

2011 Senate Joint Resolution 24

## **ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION**

Relating to: commending Meghan Duggan as the recipient of the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award.

Whereas, Meghan Duggan, a senior forward for the University of Wisconsin Women's Ice Hockey Team, was named the recipient of the 2011 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award, given to the most outstanding NCAA Division I women's ice hockey player in the nation; and

Whereas, Duggan is the third Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award recipient from the University of Wisconsin, joining former Badgers Sara Bauer (2006) and Jessie Vetter (2009) as winners of this prestigious award; and

Whereas, Duggan was named team captain for the 2010–11 season and is one of college hockey's most complete players; and

Whereas, Duggan, a 2010 U.S. Olympic silver medalist with the U.S. Women's Ice Hockey Team, was named 2011 WCHA Player of the Year, WCHA Scoring Champion, All–WCHA First Team honoree, co–MVP of the 2011 NCAA Women's Frozen Four Championship, and first–team All–American by the American Hockey Coaches' Association; and

Whereas, during her four-year career, Duggan helped guide the Badgers to three NCAA Frozen Four championships; she became the Badgers' career leader in points (238), power-play goals (31), and plus-minus (+164); she ranked second in goals (108), assists (130), short-handed goals (5), and shots (574); she set the UW single-season points record (87); and she became the first UW player to reach both 100 goals and 100 assists; now, therefore, be it

**Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That** the members of the Wisconsin Legislature congratulate Meghan Duggan for her strength of character on and off the ice, outstanding hockey skills, scholastic achievements, and community service that garnered her the 2011 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award as the nation's top college women's hockey student—athlete; and, be it further

*Resolved, That* the senate chief clerk shall provide copies of this resolution to Meghan Duggan and head coach Mark Johnson.

Representative Jeff Fitzgerald Speaker of the Assembly	Senator Michael G. Ellis President of the Senate
Date	Robert J. Marchant Senate Chief Clerk