Aesthetics school: April 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.
- 9. Aesthetics specialty school: April 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.

9m. Substance abuse counselor, clinical supervisor, or prevention specialist: except as limited in s. 440.88 (4), March 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.

- 10. Anesthesiologist assistant: October 1 of each the even-numbered year years.
- 11. Appraiser, real estate, certified general: December 15 of each the odd-numbered year years.

- 11m. Appraiser, real estate, certified residential: December 15 of each the odd-numbered year years.
- 12. Appraiser, real estate, licensed: December 15 of each the odd-numbered year years.
 - 13. Architect: August 1 of each the even-numbered year years.
- 14. Architectural or engineering firm, partnership or corporation: February 1 of each the even-numbered year years.
 - 14d. Athlete agent: July 1 of each the even-numbered year years.
 - 14f. Athletic trainer: July 1 of each the even-numbered year years.
 - 14g. Auction company: December 15 of each the even-numbered year years.
 - 14r. Auctioneer: December 15 of each the even-numbered year years.
 - 15. Audiologist: February 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.
 - 15m. Barber: April 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.
 - 16. Barbering establishment: April 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.
 - 17. Barbering instructor: April 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.
 - 18. Barbering manager: April 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.
 - 19. Barbering school: April 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.
 - 20m. Behavior analyst: December 15 of each the even-numbered year years.
- 21. Cemetery authority, licensed: December 15 of each the even-numbered year years.
- 21m. Cemetery authority, registered: December 15 of each the even-numbered year; \$10 years.
- 22. Cemetery preneed seller: December 15 of each the even-numbered year years.

- 23. Cemetery salesperson: December 15 of each the even-numbered years.
- 23p. Chiropractic radiological technician: December 15 of each the even-numbered year years.
- 23s. Chiropractic technician: December 15 of each the even-numbered year years.
 - 24. Chiropractor: December 15 of each the even-numbered year years.
 - 24b. Cosmetologist: April 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.
 - 24d. Cosmetology establishment: April 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.
 - 24g. Cosmetology instructor: April 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.
 - 24i. Cosmetology manager: April 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.
 - 24k. Cosmetology school: April 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.
 - 24m. Crematory authority: January 1 of each the even-numbered year years.
 - 25. Dental hygienist: October 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.
 - 26. Dentist: October 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.
 - 26m. Dentist, faculty member: October 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.
- 27. Designer of engineering systems: February 1 of each the even-numbered year years.
 - 27m. Dietitian: November 1 of each the even-numbered year years.
 - 29. Drug manufacturer: June 1 of each the even-numbered year years.
 - 30. Electrologist: April 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.
 - 31. Electrology establishment: April 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.
 - 32. Electrology instructor: April 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.
 - 33. Electrology school: April 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.
 - 34. Electrology specialty school: April 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.

- 35. Engineer, professional: August 1 of each the even-numbered year years.
- 36. Funeral director: December 15 of each the odd-numbered year years.
- 37. Funeral establishment: June 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.
- 38. Hearing instrument specialist: February 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.
 - 38g. Home inspector: December 15 of each the even-numbered year years.
- 38j. Juvenile martial arts instructor: September 1 of each the even-numbered year years.
 - 38m. Landscape architect: August 1 of each the even-numbered year years.
- 39. Land surveyor, professional: February 1 of each the even-numbered year years.
- 39m. Limited X-ray machine operator: September 1 of each the even-numbered year years.
 - 42. Manicuring establishment: April 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.
 - 43. Manicuring instructor: April 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.
 - 44. Manicuring school: April 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.
 - 45. Manicuring specialty school: April 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.
 - 46. Manicurist: April 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.
- 46m. Marriage and family therapist: March 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.
- 46r. Massage therapist or bodywork therapist: March 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.
 - 46w. Midwife, licensed: July 1 of each the even-numbered year years.
- **SECTION 5.** 440.08 (2) (a) 1n., 2n., 3n., 4n. and 5n. of the statutes are created to read:

440.08 (2) (a) 1n. Beginning with the first renewal after the initial issuance of a credential, credentials may be renewed every 4 years as provided in this paragraph.

2n. General renewal dates shall be as specified in par. (ag), and renewals shall be in either odd-numbered or even-numbered years, as specified in par. (ag).

3n. The actual renewal dates for credential holders who are individuals shall be staggered so that the renewal dates for credential holders who have even-numbered birth years are 2 years apart from the renewal dates for credential holders who have odd-numbered birth years.

4n. Renewal years for credential holders that are not individuals shall be determined by the department, which may provide for staggering as necessary.

5n. The department shall promulgate rules for the implementation of subds.1n. to 4n.

SECTION 6. 440.08 (2) (a) 46y. of the statutes, as created by 2013 Wisconsin Act 244, is renumbered 440.08 (2) (ag) 46y. and amended to read:

440.08 (2) (ag) 46y. Mobile dentistry program registration: October 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.

SECTION 7. 440.08 (2) (a) 48. to 69. of the statutes are renumbered 440.08 (2) (ag) 48. to 69. and amended to read:

440.08 (2) (ag) 48. Nurse, licensed practical: May 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.

- 49. Nurse, registered: March 1 of each the even-numbered year years.
- 50. Nurse-midwife: March 1 of each the even-numbered year years.
- 51. Nursing home administrator: July 1 of each <u>the</u> even-numbered <u>year</u> <u>years</u>.

