1995 SENATE BILL 232

June 1, 1995 – Introduced by Senators Huelsman, Breske, Buettner, Chvala, Decker, Drzewiecki, Fitzgerald, C. Potter, Risser, Rude and Wineke, cosponsored by Representatives Huebsch, Ainsworth, Dobyns, Foti, Gard, Hahn, Hanson, Huber, F. Lasee, Lorge, Meyer, Nass, Ott, Ourada, Owens, Plombon, Ryba, Springer, Travis, Ward, Wilder and Zukowski, by request of Director of State Courts. Referred to Committee on Judiciary.

	A A ~				
1	AN ACT to amend	752 06 (2) (3)	752 06 (4) (a)	752 06 (4) (b)	752 06 (5) (a) 752 06
1		100.00 (0) (a).	100.00 (4) (a).	100.00 (4) (0).	. 100.00 (0) (a). 100.00

- (6) (k), 753.06 (7) (f), 753.06 (8) (a), 753.06 (8) (e), 753.06 (8) (g), 753.06 (9) (f),
- 3 753.06 (9) (g) and 753.06 (10) (d) of the statutes; **relating to:** increasing the
- 4 number of circuit court branches.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau

This bill adds 12 circuit court branches in various counties. The circuit court judges for those branches are elected for 6-year terms. The terms of the new branches for the circuits in following counties commence on August 1, 1996:

Brown	La Crosse	Oconto
Fond du Lac	Lincoln	Waupaca

Jefferson Marathon

The terms of the new branches for the circuits in Calumet and Chippewa counties commence on August 1, 1997.

The terms of the new branches for the circuits in Dane and Wood counties commence on August 1, 1998.

The bill provides a court reporter for each judge.

For further information see the *state and local* fiscal estimate, which will be printed as an appendix to this bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

2

25

1 753.06 (3) (a) Jefferson county. The circuit has 3 branches. Commencing 2 August 1, 1996, the circuit has 4 branches. 3 **Section 2.** 753.06 (4) (a) of the statutes is amended to read: 753.06 (4) (a) Calumet county. The circuit has one branch. Commencing 4 5 August 1, 1997, the circuit has 2 branches. 6 **Section 3.** 753.06 (4) (b) of the statutes is amended to read: 7 753.06 (4) (b) Fond du Lac county. The circuit has 4 branches. Commencing 8 August 1, 1996, the circuit has 5 branches. 9 **Section 4.** 753.06 (5) (a) of the statutes is amended to read: 10 753.06 (5) (a) Dane county. The circuit has 16 branches. Commencing August 11 1, 1994, the circuit has 17 branches. Commencing August 1, 1998, the circuit has 12 18 branches. 13 **Section 5.** 753.06 (6) (k) of the statutes is amended to read: 14 753.06 (6) (k) Wood county. The circuit has 3 branches. Commencing August 15 1. 1998, the circuit has 4 branches. 16 **Section 6.** 753.06 (7) (f) of the statutes is amended to read: 17 753.06 (7) (f) La Crosse county. The circuit has 4 branches. Commencing 18 August 1, 1996, the circuit has 5 branches. **Section 7.** 753.06 (8) (a) of the statutes is amended to read: 19 753.06 (8) (a) Brown county. The circuit has 8 branches. Commencing August 20 211, 1996, the circuit has 9 branches. 22 **Section 8.** 753.06 (8) (e) of the statutes is amended to read: 23 753.06 (8) (e) Oconto county. The circuit has one branch. Commencing August 241, 1996, the circuit has 2 branches.

Section 9. 753.06 (8) (g) of the statutes is amended to read:

1	753.06 (8) (g) Waupaca county. The circuit has 2 branches. Commencing					
2	August 1, 1996, the circuit has 3 branches.					
3	Section 10. 753.06 (9) (f) of the statutes is amended to read:					
4	753.06 (9) (f) Lincoln county. The circuit has one branch. Commencing August					
5	1, 1996, the circuit has 2 branches.					
6	SECTION 11. 753.06 (9) (g) of the statutes is amended to read:					
7	753.06 (9) (g) Marathon county. The circuit has 4 branches. Commencing					
8	August 1, 1996, the circuit has 5 branches.					
9	Section 12. 753.06 (10) (d) of the statutes is amended to read:					
10	753.06 (10) (d) Chippewa county. The circuit has 2 branches. Commencing					
11	August 1, 1997, the circuit has 3 branches.					
12	Section 13. Nonstatutory provisions; circuit courts.					
13	(1) CIRCUIT COURT BRANCHES, 1996. The initial election for circuit judge for					
14	branch 9 of the circuit court for Brown County, for branch 5 of the circuit court for					
15	Fond du Lac County, for branch 4 of the circuit court for Jefferson County, for branch					
16	5 of the circuit court for La Crosse County, for branch 2 of the circuit court for Lincoln					
17	County, for branch 5 of the circuit court for Marathon County, for branch 2 of the					
18	circuit court for Oconto County and for branch 3 of the circuit court for Waupaca					
19	County shall be at the spring election of 1996 for terms commencing August 1, 1996					
20	and ending July 31, 2002.					
21	(2) CIRCUIT COURT BRANCHES, 1997. The initial election for circuit judge for					
22	branch 2 of the circuit court for Calumet County and for branch 3 of the circuit court					
23	for Chippewa County shall be at the spring election of 1997 for terms commencing					
24	August 1, 1997, and ending July 31, 2003.					

- (3) CIRCUIT COURT BRANCHES, 1998. The initial election for circuit judge for branch 18 of the circuit court for Dane County and for branch 4 of the circuit court for Wood County shall be at the spring election of 1998 for terms commencing August 1, 1998, and ending July 31, 2004.
- (4) CIRCUIT JUDGE POSITIONS. The authorized FTE positions for the circuit courts are increased by 8.0 GPR circuit judge positions on August 1, 1996, by 2.0 GPR circuit judge positions on August 1, 1997, and by 2.0 GPR circuit judge positions on August 1, 1998, to be funded from the appropriation under section 20.625 (1) (a) of the statutes, to provide additional circuit court judges for the circuit court branches created by this act.
- (5) Court reporter positions. The authorized FTE positions for the circuit courts are increased by 8.0 GPR court reporter positions on August 1, 1996, by 2.0 GPR court reporter positions on August 1, 1997, and by 2.0 GPR court reporter positions on August 1, 1998, to be funded from the appropriation under section 20.625 (1) (a) of the statutes, to provide one additional court reporter for each of the circuit court branches created in this act.

(END)