

1997 Assembly Joint Resolution 132

ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION

Relating to: celebrating the 50th anniversary of Israel.

Whereas, on April 30, 1998, the State of Israel will celebrate its 50th anniversary; and

Whereas, the achievement of nationhood was the culmination of decades of effort aimed at creating a state in the territory that, 2000 years ago, was the Land of Israel; and

Whereas, the State of Israel is a unique combination of a nation firmly rooted in a rich and varied religious and spiritual tradition and a modern, cosmopolitan country; and

Whereas, despite the volatility of the Middle East, Israel has made important strides in creating peaceful relations with its neighbors and in establishing stability in that region; and

Whereas, Israel is the only true democracy in the Middle East; and

Whereas, Israel has been a staunch ally and friend of the United States; and

Whereas, Israel's population has increased tenfold since its inception, its economy has flourished and it has produced an amazing number of eminent political leaders; and

Whereas, Israel has been a haven for Jewish refugees while ensuring religious freedom for all; and

Whereas, on the day after the State of Israel was founded, David Ben–Gurion correctly stated that "something unique occurred yesterday in Israel, and only future generations will be able to evaluate the full historical significance of the event"; and

Whereas, 50 years later it is clear that the full historical significance of the event is monumental; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the members of the Wisconsin legislature congratulate the citizens of Israel on their nation's 50th anniversary, commend them for their nation's achievements during those 5 decades and wish for them many centuries of peace and prosperity; and, be it further

Resolved, That the assembly chief clerk shall provide a copy of this joint resolution to Israel's ambassador to this country and to Israel's Prime Minister, Benjamin Netanyahu.

Senator Brian D. Rude President of the Senate

Representative Scott R. Jensen Speaker of the Assembly