

## **ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION**

**Relating to:** recognizing and commending the National Conference of State Legislatures on its 50th anniversary in 2025.

Whereas, the National Conference of State Legislatures was founded in 1975 and has evolved during the past half-century to become the premier organization solely dedicated to serving state and territorial legislators and legislative staff; and

Whereas, NCSL was created from the merger of three organizations that served or represented state legislatures and that shared the belief that legislative service is one of democracy's worthiest pursuits; and

Whereas, NCSL is a bipartisan organization with three objectives: to advance the effectiveness, independence and integrity of state legislatures; to foster interstate communication and cooperation; and to ensure states a strong, cohesive voice in the federal system; and

Whereas, our nation's state legislatures are laboratories of democracy and have continuously shown that they are capable of tackling emerging challenges; and

Whereas, state legislatures are where people from different backgrounds, representing different communities, can come together and find common ground; and

Whereas, NCSL has facilitated the exchange of ideas, provided critical research and information, and encouraged a rigorous review of complex issues confronting our communities, states, and nation; and

Whereas, NCSL strives to strengthen the bonds between America's state legislatures and the international community; and

Whereas, the Wisconsin Legislature has played an active role in NCSL since the organization's founding; and

Whereas, in 1975, Legislative Council Director Bonnie Reese became the first NCSL Staff Chair from Wisconsin and was followed by multiple staff chairs from Wisconsin including State Auditor Dale Cattanach in 1985–86, Senate Chief Clerk Donald Schneider in 1992–93, and Legislative Reference Bureau Chief Steve Miller in 2006–07; and, in 2019, Assembly Speaker Robin Vos was elected as the first NCSL President from Wisconsin; and

Whereas, Speaker Vos currently serves as NCSL President Emeritus, and Legislative Council Director Anne Sappenfield serves as NCSL Immediate Past Staff Chair; and

Whereas, Assembly Majority Leader Tyler August and the Legislative Reference Bureau's Administrative Services Manager Wendy Jackson currently serve on the NCSL Executive Committee; now, therefore, be it

**Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That** the members of the Wisconsin State Legislature recognize and commend the National Conference of State Legislatures for its superb leadership and its commitment to the legislative institution; and, be it further

*Resolved, That* the senate chief clerk transmit a copy of this joint resolution to the National Conference of State Legislatures.

Representative Robin J. Vos Speaker of the Assembly	Senator Chris Kapenga President of the Senate
opeaker of the Assembly	resident of the senate
Date	Richard A. Champagne Acting Senate Chief Clerk