- 52. Occupational therapist: June 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.
- 53. Occupational therapy assistant: June 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.
 - 54. Optometrist: December 15 of each the odd-numbered year years.
 - 54m. Perfusionist: March 1 of each the even-numbered year years.
 - 55. Pharmacist: June 1 of each the even-numbered year years.
- 56. Pharmacy, in-state and out-of-state: June 1 of each the even-numbered year years.
 - 57. Physical therapist: March 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.
- 57m. Physical therapist assistant: March 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.
- 58. Physician, other than a physician who possesses the degree of doctor of osteopathy: November 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.
- 58m. Physician who possesses the degree of doctor of osteopathy: March 1 of each the even-numbered year years.
 - 59. Physician assistant: March 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.
 - 60. Podiatrist: November 1 of each the even-numbered year years.
 - 61. Private detective: September 1 of each the even-numbered year years.
- 62. Private detective agency: September 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.
- 63. Private practice school psychologist: October 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.
- 63g. Private security person: September 1 of each the even-numbered year years.
 - 63m. Professional counselor: March 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.

- 63u. Professional geologist: August 1 of each the even-numbered year years.
- 63v. Professional geology, hydrology, or soil science firm, partnership, or corporation: August 1 of each the even-numbered year years.
 - 63w. Professional hydrologist: August 1 of each the even-numbered year years.
- 63x. Professional soil scientist: August 1 of each the even-numbered year years.
 - 64. Psychologist: October 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.
- 64g. Radiographer, licensed: September 1 of each the even-numbered year years.
 - 65. Real estate broker: December 15 of each the even-numbered year years.
- 66. Real estate business entity: December 15 of each the even-numbered year years.
- 67. Real estate salesperson: December 15 of each the even-numbered year years.
- 67m. Registered interior designer: August 1 of each the even-numbered year years.
- 67v. Registered music, art or dance therapist: October 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.
- 67x. Registered music, art, or dance therapist with psychotherapy license: October 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.
- 68. Respiratory care practitioner: July 1 of each the even-numbered year years.
 - 68b. Sanitarian: January 1 of each the even-numbered year years.
- 68c. Sign language interpreter: September 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.

- 68d. Social worker: March 1 of each the odd-numbered vear years.
- 68h. Social worker, advanced practice: March 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.
- 68p. Social worker, independent: March 1 of each <u>the</u> odd-numbered <u>year</u> <u>years</u>.
- 68t. Social worker, independent clinical: March 1 of each the odd-numbered year years.
- 68v. Speech-language pathologist: February 1 of each <u>the</u> odd-numbered <u>year</u> <u>years</u>.
- 69. Time-share salesperson: December 15 of each the even-numbered year years.
 - ****Note: This is reconciled s. 440.08 (2) (a) 48. to 72. This Section has been affected by drafts with the following LRB numbers: -0480 and -1053.
- **SECTION 8.** 440.08 (2) (a) 72. of the statutes is renumbered 440.08 (2) (ag) 72. and amended to read:
- 440.08 (2) (ag) 72. Wholesale distributor of prescription drugs: June 1 of each the even-numbered year years.
 - ****Note: This is reconciled s. 440.08 (2) (a) 48. to 72. This Section has been affected by drafts with the following LRB numbers: -0480 -1053.
 - **Section 9.** 440.08 (2) (ag) (intro.) of the statutes is created to read:
- 440.08 (2) (ag) (intro.) For the purpose of par. (a), the general renewal dates and years for credentials are as follows:
 - **Section 10.** 440.08 (2) (ar) of the statutes is created to read:
- 440.08 (2) (ar) Notwithstanding pars. (a), (ag), and (c), the department may establish a system to transition credential holders from 2-year to 4-year credential periods by phasing-in the application of par. (a). Notwithstanding the requirement

to pay the renewal fee under par. (c), a person who renews a credential for 2 years pursuant to the system established under this paragraph is only required to pay one-half of the renewal fee that applies to a person renewing a credential for 4 years. The department shall promulgate rules to implement any transition system established under this paragraph, which shall not allow for more than one 2-year renewal of a credential after the effective date of this paragraph [LRB inserts date].

Section 11. 440.08 (2) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

440.08 **(2)** (b) The renewal fee for an apprentice, journeyman, student, or temporary credential is \$10. The renewal dates specified in par. determined under pars. (a) and (ag) do not apply to apprentice, journeyman, student or temporary credentials.

Section 12. 440.26 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

440.26 (3) ISSUANCE OF LICENSES; FEES. Upon receipt and examination of an application executed under sub. (2), and after any investigation that it considers necessary, the department shall, if it determines that the applicant is qualified, grant the proper license upon payment of the initial credential fee determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a). No license shall be issued for a longer period than 2-4 years, and the license of a private detective shall expire on the renewal date of the license of the private detective agency, even if the license of the private detective has not been in effect for a full 2-4 years. Renewals of the original licenses issued under this section shall be issued in accordance with renewal forms prescribed by the department and shall be accompanied by the applicable fees specified in s. 440.08 or determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a). The department may not

renew a license unless the applicant provides evidence that the applicant has in force at the time of renewal the bond or liability policy specified in this section.

Section 13. 440.26 (5m) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

440.26 (5m) (b) The renewal dates for permits issued under this subsection are specified shall be as determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag). Renewal applications shall be submitted to the department on a form provided by the department and shall include the renewal fee determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a).

Section 14. 440.313 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

440.313 (1) The renewal date for licenses granted under this subchapter is specified in shall be as determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag). Renewal applications shall be submitted to the department on a form provided by the department and shall include the renewal fee determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a).

Section 15. 440.63 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

440.63 (2) APPLICATIONS; CERTIFICATION PERIOD. An application for initial certification or renewal or reinstatement of a certificate under this section shall be submitted to the department on a form provided by the department. An application for initial certification shall include the initial credential fee determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a). Renewal applications shall be submitted to the department on a form provided by the department on or before the applicable renewal date specified determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag) and shall include the applicable renewal fee determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a), and the applicable penalty for late renewal under s. 440.08 (3) if the application is submitted late.

