

2015 Senate Joint Resolution 2

ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION

To amend section 4 (2) of article VII of the constitution; **relating to:** election of chief justice (second consideration).

Whereas, the 2013 legislature in regular session considered a proposed amendment to the constitution in 2013 Senate Joint Resolution 57, which became 2013 Enrolled Joint Resolution 16, and agreed to it by a majority of the members elected to each of the two houses, which proposed amendment reads as follows:

Section 1. Section 4 (2) of article VII of the constitution is amended to read: [Article VII] Section 4 (2) The justice having been longest a continuous member of said court, or in case 2 or more such justices shall have served for the same length of time, the justice whose term first expires, shall be the chief justice. The chief justice of the supreme court shall be elected for a term of 2 years by a majority of the justices then serving on the court. The justice so designated as chief justice may, irrevocably, decline to serve as chief justice or resign as chief justice but continue to serve as a justice of the supreme court.

Now, therefore, be it resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That the foregoing proposed amendment to the constitution is agreed to by the 2015 legislature; and, be it further

Resolved, That the foregoing proposed amendment to the constitution be submitted to a vote of the people at the election to be held on the first Tuesday in April 2015; and, be it further

Resolved, That the question concerning ratification of the foregoing proposed amendment to the constitution be stated on the ballot as follows:

QUESTION 1: "Election of chief justice. Shall section 4 (2) of article VII of the constitution be amended to direct that a chief justice of the supreme court shall be elected for a two—year term by a majority of the justices then serving on the court?"	
by a majority of the justices then serving on	the court?"
Representative Robin J. Vos	Senator Mary Lazich
Speaker of the Assembly	President of the Senate
Date	Jeffrey Renk Senate Chief Clerk