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Name Changes by Registered 
Sex Offenders 
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2003 Wisconsin Act 52 prohibits a sex offender who is registered with the Department of Corrections (DOC) 

from: 

1. Changing his or her name. 

2. Identifying himself or herself by a name other than one by which he or she is identified with the DOC. 

The DOC is required to make a reasonable attempt to notify registered sex offenders of the new prohibitions, 

but neither the department’s failure to make an attempt nor the department’s failure to notify is a defense to a 

prosecution for violating the prohibitions. 

Act 52 generally imposes a Class H felony for violation of the name change or use of different name 

prohibitions ($10,000 maximum fine, six years maximum imprisonment, or both).  However, the penalty for a first 

violation of the prohibitions is a misdemeanor if, for specified situations, the person was ordered to register as a sex 

offender based on committing a misdemeanor.

  If the misdemeanor penalty applies, the maximum fine is $10,000 and 

maximum imprisonment is nine months. 

Effective Date:  The Act takes effect on September 5, 2003. 

 

 A court has discretion to require a person who has violated certain statutes to register as a sex offender if the court finds the underlying 

conduct was sexually motivated and it is in the interest of public safety to require registration.  Sections 51.20 (13) (ct) 1m., 938.34 (15m) 

(am), 938.345 (3), 971.17 (1m) (b) 1m., and 973.048 (1m), Stats.  This discretionary authority applies to violations of chs. 940 (crimes 

against life and bodily security), 944 (crimes against sexual morality), and 948 (crimes against children), and ss. 943.01 to 943.15 (certain 

crimes against property). 

Under the Act, if a court exercising this discretionary authority orders a person to register as a sex offender where the underlying violation 

was a misdemeanor, a first violation of the Act’s prohibitions is a misdemeanor.  There may be additional situations, not addressed by the 

Act, where a sex offender is required to register in connection with the commission of an underlying misdemeanor, e.g., an offender 

registered in another state who moves into this state or who has committed a sex offense comparable to a “sex offense” under Wisconsin 

law (although note that all the latter are felonies under Wisconsin law). 
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