

State of Misconsin 2017 - 2018 LEGISLATURE

LRB-0407/P3 EHS:amn

DOA:.....Peak, BB0042 - Juvenile correctional facility daily rates

FOR 2017-2019 BUDGET -- NOT READY FOR INTRODUCTION

AN ACT ...; relating to: the budget.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau CORRECTIONAL SYSTEM

JUVENILE CORRECTIONAL SYSTEM

This bill changes the amounts that DOC charges, or that DCF deducts from allocations, to counties for the costs of certain juvenile correctional services DOC provides according to per person daily cost assessments (daily rates). Under current law relating to community youth and family aids, generally referred to as "youth aids," counties pay these daily rates out of various state and federal moneys that DCF is required to allocate to counties to pay for state-provided juvenile correctional services and local delinquency-related and juvenile justice services. The bill establishes the following daily rates:

- 1. For fiscal year 2017–18, the daily rate is \$344 for care in a Type 1 juvenile correctional facility, and \$344 for care for juveniles transferred from a juvenile correctional institution.
- 2. For fiscal year 2018–19, the daily rate is \$352 for care in a Type 1 juvenile correctional facility, and \$352 for care for juveniles transferred from a juvenile correctional institution.

Currently, the daily rate is \$292 for care in a Type 1 juvenile correctional facility, \$292 for care for juveniles transferred from a juvenile correctional institution, \$152 for corrective sanctions services, and \$48 for DOC aftercare services. The 2015–17 biennial budget act, 2015 Wisconsin Act 55, eliminated

aftercare supervision provided by DOC and the corrective sanctions program, as of July 1, 2017, or the 2nd day after the publication of the 2017–19 biennial budget act (this bill), whichever is later.

For further information see the *state and local* fiscal estimate, which will be printed as an appendix to this bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. 301.26 (4) (d) 2. of the statutes, as affected by 2015 Wisconsin Act 55, section 4270, is repealed and recreated to read:

301.26 (4) (d) 2. Beginning on July 1, 2017, and ending on June 30, 2018, the per person daily cost assessment to counties shall be \$344 for care in a Type 1 juvenile correctional facility, as defined in s. 938.02 (19), and \$344 for care for juveniles transferred from a juvenile correctional institution under s. 51.35 (3).

SECTION 2. 301.26 (4) (d) 3. of the statutes, as affected by 2015 Wisconsin Act 55, section 4272, is repealed and recreated to read:

301.26 (4) (d) 3. Beginning on July 1, 2018, and ending on June 30, 2019, the per person daily cost assessment to counties shall be \$352 for care in a Type 1 juvenile correctional facility, as defined in s. 938.02 (19), and \$352 for care for juveniles transferred from a juvenile correctional institution under s. 51.35 (3).

Section 9408. Effective dates; Corrections.

(1) JUVENILE CORRECTIONAL SERVICES DAILY RATES. The treatment of section 301.26 (4) (d) 2. and 3. of the statutes takes effect on July 1, 2017, or on the 2nd day after publication, whichever is later.

(END)