

2007 Senate Joint Resolution 34

ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION

Relating to: congratulating the 2006–07 University of Wisconsin women's hockey team.

Whereas, the 2006–07 University of Wisconsin (UW) women's hockey team won its second consecutive NCAA Division I Women's Ice Hockey National Championship with a 4–1 win over the University of Minnesota–Duluth on March 18, 2007; and

Whereas, the UW women's hockey team finished its back–to–back championship season with a remarkable 36–1–4 record, finishing with a record–setting 26–game unbeaten streak; and

Whereas, the Badgers' championship win broke or tied six NCAA single-season team records: most wins (36), best winning percentage (.927), fewest losses (1), most home wins (19), fewest goals allowed per game (0.88), and lowest goals against average (0.85); and

Whereas, the Badger women's hockey team is the first UW program to repeat as NCAA champions since women's cross country won the title in 1984 and 1985; and

Whereas, Badger senior Sara Bauer, the WCHA Player of the Year and scoring champion for the second consecutive year, was named the tournament's Most Outstanding Player, with a total of five assists and one goal, in the Frozen Four; and

Whereas, UW Head Coach Mark Johnson was named by his peers as the ACHA Women's Division I Coach of the Year for 2006–07, for the second consecutive year, and has a career record of 147–28–14 (.815) in five seasons as head coach of the Badgers, ranking him first among active NCAA Division I women's head coaches; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That the members of the Wisconsin legislature commend and congratulate the UW women's hockey team for its hard work and great

achievement in winning the 2006–07 NCAA Division I Women's Ice Hockey Championship; and, be it further

Resolved, That the senate chief clerk shall provide copies of this joint resolution to Head Coach Mark Johnson and to each member of the team.

Representative Michael D. Huebsch Speaker of the Assembly

Senator Fred A. Risser President of the Senate

Date

Robert J. Marchant Senate Chief Clerk