

2023 Assembly Joint Resolution 26

ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION

Relating to: honoring and commending the National Wild Turkey Federation upon its 50th anniversary.

Whereas, it is fitting that the members of the Wisconsin State Legislature recognize those exemplary organizations that promote and protect the long-honored outdoor traditions of our nation; and

Whereas, one such commendable organization is the National Wild Turkey Federation, which is celebrating its 50th anniversary of providing ceaseless support to science—based wildlife management, research, and habitat conservation; and

Whereas, the National Wild Turkey Federation, Inc., was incorporated on March 28, 1973, in Fredericksburg, Virginia; and

Whereas, over the course of 50 years, the National Wild Turkey Federation, its chapters, and millions of members across the nation have worked with state, federal, and nongovernmental partners to promote the conservation of the wild turkey and the preservation of our hunting heritage, participating in one of the greatest conservation success stories in American history—the return of the wild turkey from the brink of extinction; and

Whereas, the National Wild Turkey Federation and its chapters and members have been at the vanguard of reversing declining hunting participation through nationwide investment in hunter recruitment, retention and reactivation efforts; and

Whereas, the organization and its chapters and members have partnered with states to develop opportunities to engage people from all walks of life in the outdoors tradition; and

Whereas, since 2012, the organization has recruited and reactivated more than 1.5 million hunters; and

Whereas, the National Wild Turkey Federation and its chapters and members have invested more than half a billion dollars to conserve or enhance more than 22 million acres of critical wildlife habitat, forests, and grasslands across public and private lands since 1985, while also providing more than \$8.5 million in research throughout North America to ensure healthy wild turkey populations into the future; and

Whereas, the National Wild Turkey Federation is the largest and longest–serving nongovernmental stewardship partner of the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Forest Service, conserving habitat on National Forest System lands for over 40 years and heavily engaging in the development and implementation of the USDA's Wildfire Crisis Strategy; and

Whereas, the National Wild Turkey Federation works across land—ownership boundaries to increase clean and abundant water, healthy forests and wildlife habitat, resilient communities, and robust recreational opportunities across the country, and for this work, the organization should be specially recognized; and

Whereas, the National Wild Turkey Federation, at the national level, has achieved all of these aforementioned accomplishments, and local National Wild Turkey Federation chapter volunteers in Wisconsin were critical partners with the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources in wild turkey restoration in Wisconsin; and

Whereas, today, there are abundant populations of wild turkeys in all 72 Wisconsin counties, resulting in Wisconsin enjoying some of the finest turkey hunting in the country; and

Whereas the National Wild Turkey Federation continues in its partnership with the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources to conserve the wild turkey and preserve our hunting heritage in Wisconsin and across the nation; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the members of the Wisconsin State Legislature recognize and commemorate the 50th anniversary of the National Wild Turkey Federation and salute the organization and its chapters and members for their tireless and selfless work to further scientific, state–led wildlife management and the conservation of America's wild turkey and its habitat; and, be it further

Resolved, That the assembly chief clerk shall prepare a copy of this resolution with this final clause omitted to be provided to the National Wild Turkey Federation.

Senator Chris Kapenga	Representative Robin J. Vos
President of the Senate	Speaker of the Assembly
Date	Edward A. Blazel Assembly Chief Clerk