

2011 Senate Joint Resolution 5

ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION

Relating to: commemorating the first centennial of the joint committee on finance, and honoring members of the legislature who served on the committee.

Whereas, Governor Francis E. McGovern signed Senate Bill 8 into law on March 2, 1911, creating the joint committee on finance; and

Whereas, the joint committee on finance is the longest-serving continuing standing committee of the legislature; and

Whereas, the origin of the committee dates back nearly to statehood, when the joint committee on claims was established in 1857 to consider appropriations bills; and

Whereas, the joint committee on finance is the only joint legislative standing committee of any state in the nation that is charged with the responsibility of reviewing both revenues and appropriations; and

Whereas, the joint committee on finance has reviewed and acted on bills affecting state finances for the last century; and

Whereas, Chapter 97, Laws of 1929, provided for a biennial executive budget bill which has applied to all legislative sessions since 1931; and

Whereas, since 1931 the joint committee on finance has acted on 62 biennial budget and budget adjustment bills; and

Whereas, beginning with Senator Albert W. Sanborn in the 1911 legislative session, 33 senators have served as co-chair of the joint committee on finance; and

Whereas, beginning with Representative Ray J. Nye in the 1911 legislative session, 35 representatives have served as co-chair of the joint committee on finance; and

Whereas, beginning with the 1911 legislative session, 341 members of the legislature have served on the joint committee on finance; and

Whereas, on March 2, 2011, former and current members of the joint committee on finance will assemble at the state capitol to commemorate the first centennial of the joint committee on finance; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That the legislature of the state of Wisconsin, in commemoration of the first centennial of the joint committee on finance, pays tribute to the contributions of the committee to the Wisconsin legislature and the people of Wisconsin; and, be it further

Resolved, That these contributions could not have been made but for the dedication of the members of the joint committee on finance who served during the last century.

Representative Jeff Fitzgerald Speaker of the Assembly Senator Michael G. Ellis President of the Senate

Date

Robert J. Marchant Senate Chief Clerk