

State of Misconsin 2017 - 2018 LEGISLATURE

LRB-1650/P1 ZDW:kjf

DOA:.....Frederick, BB0310 - Rates for high demand parks; recreational passport program

FOR 2017-2019 BUDGET -- NOT READY FOR INTRODUCTION

AN ACT ...; relating to: the budget.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau NATURAL RESOURCES

RECREATION

This bill modifies the range of fees that DNR may charge for vehicle admission receipts and overnight camping and requires DNR and DOT to develop a plan to provide a recreational passport to individuals registering a vehicle in this state.

Current law specifies the fees for vehicle admission receipts, which authorize the operation of a vehicle in certain recreational areas and in state parks. This bill establishes a range of fees that DNR may charge for a vehicle admission receipt, authorizing DNR to charge up to \$10 more for an annual receipt than the fee under current law, and up to \$5 more for a daily receipt.

Current law specifies that DNR may charge not more \$20 to a state resident and not more than \$25 to a nonresident for each night of overnight camping in a state campground. This bill increases the maximum fees to \$30 for a resident and \$35 for a nonresident.

This bill also requires DNR and DOT to jointly develop a plan to authorize the purchase of a recreational passport when an individual initiates or renews his or her annual vehicle registration. This bill requires the departments to evaluate the option of the creation of the recreational passport as a special license plate registration sticker that shows both the vehicle registration expiration year and an indicator that the sticker is also a recreational passport.

For further information see the *state* fiscal estimate, which will be printed as an appendix to this bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. 27.01 (7) (f) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:

27.01 (7) (f) 1. Except as provided in par. (gm), the <u>department shall charge a</u> fee for an annual vehicle admission receipt is <u>of not less than</u> \$27.50 <u>but not more</u> <u>than \$37.50</u>, <u>as determined by the secretary</u>, for each vehicle that has Wisconsin registration plates, except that no fee is <u>charged the department may not charge a</u> <u>fee</u> for a receipt issued under s. 29.235 (6).

SECTION 2. 27.01 (7) (f) 2. of the statutes is amended to read:

27.01 (7) (f) 2. Except as provided in subds. 3. and 4. and par. (gm) 4., the <u>department shall charge a</u> fee for a daily vehicle admission receipt is <u>of not less than</u> \$7.85 <u>but not more than \$12.85</u>, as determined by the secretary, for any vehicle which <u>that</u> has Wisconsin registration plates.

SECTION 3. 27.01 (7) (f) 3. of the statutes is amended to read:

27.01 (7) (f) 3. Subject to par. (gm) 5., the <u>department shall charge a</u> fee for a daily vehicle admission receipt <u>of not less than \$10.85 but not more than \$15.85, as</u> <u>determined by the secretary</u>, for a motor bus that has Wisconsin registration plates is \$10.85.

SECTION 4. 27.01 (7) (f) 4. of the statutes is amended to read:

27.01 (7) (f) 4. Notwithstanding subd. 3. and subject to par. (gm) 5., the <u>department shall charge a</u> fee for a daily vehicle admission receipt <u>of not less than</u> <u>\$3.35 but not more than \$8.35, as determined by the secretary</u>, for a motor bus which

<u>that has Wisconsin registration plates and</u> primarily transports residents from nursing homes located in this state is \$3.35, for any motor bus which has Wisconsin registration plates.

SECTION 5. 27.01 (7) (g) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:

27.01 (7) (g) 1. Except as provided in par. (gm), the <u>department shall charge a</u> fee for an annual vehicle admission receipt is <u>of not less than</u> \$37.50 <u>but not more</u> <u>than \$47.50</u>, as determined by the secretary, for any vehicle that has a registration plate or plates from another state, except that no fee is charged the department may <u>not charge a fee</u> for a receipt issued under s. 29.235 (6).

SECTION 6. 27.01 (7) (g) 2. of the statutes is amended to read:

27.01 (7) (g) 2. Except as provided in subds. 3. and 4., the <u>department shall</u> <u>charge a</u> fee for a daily vehicle admission receipt <u>of not less than \$10.85 but not more</u> <u>than \$15.85, as determined by the secretary</u>, for any vehicle that has a registration plate or plates from another state is \$10.85.

SECTION 7. 27.01 (7) (g) 3. of the statutes is amended to read:

27.01 (7) (g) 3. Subject to par. (gm) 5., the <u>department shall charge a</u> fee for a daily vehicle admission receipt <u>of not less than \$14.85 but not more than \$19.85</u> for a motor bus that has a registration plate or plates from another state is \$14.85.

SECTION 8. 27.01 (7) (g) 4. of the statutes is amended to read:

27.01 (7) (g) 4. Notwithstanding subd. 3. and subject to par. (gm) 5., the <u>department shall charge a</u> fee for a daily vehicle admission receipt <u>of not less than</u> <u>\$5.85 but not more than \$10.85</u> for a motor bus which that has a registration plate <u>from another state and</u> primarily transports residents from nursing homes located in this state is \$5.85, for any motor bus which has a registration plate or plates from another state.

SECTION 9. 27.01 (10) (d) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:

27.01 (10) (d) 1. The department shall charge a camping fee of not less than \$15 but not more than 20 30, as determined by the secretary, for each night at a campsite in a state campground for a resident camping party, except as provided under par. (fm).

SECTION 10. 27.01 (10) (d) 2. of the statutes is amended to read:

27.01 (10) (d) 2. The department shall charge a camping fee of not less than \$19 but not more than \$25 <u>\$35</u>, as determined by the secretary, for each night at a campsite in a state campground for a nonresident camping party, except as provided under par. (fm).

SECTION 9133. Nonstatutory provisions; Natural Resources.

(1) RECREATIONAL PASSPORT. The department of natural resources and the department of transportation shall jointly develop a plan to authorize the purchase of a recreational passport when an individual initiates or renews his or her annual vehicle registration. In the plan, the departments shall provide in detail the costs of implementing the plan, a timeline for implementing the plan, and the estimated revenue to be collected when the plan is fully implemented. One option that the departments shall evaluate in the plan is the creation of the recreational passport as a special license plate registration sticker that shows both the vehicle registration expiration year and an indicator that the sticker is also a recreational passport. The departments shall complete the plan in time for the plan to be included in the department of natural resources' 2019-21 biennial budget request.

SECTION 9333. Initial applicability; Natural Resources.

(1) CAMPING FEES. The treatment of section 27.01 (10) (d) 1. and 2. of the statutes first applies to campsite reservations made on January 1, 2018.

SECTION 9433. Effective dates; Natural Resources.

(1) VEHICLE ADMISSION RECEIPTS. The treatment of section 27.01 (7) (f) 1., 2., 3., and 4. and (g) 1., 2., 3., and 4. of the statutes takes effect on January 1, 2018.

(2) CAMPING FEES. The treatment of section 27.01 (10) (d) 1. and 2. of the statutes takes effect on January 1, 2018.

(END)