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TAXATION
INCOME TAXATION

Homestead tax credit

Under current law, the homestead tax credit is a refundable income tax credit
that may be claimed by homeowners and renters. The credit is based on the
claimant’s household income and the amount of property taxes or rent constituting
property taxes on his or her Wisconsin homestead. Because the credit is refundable,
if the credit exceeds the claimant’s income tax liability, he or she receives the excess
as a refund check. Under current law, there are three key dollar amounts used when
calculating the credit:

1. If household income is $8,060 or less, the credit is 80 percent of the property
taxes or rent constituting property taxes. If household income exceeds $8,060, the
property taxes or rent constituting property taxes are reduced by 8.785 percent of the
household income exceeding $8,060, and the credit is 80 percent of the reduced
property taxes or rent constituting property taxes.

2. The credit may not be claimed if household income exceeds $24,680.

3. The maximum property taxes or rent constituting property taxes used to
calculate the credit is $1,460.

Beginning with claims filed in 2021, this bill reduces the percentage used for
household income over $8,060 from 8.785 to 6.655 percent and increases the
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maximum income amount from $24,680 to $30,000. The bill also indexes the $8,060,
$30,000, and $1,460 amounts for inflation, beginning in 2023.

For further information see the state fiscal estimate, which will be printed as
an appendix to this bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:

SECTION 1. 71.54 (1) (g) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

71.54 (1) (g) 2012 and-thereafter to 2020. (intro.) The amount of any claim filed
in 2012 and thereafter to 2020 and based on property taxes accrued or rent
constituting property taxes accrued during the previous year is limited as follows:

SECTION 2. 71.54 (1) (g) 4. of the statutes is amended to read:

71.54 (1) (g) 4. Except-as provided-in-subds. 5.-and 7. for For claims filed in 2018
and thereafter and based on property taxes accrued or rent constituting property

taxes accrued during the previous year, no credit may be allowed under this

paragraph if the claimant has no earned income in the taxable year to which the

claim relates unless the claimant is disabled and provides the proof required under

subd. 6. or the claimant or the claimant’s spouse is over the age of 61 at the close of
the year to which the claim relates.

SECTION 3. 71.54 (1) (g) 5. of the statutes is repealed.

SECTION 4. 71.54 (1) (g) 6. (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

71.54 (1) (g) 6. (intro.) With regard to-a claimant who-is-disabled; the A claimant
who is disabled shall provide with his or her return proof that his or her disability

is in effect for the taxable year to which the claim relates. Proof of disability may be
demonstrated by any of the following:
SECTION 5. 71.54 (1) (g) 7. of the statutes is repealed.

SECTION 6. 71.54 (1) (h) of the statutes is created to read:
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SECTION 6

71.54 (1) (h) 2021 and thereafter. Subject to sub. (2m), the amount of any claim
filed in 2021 and thereafter and based on property taxes accrued or rent constituting
property taxes accrued during the previous year is limited as follows:

1. If the household income was $8,060 or less in the year to which the claim
relates, the claim is limited to 80 percent of the property taxes accrued or rent
constituting property taxes accrued or both in that year on the claimant’s homestead.

2. If the household income was more than $8,060 in the year to which the claim
relates, the claim is limited to 80 percent of the amount by which the property taxes
accrued or rent constituting property taxes accrued or both in that year on the
claimant’s homestead exceeds 6.655 percent of the household income exceeding
$8,060.

3. No credit may be allowed if the household income exceeds $30,000.

4. Notwithstanding the time limitations described in par. (g) (intro.), the
provisions of par. (g) 4. apply to claims filed under this paragraph.

SECTION 7. 71.54 (2) (b) 4. of the statutes is amended to read:

71.54 (2) (b) 4. In calendar years 2011 or-any subsequent-calendar year to 2022,
$1,460.

SECTION 8. 71.54 (2) (b) 5. of the statutes is created to read:

71.54 (2) (b) 5. Subject to sub. (2m), in calendar year 2023 or any subsequent
calendar year, $1,460.

SECTION 9. 71.54 (2m) of the statutes is amended to read:

71.54 (2m) INDEXING FOR INFLATION; 2016 2023 AND THEREAFTER. (a) For calendar
years beginning after December 31, 2009;-and before January 1, 2011 2022, the dollar
amounts of the threshold income under sub. (1) &) (h) 1. and 2., the maximum

household income under sub. (1) &) (h) 3., and the maximum property taxes under
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SECTION 9

sub. (2) (b) 3: 5. shall be increased each year by a percentage equal to the percentage
change between the U.S. consumer price index for all urban consumers, U.S. city
average, for the 12-month average of the U.S. consumer price index for the month
of August of the year before the previous year through the month of July of the
previous year and the U.S. consumer price index for all urban consumers, U.S. city
average, for the 12-month average of the U.S. consumer price index for August 2007
2020 through July 2008 2021, as determined by the federal department of labor,
except that the adjustment may occur only if the percentage is a positive number.
Each amount that is revised under this paragraph shall be rounded to the nearest
multiple of $10 if the revised amount is not a multiple of $10 or, if the revised amount
is a multiple of $5, such an amount shall be increased to the next higher multiple of
$10. The department of revenue shall annually adjust the changes in dollar amounts
required under this paragraph and incorporate the changes into the income tax
forms and instructions.

(b) The department of revenue shall annually adjust the slope under sub. (1)
@ (h) 2. such so that, as a claimant’s income increases from the threshold income as
caleculated adjusted under par. (a); to an amount that exceeds the maximum
household income as ealeulated adjusted under par. (a), the credit that may be
claimed is reduced to $0, and the department of revenue shall incorporate the
changes into the income tax forms and instructions.

SEcTION 9337. Initial applicability; Revenue.

(1) HoMESTEAD TAX CREDIT. The treatment of s. 71.54 (1) (h) first applies to
claims filed for taxable years beginning after December 31, 2020.

(END)