Section 16. 440.71 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

440.71 (3) Renewal. Renewal applications shall be submitted to the department on a form provided by the department on or before the applicable renewal date specified determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag) and shall include the applicable renewal fee determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a).

Section 17. 440.88 (4) of the statutes is amended to read:

440.88 (4) APPLICATIONS; CERTIFICATION PERIOD. An application for certification as a substance abuse counselor, clinical supervisor, or prevention specialist under this section shall be made on a form provided by the department and filed with the department and shall be accompanied by the initial credential fee determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a). The renewal date for certification as a substance abuse counselor, clinical supervisor, or prevention specialist is specified shall be as determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag) and the renewal fee for such certifications is determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a). Renewal of certification as a substance abuse counselor-in-training, a clinical supervisor-in-training, or a prevention specialist-in-training may be made only twice.

Section 18. 440.905 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

440.905 (2) The board has rule-making authority and may promulgate rules relating to the regulation of cemetery authorities, cemetery salespersons, and cemetery preneed sellers. The board may determine, by rule, a fee under s. 440.05 (1) (a) and under s. 440.08 (2) (a) 21. that is sufficient to fund the board's operating costs.

SECTION 19. 440.91 (1) (c) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:

440.91 (1) (c) 1. The renewal dates for licenses granted under par. (b) are specified in shall be as determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag) and the renewal

fees for such licenses are determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a), except that a licensed cemetery authority is not required to renew its license if the cemetery authority sells less than 20 cemetery lots or mausoleum spaces at a cemetery during a calendar year, or that has less than \$100,000 in trust fund accounts for a cemetery.

SECTION 20. 440.91 (1m) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:

440.91 (1m) (c) The renewal date and renewal fee for a registration granted under par. (b) are specified in shall be as determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag). The department shall determine the renewal fee for a registration granted under par. (b) under s. 440.03 (9) (a).

Section 21. 440.91 (4) of the statutes is amended to read:

440.91 (4) Renewal applications shall be submitted to the department on a form provided by the department on or before the applicable renewal date specified determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag) and shall include the applicable renewal fee determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a).

Section 22. 440.92 (1) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:

440.92 (1) (c) Renewal applications shall be submitted to the department on a form provided by the department on or before the applicable renewal date specified determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag) and shall include the applicable renewal fee determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a).

Section 23. 440.966 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

440.966 (1) The renewal date for a certificate of registration issued under this subchapter is specified in shall be as determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag), and the renewal fee for such certificate of registration is determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a).

Section 24. 440.972 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

440.972 (2) The renewal date for certificates granted under this section is specified shall be as determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) 38g. and (ag), and the renewal fee for such certificates is determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a).

Section 25. 440.98 (6) of the statutes is amended to read:

440.98 (6) APPLICATIONS. An application for a sanitarian registration under this section shall be made on a form provided by the department and filed with the department and shall be accompanied by the initial credential fee determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a). The renewal date for a sanitarian registration is specified shall be as determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag), and the renewal fee for such registration is determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a).

Section 26. 440.983 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

440.983 (1) The renewal date for licenses granted under this subchapter is specified in shall be as determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag). Renewal applications shall be submitted to the department on a form provided by the department and shall include the renewal fee determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a).

Section 27. 440.992 (6) of the statutes is repealed.

Section 28. 440.9935 of the statutes is amended to read:

440.9935 Renewal. The renewal date for certificates of registration issued under this subchapter is specified in shall be as determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag), and the renewal fee for such certificates is determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a). Renewal applications shall be submitted to the department on a form provided by the department.

Section 29. 441.06 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

441.06 (3) A registered nurse practicing for compensation shall, on or before the applicable renewal date specified determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag), submit to the board on furnished forms a statement giving name, residence, and other facts that the board requires, with the applicable renewal fee determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a).

Section 30. 441.10 (3) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

441.10 (3) (b) On or before the applicable renewal date specified determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag), a licensed practical nurse practicing for compensation shall submit to the board, on forms furnished by the department, an application for license renewal, together with a statement giving name, residence, nature and extent of practice as a licensed practical nurse during the prior year and prior unreported years, the nursing workforce survey and fee required under s. 441.01 (7), and other facts bearing upon current competency that the board requires, accompanied by the applicable license renewal fee determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a).

Section 31. 441.15 (3) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

441.15 (3) (b) On or before the applicable renewal date specified determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag), a person issued a license under par. (a) and practicing nurse-midwifery shall submit to the board on furnished forms a statement giving his or her name, residence, the nursing workforce survey and fee required under s. 441.01 (7), and other information that the board requires by rule, with the applicable renewal fee determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a). If applicable, the person shall also submit evidence satisfactory to the board that he or she has in effect the malpractice liability insurance required under the rules promulgated under sub. (5) (bm). The board shall grant to a person who pays the fee determined by the

department under s. 440.03 (9) (a) for renewal of a license to practice nurse-midwifery and who satisfies the requirements of this paragraph the renewal of his or her license to practice nurse-midwifery and the renewal of his or her license to practice as a registered nurse.

Section 32. 442.083 of the statutes is amended to read:

442.083 Renewal. The renewal dates for licenses issued under this chapter are specified shall be as determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag), and the renewal fees for such licenses are determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a). The department may not renew a license issued to a firm unless, at the time of renewal, the firm satisfies the requirements under s. 442.08 (2) and demonstrates, to the satisfaction of the department, that the firm has complied with the requirements under s. 442.087.

