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2015 Wisconsin Act 56 
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Prohibition on Certain Abortions  

 

2015 Wisconsin Act 56 generally prohibits an abortion of an unborn child when 20 or 
more weeks have elapsed from the probable time of the fertilization of the ovum. The Act 
includes an exception in the case of a medical emergency.  

Prohibition on Certain Abortions; Determination of Postfertilization Age 

The Act provides that generally no person may perform or induce, or attempt to perform 
or induce, an abortion when the unborn child is “considered capable of experiencing pain.” An 
unborn child is considered to be capable of experiencing pain for purposes of the Act if the 
“probable postfertilization age” of the unborn child is 20 or more weeks.  The probable 
postfertilization age of the unborn child is defined as the number of weeks that have elapsed 
from the probable time of fertilization of the ovum. 

In addition, under the Act, generally no physician may perform or induce an abortion, or 
attempt to perform or induce an abortion, unless he or she has first made a determination of the 
probable postfertilization age of the unborn child or relied upon such a determination by 
another physician.   

Exception for Medical Emergency; Method of Abortion 

The Act provides that neither of the requirements described above apply in the case of a 
“medical emergency.” A medical emergency is defined as:  

…a condition, in a physician’s reasonable medical judgment, that so 
complicates the medical condition of a pregnant woman as to 
necessitate the immediate abortion of her pregnancy to avert her 
death or for which a 24-hour delay in performance or inducement of 
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an abortion will create serious risk of substantial and irreversible 
impairment of one or more of the woman’s major bodily functions.   

If an abortion is performed under the medical emergency exception, a physician must 
terminate the pregnancy in the manner that, in reasonable medical judgment, provides the best 
opportunity for the unborn child to survive, unless the termination of the pregnancy in that 
manner poses a greater risk either of the death of the pregnant woman or the substantial and 
irreversible physical impairment of a major bodily function of the woman than other available 
methods.   

Criminal Penalties 

Any person who violates the prohibition against performing, inducing, or attempting to 
perform or induce an abortion when the unborn child is considered capable of experiencing pain 
is guilty of a Class I felony and subject to a fine not to exceed $10,000, imprisonment not to 
exceed three years and six months, or both.  This penalty does not apply to violations of the 
restriction on the manner in which a pregnancy may be terminated in the case of a medical 
emergency.  Also, no penalty may be assessed against a woman upon whom an abortion is 
performed or induced or attempted to be performed or induced. 

Civil Claims  

The Act provides that a woman may bring a civil claim for damages against any person 
who performs or attempts to perform an abortion on her in violation of the Act. The Act also 
gives the father of the unborn child standing to bring a civil claim for damages against a person 
who violates the Act, except that no such claim is allowed when the pregnancy is the result of 
sexual assault or incest.  Also, a prosecuting attorney may bring an action for injunctive relief 
for intentional or reckless violations of the Act.  The provisions regarding civil damages and 
injunctions apply to violations of the prohibition on abortions and the restrictions on the manner 
in which a pregnancy may be terminated in the case of a medical emergency. 

Reporting Requirement Regarding Method of Abortion 

Under current law, each hospital, clinic, or other facility in which an induced abortion is 
performed must file an annual report containing specified information about induced abortions 
performed in the calendar year.  The report must be filed with the Department of Health Services 
(DHS).  DHS must collect the reported information in a manner that ensures anonymity of the 
patient, the health care provider and the facility, and must publish annual demographic 
summaries of the reported information. 

The Act requires the report to DHS to contain, for each abortion performed, the probable 
postfertilization age of the unborn child. If the unborn child is considered capable of 
experiencing pain, as determined under the Act, the report must state whether the method of 
abortion used was one that, in reasonable medical judgment, provided the best opportunity for 
the unborn child to survive.  If such a method was not used, the report must include the basis 
of the determination that termination of the pregnancy in that manner posed a greater risk either 
of the death of the pregnant woman or of the substantial and irreversible physical impairment 
of a major bodily function of the woman than other available methods. 
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Nonstatutory Legislative Findings 

 The Act contains numerous nonstatutory legislative findings regarding the ability of an 
unborn child to feel pain during gestational development.  

Effective date:  February 1, 2016 

Prepared by:  Brian Larson, Staff Attorney  August 3, 2015 
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