

WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL AMENDMENT MEMO

2005 Assembly Bill 856

Assembly Amendment 1

Memo published: April 24, 2006 Contact: Dan Schmidt, Senior Analyst (267-7251)

Current law generally provides that the governing body of a political subdivision (a city, village, town, or county) may, by a two-thirds vote of the members of the governing body, enact an ordinance or adopt a resolution declaring itself a premier resort area if at least 40% of the equalized assessed value of the taxable property within the political subdivision is used by tourism-related retailers. Tourism-related retailers are defined by the standard industrial classification manual published by the U.S. Office of Management and Budget. A premier resort area may impose a 0.5% tax on the gross receipts from the sale, lease, or rental of certain goods and services sold by tourism-related retailers. Proceeds from the tax may only be used to pay for infrastructure expenses within the jurisdiction of the premier resort area.

The Cities of Eagle River and Bayfield are exempt from the provision requiring that at least 40% of the equalized assessed value of the taxable property within the political subdivision is used by tourism-related retailers. Thus, they may impose a premier resort area tax.

2005 Assembly Bill 856 establishes a similar exemption to the 40% equalized value minimum for the Villages of Sister Bay and Ephraim. Thus, permitting each of these villages to enact an ordinance or adopt a resolution, by a two-thirds vote of the members of the governing body, declaring the village a premier resort area and impose the aforementioned 0.5% tax.

2005 Assembly Amendment 1 prohibits the Villages of Sister Bay and Ephraim from collecting a premier resort area tax prior to village board adoption of a premier resort area resolution and subsequent approval by the majority of the electors of the village at a specified referendum election.

Assembly Amendment 1 was adopted and Assembly Bill 856 was recommended for passage as amended by the Assembly Committee on Tourism by a vote of Ayes, 10; Noes, 0; on March 2, 2006.

DWS:ksm