Section 33. 443.07 (6) of the statutes is amended to read:

443.07 **(6)** The renewal date for permits under this section is specified shall be as determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag), and the fee for renewal of such permits is determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a).

SECTION 34. 443.08 (3) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

443.08 (3) (b) The renewal date for certificates of authorization under this section is specified shall be as determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag), and the fee for renewal of such certificates is determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a).

Section 35. 443.10 (2) (e) of the statutes is amended to read:

443.10 **(2)** (e) The renewal date for certificates of registration for architects, landscape architects, and professional engineers is specified shall be as determined

under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag), and the fee for renewal of such certificates is determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a).

Section 36. 443.10 (5) of the statutes is amended to read:

443.10 (5) FEES; RENEWALS. The professional land surveyor section shall grant a license to engage in the practice of professional land surveying to any applicant who has met the applicable requirements of this chapter. The renewal date for the license is specified shall be as determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag), and the renewal fee for the license is determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a).

SECTION 37. 445.06 of the statutes is amended to read:

445.06 Renewal of licenses. The renewal date for a funeral director's license is specified shall be as determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag), and the renewal fee for such license is determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a). Before any renewal license is delivered to any licensed funeral director, proof must shall be furnished by the applicant, to the satisfaction of the examining board, that the applicant is doing business at a recognized funeral establishment. The applicant must shall also furnish proof of completion of at least 15 hours of continuing education during each 2-year period within the previous -2-year 4-year licensure period, except that new licensees are exempt from this requirement during the time between initial licensure and commencement of a full -2-year 4-year licensure period.

Section 38. 445.105 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

445.105 (3) Applications for funeral establishment permits shall be made on forms provided by the department and filed with the department and shall be accompanied by the initial credential fee determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a). The renewal date for a funeral establishment permit is specified shall

be as determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag), and the renewal fee for such permit is determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a).

Section 39. 446.02 (1) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

446.02 (1) (b) Submits evidence satisfactory to the examining board that the person meets the requirements of continuing education for license renewal as the examining board may require, which requirements shall include current proficiency in the use of an automated external defibrillator achieved through instruction provided by an individual, organization, or institution of higher education approved under s. 46.03 (38) to provide such instruction. The person shall include the approval number assigned under sub. (5) (b) to each educational program completed by the person to satisfy the requirements of this paragraph. During the time between initial licensure and commencement of a full 2-year licensure period, new licensees shall not be required to meet continuing education requirements. Any person who has not engaged in the practice of chiropractic for 2 years or more, while holding a valid license under this chapter, and desiring to engage in such practice, shall be required by the examining board to complete a continuing education course at a school of chiropractic approved by the examining board or pass a practical examination administered by the examining board or both.

Section 40. 446.02 (4) of the statutes is amended to read:

446.02 (4) The renewal date for all licenses granted by the examining board is specified shall be as determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag), and the renewal fee for such licenses is determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a).

SECTION 41. 446.025 (3) (a) of the statutes is renumbered 446.025 (3) (a) 1. and amended to read:

446.025 (3) (a) 1. The renewal date and fees for a certificate issued under this section are specified in shall be as determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag).

Section 42. 446.025 (3) (a) 2. of the statutes is created to read:

446.025 (3) (a) 2. The renewal fees for a certificate issued under this section are determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a).

SECTION 43. 446.025 (3) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

446.025 (3) (b) A chiropractic radiological technician shall, at the time that he or she applies for renewal of a certificate under par. (a), submit evidence satisfactory to the examining board that he or she has completed at least 12 continuing educational credit hours in each 2-year period within the prior 4-year period in programs established by rules promulgated by the examining board.

SECTION 44. 446.026 (3) (a) of the statutes is renumbered 446.026 (3) (a) 1. and amended to read:

446.026 (3) (a) 1. The renewal date and fees for a certificate issued under this section are specified in shall be as determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag).

Section 45. 446.026 (3) (a) 2. of the statutes is created to read:

446.026 (3) (a) 2. The renewal fees for a certificate issued under this section are determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a).

Section 46. 446.026 (3) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

446.026 (3) (b) A chiropractic technician shall, at the time that he or she applies for renewal of a certificate under par. (a), submit evidence satisfactory to the examining board that he or she has completed at least 6 continuing educational credit hours in each 2-year period within the prior 4-year period in programs established by rules promulgated by the examining board.

Section 47. 447.05 of the statutes is amended to read:

447.05 Expiration and renewal. Renewal applications shall be submitted to the department on a form provided by the department on or before the applicable renewal date specified determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag) and shall include the applicable renewal fee determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a). The examining board may not renew a license to practice dentistry unless the applicant for renewal attests that he or she has current proficiency in cardiopulmonary resuscitation, including the use of an automated external defibrillator achieved through instruction provided by an individual, organization, or institution of higher education approved under s. 46.03 (38) to provide such instruction. The examining board may not renew a license to practice dental hygiene unless the applicant for renewal attests that he or she has complied with s. 447.055 and any rules promulgated by the department under s. 447.055, that he or she has a current certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation, and that he or she has current proficiency in the use of an automated external defibrillator achieved through instruction provided by an individual, organization, or institution of higher education approved under s. 46.03 (38) to provide such instruction.

Section 48. 447.055 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

447.055 (1) (a) Except as provided in subs. (3) and (4), a person is not eligible for renewal of a license to practice dental hygiene, other than a permit issued under s. 447.02 (3), unless the person has taught, prepared, attended, or otherwise completed, during each of the 2-year periods within the 4-year period immediately preceding the renewal date specified determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag), 12 credit hours of continuing education relating to the clinical practice of dental hygiene that is sponsored or recognized by a local, state, regional, national, or international

Section 49. 447.055 (1) (b) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:

447.055 (1) (b) 1. Basic life support or cardiopulmonary resuscitation. Not more than 2 of the credit hours required in each 2-year period under par. (a) may be satisfied by such training.

