2015 Senate Joint Resolution 45

ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION

Relating to: proclaiming February 2016 as USO Wisconsin Month.

Whereas, the United Service Organizations Incorporated (USO) has worked in collaboration with the Department of Defense to provide programs, services, and live entertainment to United States troops and their families since it was created by President Franklin D. Roosevelt in February of 1941; and

Whereas, the USO has had a presence in Wisconsin since 1943 and became incorporated as the USO of Wisconsin in 1984; and

Whereas, its mission is to enhance the quality of life of military members and their families who reside in or travel through Wisconsin; and

Whereas, the USO Wisconsin serves more than 25,000 military families from each of the five branches, including reserve and guard units through its center in General Mitchell International Airport, its Military Entrance Processing Station in Milwaukee, and its newly opened facility at Fort McCoy; and

Whereas, the new facility at Fort McCoy expects over 60,000 visits from service members of military units from across America, as well as international troops who are training there; and

Whereas, the La Crosse Regional Airport will be the site of an additional USO Wisconsin center in early 2016 to help serve Fort McCoy staff and military members while in transit; and

Whereas, in 2014 the organization had 17,529 visits to its centers and nearly 10,500 participants in its various programs designed to assist service members and their families throughout the state; and

Whereas, a USO Wisconsin Month for the state of Wisconsin would help the organization celebrate its 75th anniversary and raise awareness of the organization and all of the important services it provides for military members and their families; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That the legislature of the state of Wisconsin does hereby proclaim February 2016 as USO Wisconsin Month.

Representative Robin J. Vos Speaker of the Assembly Senator Mary Lazich President of the Senate

Jeffrey Renk Senate Chief Clerk

Date