

2011 Senate Joint Resolution 7

ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION

Relating to: commending the Wisconsin Badger football team for an outstanding season and 2011 Rose Bowl bid.

Whereas, the Wisconsin Badgers completed a dominant regular season, winning the Big Ten Title, finishing 11 and 1, and earning a bid to the Rose Bowl on January 1, 2011; and

Whereas, the annual Rose Bowl is the oldest of all college bowl games, and its history and prestige have earned it the title "The Granddaddy of Them All"; and

Whereas, the Rose Bowl was first played in 1902 and since 1945 has been the highest attended college football bowl game; and

Whereas, University of Wisconsin–Madison Chancellor Biddy Martin has exhibited strong leadership for the University of Wisconsin and an unyielding commitment to academic excellence for its student–athletes; and

Whereas, Athletic Director Barry Alvarez, a three-time Rose Bowl winning coach, helped lead the Badgers back to Pasadena, California; and

Whereas, Head Coach Bret Bielema showed tremendous leadership, guiding the Badgers to an outstanding 11 and 1 season and an outstanding overall 49 and 15 record under his tenure; and

Whereas, senior quarterback Scott Tolzien, the most accurate passer in college football, won the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award for his on-field performance, as well as his character; and

Whereas, senior offensive lineman Gabe Carimi won the Outland Trophy, an honor given to the best interior lineman in college football, in addition to being selected to the Academic All–Big Ten Team as a civil engineering major; and

Whereas, senior defensive end J.J. Watt is an Academic All–Big Ten Team selection, and winner of the Lott IMPACT Trophy, awarded nationally to a defensive player for his athletic, academic, and community achievements; and

Whereas, the Wisconsin Badgers had six offensive linemen selected to the All-Big Ten Team, when only five players start at the position; and

Whereas, for a second consecutive season, the Badger football team features 22 players that were selected to the Academic All–Big Ten team, surpassing the previous record of 19 set in 2007; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That the Wisconsin legislature commends the student–athletes, coaches, and administrators of the University of Wisconsin Badger football team for their remarkable season, Big Ten Championship, and a thrilling Rose Bowl appearance.

Representative Jeff Fitzgerald Speaker of the Assembly Senator Michael G. Ellis President of the Senate

Robert J. Marchant Senate Chief Clerk