## **ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION**

**Relating to:** congratulating the city of Madison on achieving Platinum status as a Bicycle Friendly Community by the League of American Bicyclists.

Whereas, Madison's "Platinum Bicycling Committee" was formed in 2006 and has been working on improving Madison's bicycle infrastructure to reach Platinum status; and

Whereas, the partnership between the city of Madison, cycling enthusiasts, Trek, and Madison B-Cycle led to improvements in bike lanes and safety, transforming Madison into a cycling city where more than 5 percent of commuters travel by bicycle; and

Whereas, Madison has nearly 75 miles of off-street bicycle paths, 120 miles of on-street bikeways, designated safety zones at intersections, and bike parking at the majority of businesses and institutions; and

Whereas, Madison is one of only five cities in the United States to reach Platinum status, which is the highest rank achieved by any American city; and

Whereas, Madison is the first city in the Midwest and first city east of the Mississippi to achieve Platinum status as a Bicycle Friendly Community; and

Whereas, Madison is joined by Appleton, Eau Claire, Fitchburg, Menomonie, Middleton, Milwaukee, Monona, Onalaska, River Falls, Sheboygan County, Shorewood, Stevens Point, Sturgeon Bay, and Wausau on the League's Bicycle Friendly Communities list; and

Whereas, Wisconsin had more cities added or moving up on the list than any other state; and Whereas, the Bicycle Friendly Community status reflects environmental benefits with positive effects on transportation and citizen health; and

Whereas, we appreciate the work that has been invested in the city of Madison as a Bicycle Friendly Community; now, therefore, be it

**Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That** the Wisconsin legislature congratulates the city of Madison on achieving Platinum status as a Bicycle Friendly Community by the League of American Bicyclists.

Senator Mary Lazich	Representative Robin J. Vos
President of the Senate	Speaker of the Assembly
Date	Patrick E. Fuller Assembly Chief Clerk