ORDER OF THE STATE OF WISCONSIN NATURAL RESOURCES BOARD AMENDING, REPEALING AND RECREATING RULES AND CREATING

The Wisconsin Natural Resources Board proposes an order to amend NR 10.01(1)(v), repeal and recreate NR 10.01(1)(b), (g)1.a. to k. and n., (g)2.a. to k., (g)3.a. to k., (u)1., and (u)2. and create NR 10.01(1)(d) relating to the 2001 migratory game bird season.

WM-23-01

Analysis Prepared by Department of Natural Resources

Statutory authority: ss. 29.014, 29.041, 29.197 and 227.11(2)(a), Stats.

Statutes interpreted: ss. 29.014, 29.041 and 29.197, Stats.

The proposed rules establish the regulations for the 2001 migratory game bird season. The significant regulations are:

Section 1. Ducks. The state is divided into two zones each with 60-day seasons. This year the northern and southern duck zone seasons will run concurrent. The season begins at noon September 29 and continues for 60 days, closing November 27. The daily bag limit is 6 ducks including no more than: 4 mallards, of which only one may be a hen, one black duck, one pintail, 2 wood ducks, 2 redheads and 3 scaup. Shooting of canvasbacks is prohibited from Sept. 29-Oct. 19 and Nov. 9-Nov. 27.

Canada Geese. The state is apportioned into 3 goose hunting zones: Horicon, Collins and Exterior. Other special goose management subzones within the Exterior Zone include Brown County, Burnett County, Rock Prairie and the Mississippi River. Season lengths are: Collins Zone - 66 days; Horicon Zone - 94 days; Exterior Zone - 70 days; and Mississippi River Subzone - 70 days. The Burnett County subzone is closed to Canada goose hunting.

Youth Waterfowl Hunt. The daily bag limit for Canada geese during the two day youth waterfowl hunt is created.

Section 2. This section creates a canvasback season starting Oct. 20 and continuing 20 days to Nov. 8. The daily bag limit is 1 and this duck shall be counted as part of the 6 duck daily bag limit.

Section 3. This section creates a daily bag limit for canvasback during the two day youth waterfowl hunt.

SECTION 1. NR 10.01(1)(b), (g)1.a. to k. and n., (g)2.a. to k., (g)3.a. to k., (u) 1 and (u)2. are repealed and recreated to read:

		Open season (all dates		
Kind of Animal	Locality	inclusive)	Daily Bag Limit	Possession Limit
NR 10.01(1)(b) All species of wild duck	Entire state	As established by zone	As established by season and zone	Double the daily bag limit through the entire season, except opening day when it is the same as the daily bag limit.
	Southern zone as established in s. NR 10.32	Sept. 29 at 12:00 noon - Nov. 27	6 ducks to include not more than 4 mallards of which only one may be a hen mallard, one canvasback taken according to par. (d), one pintail, one black duck, 2 redheads, 2 wood ducks, and 3 scaup. In addition 5 mergansers to include not more than one hooded merganser.	
	Northern zone as established in s. NR 10.32	Sept. 29 at 12:00 noon - Nov. 27	6 ducks to include not more than 4 mallards of which only one may be a hen mallard, one canvasback taken according to par. (d), one pintail, one black duck, 2 redheads, 2 wood ducks, and 3 scaup. In addition 5 mergansers to include not more than one hooded merganser.	
NR 10.01(1)(g) Geese 1. Canada geese and its subspecies	a. All that part of the exterior zone lying within the northern zone established in s. NR 10.32 except for the subzone described in subd. 1.e.	Oct. 6 – Dec. 14	1	2
	c. Burnett county subzone	None	None	None
	e. Brown county subzone	Oct. 6 – Dec. 14	1	2

f. All that part of the exterior zone lying within the southern zone established in s. NR 10.32 except for the zones and subzones	Oct. 6 – Dec. 14	1	2
described in subpars. c. and g. to k.			
g. Horicon zone	Four permit periods:		The possession limit is equivalent to the number of carcass tags issued.
	Sept. 17 - Sept. 28 and Sept. 29 at 12:00 noon - Oct. 21	1	
	Oct. 1- Nov. 4	1	
	Oct. 13 - Nov. 16	1	
	Nov. 3 - Dec. 19	1	
h. Collins zone	Four permit periods:		The possession limit is equivalent to the number of carcass tags issued.
	Sept. 17 - Sept. 28 and Sept. 29 at 12:00 noon – Sept. 30	1	
	Oct. 1 - Oct. 14	1	
	Oct. 15 - Oct. 28	1	
	Oct. 29 - Nov. 16 and Nov. 26 - Nov. 30	1	
i. Rock Prairie subzone	Oct. 6 – Dec. 14	1	2
k. Mississippi river subzone	Oct. 13 – Dec. 21	1	2
n. Early goose hunt subzone A as established in s. NR 10.31(11)	September 15. Youth waterfowl hunting season as described under par. (v).	5	Double the daily bag limit.

