3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

1997 SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 39

February 3, 1998 - Introduced by Senators Drzewiecki, Cowles, Breske, Burke, CHVALA, CLAUSING, DARLING, DECKER, ELLIS, FARROW, FITZGERALD, GEORGE, Grobschmidt, Huelsman, Jauch, A. Lasee, Moen, Moore, Panzer, Plache, C. POTTER, RISSER, ROESSLER, ROSENZWEIG, RUDE, SCHULTZ, SHIBILSKI, WEEDEN, WELCH, WINEKE, WIRCH and ZIEN, cosponsored by Representatives RYBA, Kelso, Lorge, Ainsworth, Albers, Baldwin, Baumgart, Black, Bock, Boyle, Brandemuehl, Carpenter, Coggs, Cullen, Dobyns, Dueholm, Duff, Foti, Freese, Gard, Goetsch, Green, Gronemus, Grothman, Gunderson, Hahn, HANDRICK, HANSON, HARSDORF, HASENOHRL, HEBL, HOVEN, HUBER, HUBLER, HUEBSCH, HUTCHISON, JENSEN, JESKEWITZ, JOHNSRUD, KAUFERT, KEDZIE, KLUSMAN, KREIBICH, KREUSER, KRUG, KRUSICK, KUNICKI, LADWIG, LA FAVE, F. LASEE, LAZICH, J. LEHMAN, M. LEHMAN, LINTON, MEYER, MORRIS-TATUM, MURAT, Musser, Nass, Notestein, Olsen, Ott, Otte, Ourada, Owens, Plale, Plouff, PORTER, R. POTTER, POWERS, REYNOLDS, RILEY, ROBSON, SCHAFER, SCHNEIDER, SERATTI, SKINDRUD, SPILLNER, SPRINGER, STASKUNAS, STEINBRINK, SYKORA, TRAVIS, TURNER, UNDERHEIM, URBAN, VANDER LOOP, VRAKAS, WALKER, WARD, WASSERMAN, WIECKERT, WILLIAMS, WOOD, L. YOUNG, R. YOUNG, ZIEGELBAUER and Zukowski. Referred to Committee on Senate Organization.

Relating to: commending the Green Bay Packers' team, organization and fans for their accomplishments during the past season.

Whereas, the Green Bay Packers provided a season of excitement and celebration for their loyal fans, including the Green Bay Packers' well-deserved return to the National Football League World Championship game in Super Bowl XXXII; and

Whereas, the Green Bay Packers repeated as champions of the National Football Conference; and

Whereas, the Green Bay Packers gloriously defeated their longtime NFC nemesis, the Dallas Cowboys, at Lambeau Field; and

Whereas, Brett Favre won a record setting 3rd straight National Football
League Most Valuable Player award; and

| 1 | Whereas, LeRoy Butler, Mark Chmura, Brett Favre, Travis Jervey, Dorsey |
|----|--|
| 2 | Levens and Reggie White were all honored as Pro Bowl selections; and |
| 3 | Whereas, Coach Mike Holmgren and his staff led the team to a 15 win season |
| 4 | and a 3rd consecutive NFC Central Division title; and |
| 5 | Whereas, Ron Wolf, as the team's general manager, skillfully assembled a |
| 6 | squad of talented players and upstanding citizens; and |
| 7 | Whereas, Bob Harlan, the Packers' dignified and esteemed president, |
| 8 | eloquently promoted the team and their public ownership; and |
| 9 | Whereas, Packer fans from Wisconsin and around the world are still recognized |
| 10 | as the greatest fans in all sports; now therefore, be it |
| 11 | Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That the members of the |
| 12 | Wisconsin legislature commend the Green Bay Packers' team, organization and fans, |
| 13 | who have concluded another storied season, while proving once again that the Pack |
| 14 | is not only Wisconsin's favorite team but also America's team; and, be it further |
| 15 | Resolved, That the senate chief clerk shall provide copies of this joint |
| 16 | resolution to Green Bay Mayor Paul Jadin to be shared with the residents of the City |
| 17 | of Green Bay, Bob Harlan, Ron Wolf, Mike Holmgren, the team's play-off captains, |
| 18 | the Director of the Green Bay Packer Hall of Fame and the President of the Green |
| 19 | Bay Packers Fan Club (America's Pack). |
| 20 | |