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Nonresident tuition exemption for undocumented individuals

This bill creates a nonresident tuition exemption for certain technical college
and UW System students. Current law allows the Board of Regents of the UW
System to charge different tuition rates to resident and nonresident students.
Current law also includes nonresident tuition exemptions, under which certain
nonresident students pay resident tuition rates. This bill creates an additional
exemption for an individual who is not a citizen of the United States and who: 1)
graduated from a Wisconsin high school or received a declaration of equivalency of
high school graduation from Wisconsin; 2) was continuously present in Wisconsin
for at least three years following the first day of attending a Wisconsin high school
or immediately preceding receipt of a declaration of equivalency of high school
graduation; and 3) enrolls in a UW System institution and provides the institution
with proof stating that he or she has filed or will file an application for lawful
permanent resident status with the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services as
soon as the individual is eligible to do so.

The bill also provides that an individual described above is considered a
resident of this state for purposes of admission to and payment of fees at a technical
college.

For further information see the state and local fiscal estimate, which will be
printed as an appendix to this bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:

SECTION 1. 36.27 (2) (cr) of the statutes is created to read:
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36.27 (2) (cr) A person who is not a citizen of the United States is entitled to
the exemption under par. (a) if that person meets all of the following requirements:

1. The person graduated from a high school in this state or received a
declaration of equivalency of high school graduation from this state.

2. The person was continuously present in this state for at least 3 years
following the first day of attending a high school in this state or immediately
preceding receipt of a declaration of equivalency of high school graduation.

3. The person enrolls in an institution and provides that institution with proof
that the person has filed or will file an application for lawful permanent resident
status with the U.S. citizenship and immigration services as soon as the person is
eligible to do so.

SECTION 2. 38.22 (6) (e) of the statutes is created to read:

38.22 (6) (e) Any person who is not a citizen of the United States if that person
meets all of the following requirements:

1. The person graduated from a high school in this state or received a
declaration of equivalency of high school graduation from this state.

2. The person was continuously present in this state for at least 3 years
following the first day of attending a high school in this state or immediately
preceding receipt of a declaration of equivalency of high school graduation.

3. The person enrolls in a district school and provides the district board with
proof that the person has filed or will file an application for lawful permanent
resident status with the U.S. citizenship and immigration services as soon as the

person is eligible to do so.
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SECTION 9342. Initial applicability; Technical College System.

(1) NONRESIDENT TUITION EXEMPTION FOR CERTAIN UNDOCUMENTED
INDIVIDUALS. The treatment of s. 38.22 (6) (e) first applies to persons who enroll for
the semester or session following the effective date of this subsection.

SECTION 9347. Initial applicability; University of Wisconsin System.

(1) NONRESIDENT TUITION EXEMPTION FOR CERTAIN UNDOCUMENTED
INDIVIDUALS. The treatment of s. 36.27 (2) (cr) first applies to persons who enroll

for the semester or session following the effective date of this subsection.

(END)