	Early goose hunt subzone B as established in s. NR 10.31(11)	September 15. Youth waterfowl hunting season as described under par. (v).	3	Double the daily bag limit.
	Entire state	September 16. Youth waterfowl hunting season as described under par. (v).	1	Double the daily bag limit.
2. Snow or blue and Ross' geese	Entire state	As established by zone	10	20
	a. All that part of the exterior zone lying established in s. NR 10.32 except for the subzone described in subd. 1.e.	Oct. 6 – Dec. 14		
	c. Burnett county subzone	Oct. 6 – Dec. 14		
	e. Brown county subzone	Oct. 6 – Dec. 14		
	f. All that part of the exterior zone lying within the southern zone established in s. NR 10.32 except for the zones and subzones described in subpars. c. and g. to k.	Oct. 6 – Dec. 14		
	g. Horicon zone	Sept. 17 - Sept. 28 and Sept. 29 at 12:00 noon – Dec. 19		
	h. Collins zone	Sept. 17 - Sept. 28 and Sept. 29 at 12:00 noon - Nov. 16 and Nov. 26 - Nov. 30		
	i. Rock Prairie subzone	Oct. 6 – Dec. 14		
	k. Mississippi river subzone	Oct. 13 – Dec. 21		
3. All other geese and brant	Entire state	As established by zone	1 white-fronted goose and 1 brant	2 white-fronted geese and 2 brant
	b. All that part of the exterior zone lying	Oct. 6 – Dec. 14		

	within the northern zone established in s. NR 10.32 except for the subzone described in subd. 1.e.			
	c. Burnett county subzone	Oct. 6 – Dec. 14		
	e. Brown county subzone	Oct. 6 – Dec. 14		
	f. All that part of the exterior zone lying within the southern zone established in s. NR 10.32 except for the zones and subzones described in subpars. c. and g. to k.	Oct. 6 – Dec. 14		
	g. Horicon zone	Sept. 17 - Sept. 28 and Sept. 29 at 12:00 noon – Dec. 19		
	h. Collins zone	Sept. 17 - Sept. 28 and Sept. 29 at 12:00 noon - Nov. 16 and Nov. 26 - Nov. 30		
	i. Rock Prairie subzone	Oct. 6 – Dec. 14		
	k. Mississippi river subzone	Oct. 13 – Dec. 21		
NR 10.01(1)(u) 1. All species of wild ducks, mergansers and coots	North zone as established in s. NR 10.32	Sept. 15 - Sept. 16 and Sept. 29 at 12:00 noon - Nov. 27	3 in aggregate with those species listed under subd. 2	6 in aggregate with those species listed under subd. 2
		Jan. 25 - Mar. 10	3 in aggregate with those species listed under subd. 2	6 in aggregate with those species listed under subd. 2
	South zone as established in s. NR 10.32	Sept. 15 - Sept. 16 and Sept. 29 at 12:00 noon - Nov. 27 and Jan. 25 - Mar. 10	3 in aggregate with those species listed under subd. 2	6 in aggregate with those species listed under subd. 2
2. Gallinules, Sora rail, Virginia rail, common snipe, woodcock and mourning dove	Entire state	Sept. 1 - Dec. 16	3 in aggregate with those species listed under subd. 1	6 in aggregate with those species listed under subd. 1

Kind of Animal	Locality	Open season (all date inclusive)	es Daily Bag Limit	Possession Limit
NR 10.01(1)(d) Canvasback	Entire state	Oct. 20 – Nov. 8.	1	2

SECTION 3. NR 10.01(1)(v) is amended to read:

NR 10.01(1) (v) Special youth waterfowl hunt event. Persons 12 years of age or older but under 16 years of age who possess a certificate of accomplishment under s. 29.591, Stats., or its equivalent from another state or province, may hunt all species of wild-ducks, mergansers, geese, coots, and gallinules for 2 consecutive days starting on the 14th day before the opening of the regular duck season. Approvals under ch. 29, Stats., are not required pursuant to s. 29.197 (1), Stats., except for registration in the harvest information program under s. NR 10.12 (11) and a Canada goose hunting permit, if hunting Canada geese. Daily bag limits are those described under s. NR 10.01 (1) (b), (c), (d) and (g) and all other waterfowl hunting regulations apply. Hunters shall be accompanied by an adult 18 years of age or older. One adult may not accompany more than 2 hunters.

The foregoing rules were approved and adopted by the State of Wisconsin Natural Resources Board on August 15, 2001

The rules shall take effect on the first day of the month following publication in the Wisconsin administrative register as provided in s. 227.22(2)(intro.), Stats.

Dated at Madison, Wisconsin	
	STATE OF WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
(SEAL)	By Darrell Bazzell, Secretary