SECTION 50. 447.055 (1) (b) 2. of the statutes is amended to read:

447.055 (1) (b) 2. Infection control. Not less than 2 of the credit hours required in each 2-year period under par. (a) must be satisfied by such training.

Section 51. 447.055 (1) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:

447.055 (1) (c) Biennially, beginning January 1, 2007, the department shall consult with the examining board and with the department of health services regarding the number of credit hours of continuing education required for eligibility for renewal under par. (a). After consulting with the examining board and the department of health services, and notwithstanding par. (a), the department may promulgate a rule requiring, during each of the 2-year periods within the 4-year period immediately preceding the renewal date determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag), not more than 20 nor less than 12 credit hours of continuing education for eligibility for renewal.

Section 52. 447.056 (1) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

447.056 (1) (intro.) Except as provided in subs. (2) to (4), a person is not eligible for renewal of a license to practice dentistry, other than a permit issued under s. 447.02 (3), unless the person has taught, attended, or otherwise completed, during each of the 2-year periods within the 4-year period immediately preceding the renewal date specified determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag), 30 credit hours

of continuing education related to the practice of dentistry or the practice of medicine, including not less than 25 credit hours of instruction in clinical dentistry or clinical medicine. Not more than 4 of the 30 hours may be from teaching. Continuing education does not satisfy the requirements under this subsection unless the continuing education is one of the following:

Section 53. 447.056 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

447.056 **(3)** Credit hours completed before the <u>-2-year 4-year</u> period immediately preceding renewal of a license to practice dentistry may not be applied to fulfill the credit hours required under sub. (1).

SECTION 54. 447.058 (2) (b) of the statutes, as created by 2013 Wisconsin Act 244, is amended to read:

447.058 **(2)** (b) A mobile dentistry program registrant shall submit an application for renewal, and the applicable renewal fee determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a), to the department on a form provided by the department on or before the applicable renewal date specified determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag).

Section 55. 448.07 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

448.07 (1) (a) Every person licensed or certified under this subchapter shall register on or before <u>each</u> November 1 of <u>each odd-numbered his or her renewal</u> year following issuance of the license or certificate with the board in such manner as the board shall designate and upon forms the board shall provide. The secretary of the board, on or before October 1 of each odd-numbered year, shall, at least 30 days prior to that date, mail or cause to be mailed to every person required to register a registration form. The board shall furnish to each person registered under this section a certificate of registration, and the person shall display the registration

certificate conspicuously in the office at all times. No person may exercise the rights or privileges conferred by any license or certificate granted by the board unless currently registered as required under this subsection.

Section 56. 448.13 (title) of the statutes is repealed and recreated to read:

448.13 (title) Continuing education and professional development.

SECTION 57. 448.13 (1) (a) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

448.13 (1) (a) (intro.) Except as provided in par. (b), each physician shall, in each 2nd year at the time of application he or she applies for a certificate of registration under s. 448.07, submit proof of attendance at and completion of all of the following:

SECTION 58. 448.13 (1) (a) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:

448.13 (1) (a) 1. Continuing education programs or courses of study approved for at least 30 hours of credit by the board within each 2-year period within the 2 4 calendar years preceding the calendar year for which the registration is effective.

Section 59. 448.13 (1) (a) 2. of the statutes is amended to read:

448.13 (1) (a) 2. Professional development and maintenance of certification or performance improvement or continuing medical education programs or courses of study required by the board by rule under s. 448.40 (1) and completed within the -2 4 calendar years preceding the calendar year for which the registration is effective.

Section 60. 448.13 (1m) of the statutes is amended to read:

448.13 (1m) The board shall, on a random basis, verify the accuracy of proof submitted by physicians under sub. (1) (a) and may, at any time during the 2 calendar years specified in sub. (1) (a), require a physician to submit proof of any continuing education, professional development, and maintenance of certification or performance improvement or continuing medical education programs or courses of

study that he or she has attended and completed at that time during the 2 calendar vears since he or she last registered under s. 448.07.

Section 61. 448.13 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

448.13 (2) Each person licensed as a perfusionist shall, in each 2nd year at the time of application he or she applies for a certificate of registration under s. 448.07, submit proof of completion of continuing education requirements promulgated by rule by the board.

Section 62. 448.13 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

448.13 (3) Each person licensed as an anesthesiologist assistant shall, in each 2nd year at the time of application he or she applies for a certificate of registration under s. 448.07, submit proof of meeting the criteria for recertification by the National Commission on Certification of Anesthesiologist Assistants or by a successor entity, including any continuing education requirements.

Section 63. 448.55 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

448.55 (2) The renewal dates for licenses granted under this subchapter, other than temporary licenses granted under rules promulgated under s. 448.53 (2), are specified shall be as determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag). Renewal applications shall be submitted to the department on a form provided by the department and shall include the renewal fee determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a) and proof of compliance with the requirements established in any rules promulgated under sub. (3).

Section 64. 448.65 (2) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

448.65 (2) (intro.) The renewal date for a license granted under this subchapter, other than a temporary license granted under rules promulgated under s. 448.63 (3), is specified shall be as determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag). Renewal

applications shall be submitted to the department on a form provided by the department and shall be accompanied by all of the following:

Section 65. 448.665 of the statutes is amended to read:

448.665 Continuing education. The affiliated credentialing board shall promulgate rules establishing requirements and procedures for licensees to complete continuing education programs or courses of study in order to qualify for renewal of a license granted under this subchapter. The rules shall require a licensee to complete at least 30 hours of continuing education programs or courses of study within each of the 2-year periods within the 4-year period immediately preceding the renewal date specified determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag). The affiliated credentialing board may waive all or part of these requirements for the completion of continuing education programs or courses of study if the affiliated credentialing board determines that prolonged illness, disability or other exceptional circumstances have prevented a licensee from completing the requirements.

