

State of Misconsin 2017 - 2018 LEGISLATURE

LRB-0406/P1 EHS:jld

DOA:.....Frederick, BB0041 - Maximum age at which a minor subject to a criminal penalty may be placed in a juvenile correctional facility or secured residential care center for children and youth

FOR 2017-2019 BUDGET -- NOT READY FOR INTRODUCTION

AN ACT ...; relating to: the budget.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau CORRECTIONAL SYSTEM

JUVENILE CORRECTIONAL SYSTEM

This bill increases from 16 to 18 the age under which a person who is sentenced to the Wisconsin state prisons must be placed at a juvenile correctional facility or a secured residential care center for children and youth, unless DOC determines based on various factors that placement in a state prison, other than the Wisconsin Secure Program Facility, is appropriate.

For further information see the *state and local* fiscal estimate, which will be printed as an appendix to this bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

Section 1. 973.013 (3m) of the statutes is amended to read:

973.013 (3m) If a person who has not attained the age of 16 18 years is sentenced to the Wisconsin state prisons, the department shall place the person at

- 2 -

SECTION 1

a juvenile correctional facility or a secured residential care center for children and youth, unless the department determines that placement in an institution under s. 302.01 is appropriate based on the person's prior record of adjustment in a correctional setting, if any; the person's present and potential vocational and educational needs, interests and abilities; the adequacy and suitability of available facilities; the services and procedures available for treatment of the person within the various institutions; the protection of the public; and any other considerations promulgated by the department by rule. The department may not place any person under the age of 18 years in the correctional institution authorized in s. 301.16 (1n). This subsection does not preclude the department from designating an adult correctional institution, other than the correctional institution authorized in s. 301.16 (1n), as a reception center for the person and subsequently transferring the person to a juvenile correctional facility or a secured residential care center for children and youth. Section 302.11 and ch. 304 apply to all persons placed in a juvenile correctional facility or a secured residential care center for children and youth under this subsection.

(END)