

2007 Assembly Joint Resolution 97

ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION

Relating to: recognizing February 2008 as American Heart Month and February 1, 2008, as Wear Red For Women Day.

Whereas, diseases of the heart are the nation's leading cause of death and stroke is the third leading cause of death; and

Whereas, cardiovascular diseases claim the lives of over 460,000 American females (about one death per minute) each year and nearly 9,000 women in Wisconsin; and

Whereas, of the females who die each year, 53 percent die from cardiovascular disease as compared to 47 percent men, and about 32,500 more females than males die from a stroke; and

Whereas, in 2008 the estimated direct and indirect cost of cardiovascular diseases and stroke in the United States is estimated at \$448.5 billion; and

Whereas, more women die of cardiovascular disease than the next 5 leading causes of death combined, including all cancers; and

Whereas, only 21 percent of women consider cardiovascular disease their greatest health risk; and

Whereas, by increasing awareness and empowering women to reduce their risk for cardiovascular disease, we can save thousand of lives each year; and

Whereas, February is designated as American Heart Month; and

Whereas, Go Red For Women is the American Heart Association's national call to increase awareness of heart disease — the leading cause of death for women — and to inspire women to take charge of their heart health; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That in recognition of the importance of the ongoing fight against heart disease and stroke, the members of the Wisconsin legislature do hereby proclaim February 2008 to be American Heart Month and February 1, 2008, to be Wear Red

For Women Day and urge all citizens to show their support for women and the fight against heart disease by commemorating this day by the wearing of the color red.	
Senator Fred A. Risser President of the Senate	Representative Michael D. Huebsch Speaker of the Assembly
Date	Patrick E. Fuller Assembly Chief Clerk