Section 66. 448.86 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

448.86 (2) The renewal dates for certificates granted under this subchapter, other than temporary certificates granted under s. 448.80, are specified shall be as determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag). Renewal applications shall be submitted to the department on a form provided by the department and shall include the renewal fee determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a).

Section 67. 448.9545 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

448.9545 (1) (a) To be eligible for renewal of a license issued under s. 448.953 (1) or (2), a licensee shall, during the 2-year each 2-year period within the 4-year period immediately preceding the renewal date specified determined under s. 440.08

(2) (a) and (ag), complete not less than 30 credit hours of continuing education in courses of study approved by the affiliated credentialing board.

SECTION 68. 448.9545 (1) (b) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

448.9545 **(1)** (b) (intro.) No more than 10 credit hours of the continuing education required in each 2-year period under par. (a) may be on any of the following subject areas or combination of subject areas:

Section 69. 448.955 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

448.955 (1) The renewal dates for licenses granted under this subchapter are specified shall be as determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag).

SECTION 70. 448.955 (2) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

448.955 (2) (a) Completed, during the 2-year each 2-year period within the 4-year period immediately preceding the renewal date specified in determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag), the continuing education requirements specified in s. 448.9545.

Section 71. 448.955 (3) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

448.955 (3) (a) A place for the licensee to describe his or her work history, including the average number of hours worked each week, for the 2-year 4-year period immediately preceding the renewal date specified in determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag).

Section 72. 448.956 (1) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:

448.956 (1) (c) A protocol established under par. (a) shall be updated no later than 30 days before the date specified in s. 440.08 (2) (a) 14f. on which a licensee's license is due for renewal.

Section 73. 448.967 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

448.967 (2) The renewal dates for licenses granted under this subchapter are specified shall be as determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag). Renewal applications shall be submitted to the department on a form provided by the department and shall include the renewal fee determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a) and a statement attesting compliance with the continuing education requirements established in rules promulgated under s. 448.965 (1) (b).

Section 74. 449.06 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

449.06 (1) Persons practicing optometry shall, on or before the applicable renewal date specified determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag), register with the department, pay the applicable renewal fee determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a), and provide evidence satisfactory to the examining board that he or she has complied with the rules promulgated under sub. (2m).

SECTION 75. 449.06 (2m) of the statutes is amended to read:

449.06 (2m) The examining board shall promulgate rules requiring a person who is issued a license to practice optometry to complete, during the 2-year each 2-year period within the 4-year period immediately preceding the person's renewal date specified in determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag), not less than 30 hours of continuing education. The rules shall include requirements that apply only to optometrists who are allowed to use topical ocular diagnostic pharmaceutical agents under s. 449.17 or who are allowed to use therapeutic pharmaceutical agents or remove foreign bodies from an eye or from an appendage to the eye under s. 449.18.

Section 76. 450.08 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

450.08 (1) The renewal date for all licenses granted by the board is specified shall be as determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag). Except as provided under sub. (2) (a), only a holder of an unexpired license may engage in his or her licensed activity.

Section 77. 450.08 (2) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

450.08 (2) (a) A pharmacist's license may be renewed by complying with continuing education requirements under s. 450.085 and paying the applicable fee determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a) on or before the applicable renewal date specified determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag). Notwithstanding s. 440.08 (3) (a), if a pharmacist fails to obtain renewal by that date, the board may suspend the pharmacist's license, and the board may require the pharmacist to pass an examination to the satisfaction of the board to restore that license.

Section 78. 450.08 (2) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

450.08 **(2)** (b) A pharmacy, manufacturer's or distributor's license may be renewed by paying the applicable fee determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a) on or before the applicable renewal date specified determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag).

Section 79. 450.085 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

450.085 (1) An applicant for renewal of a license under s. 450.08 (2) (a) shall submit proof that he or she has completed, within the 2-year each 2-year period within the 4-year period immediately preceding the date of his or her application, 30 hours of continuing education in courses conducted by a provider that is approved by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education or in courses approved by the board. Courses specified in s. 450.035 (1r) and (2) are courses in continuing education for purposes of this subsection. This subsection does not apply to an applicant for renewal of a license that expires on the first renewal date after the date on which the board initially granted the license.

Section 80. 451.04 (4) of the statutes is amended to read:

451.04 (4) Expiration and renewal. Renewal applications shall be submitted to the department on a form provided by the department on or before the applicable renewal date specified determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag) and shall include the applicable renewal fee determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a).

Section 81. 452.025 (5) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

452.025 (5) (a) The renewal date for certificates of registration granted by the board under this section is specified shall be as determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag).

Section 82. 452.025 (5) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

452.025 (5) (b) An application to renew a certificate of registration granted under this section shall, on or before the applicable renewal date specified determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag), be submitted with the applicable renewal fee determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a) and a completed copy of the form under s. 452.05 (1) (i).

Section 83. 452.10 (2) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

452.10 (2) (a) Each new application for a broker's or salesperson's license shall be for the remainder of the biennial license period of licensure as determined under s. 440.08 (2).

Section 84. 452.12 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

452.12 (1) Expiration. A license granted by the board entitles the holder to act as a broker or salesperson, as the case may be, until the applicable renewal date specified determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag).

