Wisconsin Legislative Council

ACT MEMO

Prepared by: Steve McCarthy, Senior Staff Attorney



December 14, 2023

2023 Wisconsin Act 84

Cremation Permit Application Form

2023 WISCONSIN ACT 84

Current law prohibits cremation of a human corpse without a cremation permit issued by a coroner or medical examiner (CME). Current law does not require the use of any specific form for applying for a cremation permit or for the cremation permit itself.

The act requires the Department of Health Services (DHS) to design a cremation permit application form. If the CME of a county requires applicants for a cremation permit to apply using an application form, a person applying for a cremation permit in that county must use the cremation permit application form designed by DHS under the act. The act provides that the completed cremation permit application form may also constitute a cremation permit if authorized by the CME of the county in which the cremation permit is issued.

In addition, the act requires a CME to issue a cremation permit within 24 hours of viewing a corpse or the submission of a medical certification, whichever is later. However, this 24-hour deadline does not apply if a CME has determined that further examination or judicial inquiry into the death is necessary.

Effective date: December 8, 2023, except that the act's provisions relating to the creation and use of the cremation permit application form take effect only once DHS completes design of the form and publishes a notice in the Wisconsin Administrative Register that specifies the date the design of the form is complete.

For a full history of the bill, visit the Legislature's bill history page.

SM:ksm