

State of Misconsin 2015 - 2016 LEGISLATURE

LRB-0552/P1 EHS:kjf:jf

DOA:.....Byrnes, BB0199 – State park sticker fees

FOR 2015-2017 BUDGET -- NOT READY FOR INTRODUCTION

AN ACT to amend 27.01 (7) (f) 1., 27.01 (7) (g) 1., 27.01 (7) (gm) 1. and 27.01 (7)

(gm) 3. of the statutes; **relating to:** the budget.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau NATURAL RESOURCES

RECREATION

Current law requires that any vehicle entering any state park or certain other properties under the jurisdiction of DNR display a vehicle admission receipt (sticker). For a motor vehicle, the driver may be issued an annual or a daily sticker upon payment of a fee. Generally, under current law, the fee for an annual sticker is \$24.50 for a Wisconsin vehicle and \$34.50 for an out-of-state vehicle. If the person who owns a Wisconsin vehicle is a resident senior citizen, the fee for an annual sticker is \$9.50. If the person applying for an annual sticker or a member of his or her household owns a vehicle for which a current annual sticker has been issued, the fee is \$12 for a Wisconsin vehicle and \$17 for an out-of-state vehicle. This bill increases each of these fees by \$3.

For further information see the *state* fiscal estimate, which will be printed as an appendix to this bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

EHS:kjf:jf SECTION 1

- 2 -

27.01 (7) (f) 1. Except as provided in par. (gm), the fee for an annual vehicle admission receipt is \$24.50 \$27.50 for each vehicle that has Wisconsin registration plates, except that no fee is charged for a receipt issued under s. 29.235 (6).

SECTION 2. 27.01 (7) (g) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:

27.01 (7) (g) 1. Except as provided in par. (gm), the fee for an annual vehicle admission receipt is \$34.50 \$37.50 for any vehicle that has a registration plate or plates from another state, except that no fee is charged for a receipt issued under s. 29.235 (6).

SECTION 3. 27.01 (7) (gm) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:

27.01 (7) (gm) 1. Instead of the fees under pars. (f) 1. and (g) 1., the department shall charge an individual \$12 \$15 or \$17 \$20, respectively, for an annual vehicle admission receipt if the individual applying for the receipt or a member of his or her household owns a vehicle for which a current annual vehicle admission receipt has been issued for the applicable fee under par. (f) 1. or (g) 1.

SECTION 4. 27.01 (7) (gm) 3. of the statutes is amended to read:

27.01 (7) (gm) 3. Notwithstanding par. (f) 1., the fee for an annual vehicle admission receipt for a vehicle that has Wisconsin registration plates and that is owned by a resident senior citizen, as defined in s. 29.001(72), is \$9.50 \$12.50.

(END)