Section 85. 454.06 (8) of the statutes is amended to read:

454.06 (8) EXPIRATION AND RENEWAL. The renewal date for licenses issued under subs. (2) to (6) is specified shall be as determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag), and

the renewal fees for such licenses are determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a).

Section 86. 454.08 (9) of the statutes is amended to read:

454.08 **(9)** The renewal date for licenses issued under this section is specified shall be as determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag), and the renewal fee for such licenses is determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a).

Section 87. 454.23 (5) of the statutes is amended to read:

454.23 **(5)** EXPIRATION AND RENEWAL. The renewal dates for licenses granted under subs. (2) and (3) are specified shall be as determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag), and the renewal fees for those licenses are determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a).

Section 88. 454.25 (9) of the statutes is amended to read:

454.25 **(9)** The renewal date for a barbering establishment license is specified shall be as determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag), and the renewal fee for a barbering establishment license is determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a).

SECTION 89. 455.06 of the statutes is amended to read:

455.06 Renewals. The renewal date for licenses issued under s. 455.04 (1) and (4) is specified shall be as determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag), and the renewal fee for such licenses is determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a). An applicant for renewal of a license shall include with his or her application proof of completion of continuing education programs or courses approved under s. 455.065 (4) for the minimum number of hours required in the rules promulgated under s. 455.065 (1).

Section 90. 456.07 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

456.07 (1) Every individual who holds a license as a nursing home administrator issued by the department shall biennially apply to the examining board every 4 years for a new certificate of registration and report any facts requested by the examining board on forms provided for such purpose.

Section 91. 456.07 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

456.07 (2) The application for a new certificate of registration shall include the applicable renewal fee determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a) and evidence satisfactory to the examining board that during the biennial period immediately preceding application for registration the applicant has attended a continuing education program or course of study. During the time between initial licensure and commencement of a full —2—year licensure period new licensees shall not be required to meet continuing education requirements. All registration fees are payable on or before the applicable renewal date specified determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag).

Section 92. 457.20 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

457.20 (2) The renewal dates for certificates and licenses granted under this chapter, other than training certificates and licenses or temporary certificates or licenses, are specified shall be as determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag).

Section 93. 457.22 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

457.22 (2) The rules promulgated under sub. (1) may not require an individual to complete more than 30 <u>60</u> hours of continuing education programs or courses of study in order to qualify for renewal. The appropriate section of the examining board may waive all or part of the requirements established in rules promulgated under this section if it determines that prolonged illness, disability, or other exceptional circumstances have prevented the individual from completing the requirements.

Section 94. 458.09 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

458.09 (3) The number of hours of attendance at and completion of continuing education programs or courses of study required under the rules promulgated under s. 458.085 (3) shall be reduced by one hour for each hour of attendance at and completion of, within the -2–4 years immediately preceding the date on which the renewal application is submitted, continuing education programs or courses of study that the applicant has attended and completed in order to continue to qualify for employment as an assessor and that the department determines is substantially equivalent to attendance at and completion of continuing education programs or courses of study for certified general appraisers, certified residential appraisers or licensed appraisers, as appropriate.

Section 95. 458.11 of the statutes is amended to read:

458.11 Expiration and renewal. Renewal applications shall be submitted to the department on a form provided by the department on or before the applicable renewal date specified determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag) and shall include the applicable renewal fee determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a). Renewal of an appraiser certificate automatically renews the individual's appraiser license without payment of the renewal fee for the appraiser license or completion of any additional continuing education requirements that would otherwise be required for renewal of the appraiser license. Renewal applications shall be accompanied by proof of completion of the continuing education requirements in s. 458.13. Notwithstanding s. 458.06 (3) (b) 2. and (4) (b) 2., 1989 stats., and s. 458.08 (3) (b) 2. and (c) 2., 1991 stats., the department may not renew a certificate that was granted under s. 458.06 (3) or (4) before May 29, 1993, unless the holder of the certificate submits evidence satisfactory to the department that he or she has

successfully completed the applicable educational requirements specified in rules promulgated under s. 458.085 (1) and the department may not renew a certificate that was granted under s. 458.08 (3) before May 29, 1993, unless the holder of the certificate submits evidence satisfactory to the department that he or she has successfully completed the applicable education and experience requirements specified in rules promulgated under s. 458.085 (1) and (2).

Section 96. 458.13 of the statutes is amended to read:

458.13 Continuing education requirements. At the time of renewal of a certificate issued under this chapter, each applicant shall submit proof that, within the $\frac{1}{2}$ 4 years immediately preceding the date on which the renewal application is submitted, he or she has satisfied the continuing education requirements specified in the rules promulgated under s. 458.085 (3).

SECTION 97. 459.09 (1) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

459.09 (1) (intro.) Each person issued a license under this subchapter shall, on or before the applicable renewal date specified determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag), do all of the following:

Section 98. 459.09 (1) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

459.09 (1) (b) Submit with the renewal application proof that he or she completed, within the 2 years each 2-year period within the 4-year period immediately preceding the date of his or her application, 20 hours of continuing education programs or courses of study approved or required under rules promulgated under s. 459.095. This paragraph does not apply to an applicant for renewal of a license that expires on the first renewal date after the date on which the examining board initially granted the license.

