2013 Senate Joint Resolution 26

ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION

Relating to: commending the University of Wisconsin–Eau Claire men's hockey team on winning the 2012–13 NCAA Division III Championship.

Whereas, the University of Wisconsin–Eau Claire Blugold men's hockey team won the 2012–13 NCAA Division III men's hockey national championship; and

Whereas, the Blugold men's hockey team's season record of 24–5–2 was the best season record in program history, earning the team the WAC conference championship title; and

Whereas, the Blugolds earned a spot in the NCAA tournament ranked fourth in the nation, and after defeating St. John's and St. Norbert's, the Blugolds entered their first NCAA Frozen Four; and

Whereas, in the Frozen Four the Blugolds defeated Utica College and went on to face the Oswego State Lakers in the national championship game; and

Whereas, on March 16, 2013, at the Herb Brooks Memorial Arena in Lake Placid, New York, the Blugold men's hockey team beat the Lakers with a score of 5–3 to win the NCAA Division III men's hockey national championship; and

Whereas, this was the first national championship for the UW–Eau Claire men's hockey team as members of the NCAA and the second national championship in program history; and

Whereas, head coach Matt Loen was voted the USCHO Division III Coach of the Year; and Whereas, three Blugold players were named to the CCM Division III All-American First Team and to the All-USCHO team; and

Whereas, the UW–Eau Claire men's hockey team, through its extraordinary performance and record–setting season, exemplifies the university's motto of "excellence," and has made its university and community very proud; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That the members of the Wisconsin legislature commend and congratulate the University of Wisconsin–Eau Claire men's hockey team on winning the 2012–13 NCAA Division III Championship and on an outstanding season.

Representative Robin J. Vos Speaker of the Assembly Senator Michael G. Ellis President of the Senate

Jeffrey Renk Senate Chief Clerk

Date