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2003 Wisconsin Act 190 
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Penalties for Pointing a Firearm or 
Throwing Bodily Substances at a 

Public Safety Worker 

2003 Acts:  www.legis.state.wi.us/2003/data/acts/ Act Memos:  www.legis.state.wi.us/lc/act_memo/act_memo.htm 

 

2003 Wisconsin Act 190 creates an increased penalty for pointing a firearm at a public safety 

worker and a penalty for throwing or discharging bodily substances at a public safety worker. 

Generally, whoever intentionally points a firearm at or toward another person is guilty of a Class 

A misdemeanor, punishable by a fine not to exceed $10,000, and imprisonment not to exceed nine 

months.  Act 190 creates an increased penalty for intentionally pointing a firearm at or towards a law 

enforcement officer, a fire fighter, an emergency medical technician (EMT), a first responder, or an 

ambulance driver who is acting in an official capacity and who the person knows or has reason to know 

is a law enforcement officer, a fire fighter, an EMT, a first responder, or an ambulance driver.  A person 

who commits this offense is guilty of a Class H felony, punishable by a fine not to exceed $10,000, and 

a term of imprisonment and extended supervision not to exceed six years. 

Act 190 also provides that any person who throws or expels blood, semen, vomit, saliva, urine, 

feces, or another bodily substance at or toward a public safety worker with the intent that it come into 

contact with the public safety worker and with the intent to cause bodily harm to the public safety 

worker, is guilty of a Class I felony.  A Class I felony is punishable by a fine not to exceed $10,000, and 

a term of imprisonment and extended supervision not to exceed three years and six months.  “Public 

safety worker” is defined as an EMT, a first responder, a peace officer, a fire fighter, or a person 

operating or staffing an ambulance. 

Effective Date:  Act 190 takes effect on April 22, 2004. 

Prepared by:  Anne Sappenfield, Senior Staff Attorney  April 19, 2004 
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