Section 99. 459.24 (5) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

459.24 (5) EXPIRATION AND RENEWAL. (intro.) The renewal dates for licenses granted under this subchapter, other than temporary licenses granted under sub. (6), are specified shall be as determined under in s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag). Renewal applications shall be submitted to the department on a form provided by the department and shall include all of the following:

Section 100. 459.24 (5) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

459.24 **(5)** (b) Proof that the applicant completed, within the 2 years each 2-year period within the 4-year period immediately preceding the date of his or her application, 20 hours of continuing education programs or courses of study approved or required under rules promulgated under sub. (5m). This paragraph does not apply to an applicant for renewal of a license that expires on the first renewal date after the date on which the examining board initially granted the license.

Section 101. 460.07 (2) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

460.07 (2) (intro.) Renewal applications shall be submitted to the department on a form provided by the department on or before the applicable renewal date specified determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag) and shall include all of the following:

Section 102. 460.10 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

460.10 (1) (a) Requirements and procedures for a license holder to complete continuing education programs or courses of study to qualify for renewal of his or her license. The rules promulgated under this paragraph may not require a license holder to complete more than 24 48 hours of continuing education programs or courses of study in order to qualify for renewal of his or her license.

Section 103. 462.05 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

462.05 (1) The renewal date for licenses and limited X-ray machine operator permits granted under this chapter is specified in shall be as determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag). Renewal applications shall be submitted to the department on a form provided by the department and shall include the renewal fee determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a).

Section 104. 470.045 (3) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

470.045 (3) (b) The renewal date for certificates of authorization under this section is specified shall be as determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag), and the renewal fee for such certificates is determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a).

Section 105. 470.07 of the statutes is amended to read:

470.07 Renewal of licenses. The renewal dates for licenses granted under this chapter are specified shall be as determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag). Renewal applications shall be submitted to the department on a form provided by the department and shall include the renewal fee determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a) and evidence satisfactory to the appropriate section of the examining board that the applicant has completed any continuing education requirements specified in rules promulgated under s. 470.03 (2).

Section 106. 480.08 (5) of the statutes is amended to read:

480.08 (5) EXPIRATION AND RENEWAL. The renewal date for certificates granted under this chapter, other than temporary certificates granted under sub. (7), is specified shall be as determined under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (ag), and the renewal fee for certificates granted under this chapter, other than temporary certificates granted under sub. (7), is determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a). Renewal applications shall include evidence satisfactory to the department that the applicant

holds a current permit issued under s. 77.52 (9). A renewal application for an auctioneer certificate shall be accompanied by proof of completion of continuing education requirements under sub. (6).

Section 9438. Effective dates; Safety and Professional Services.

- (1) Change from 2-year to 4-year periods for credentials.
- (a) Credentials generally. The repeal of section 440.992 (6) of the statutes; the renumbering and amendment of sections 440.08 (2) (a) 1. to 46w., 440.08 (2) (a) 48. to 69., 440.08 (2) (a) 72., 446.025 (3) (a), and 446.026 (3) (a) of the statutes; the amendment of sections 440.03 (14) (c), 440.032 (5), 440.08 (2) (a) (intro.) (by Section 3), 440.08 (2) (b), 440.26 (3), 440.26 (5m) (b), 440.313 (1), 440.63 (2), 440.71 (3), 440.88 (4), 440.905 (2), 440.91 (1) (c) 1., 440.91 (1m) (c), 440.91 (4), 440.92 (1) (c), 440.966 (1), 440.972 (2), 440.98 (6), 440.983 (1), 440.9935, 441.06 (3), 441.10 (3) (b), 441.15 (3) (b), 442.083, 443.07 (6), 443.08 (3) (b), 443.10 (2) (e), 443.10 (5), 445.06, 445.105 (3), 446.02 (1) (b), 446.02 (4), 446.025 (3) (b), 446.026 (3) (b), 447.05, 447.055 (1) (a), 447.055 (1) (b) 1., 447.055 (1) (b) 2., 447.055 (1) (c), 447.056 (1) (intro.), 447.056 (3), 448.07 (1) (a), 448.13 (1) (a) (intro.), 448.13 (1) (a) 1., 448.13 (1) (a) 2., 448.13 (1m), 448.13 (2), 448.13 (3), 448.55 (2), 448.65 (2) (intro.), 448.665, 448.86 (2), 448.9545 (1) (a), 448.9545 (1) (b) (intro.), 448.955 (1), 448.955 (2) (a), 448.955 (3) (a), 448.956 (1) (c), 448.967 (2), 449.06 (1), 449.06 (2m), 450.08 (1), 450.08 (2) (a), 450.08 (2) (b), 450.085 (1), 451.04 (4), 452.025 (5) (a), 452.025 (5) (b), 452.10 (2) (a), 452.12 (1), 454.06 (8), 454.08 (9), 454.23 (5), 454.25 (9), 455.06, 456.07 (1), 456.07 (2), 457.20 (2), 457.22 (2), 458.09 (3), 458.11, 458.13, 459.09 (1) (intro.), 459.09 (1) (b), 459.24 (5) (intro.), 459.24 (5) (b), 460.07 (2) (intro.), 460.10 (1) (a), 462.05 (1), 470.045 (3) (b), 470.07, and 480.08 (5) of the statutes; the repeal and recreation of section 448.13 (title) of the statutes; and the creation of sections 440.08 (2) (a) 1n., 2n., 3n., 4n., and

SECTION 9438

5n., 440.08 (2) (ag) (intro.), 440.08 (2) (ar), 446.025 (3) (a) 2., and 446.026 (3) (a) 2. of the statutes take effect on July 1, 2016.

(b) *Mobile dentistry*. The treatment of sections 440.08 (2) (a) 46y. and 447.058 (2) (b) of the statutes takes effect on July 1, 2016, or on the 1st day of the 3rd month beginning after the legislative reference bureau receives the notice under Section 15 (1) of 2013 Wisconsin Act 244, whichever is later.

(END)