

## **1999 ASSEMBLY RESOLUTION 11**

June 21, 1999 – Introduced by Representative MUSSER. Referred to Committee on Rules.

1	Relating to: designating August 16 of each year as National Airborne Day.
2	Whereas, the Parachute Test Platoon was authorized by the War Department
3	on June 25, 1940, to experiment with the potential use of airborne troops; and
4	Whereas, the Parachute Test Platoon was composed of 48 volunteers who began
5	training in July 1940; and
6	Whereas, the Parachute Test Platoon performed the first official Army
7	parachute jump on August 16, 1940; and
8	Whereas, the success of the Parachute Test Platoon led to the formation of a
9	large and successful airborne contingent serving from World War II until the present;
10	and
11	Whereas, the 82nd Airborne Division was the first airborne division that was
12	organized following the successes of the Parachute Test Platoon and the early
13	airborne training program and has continued in active service since its creation; and
14	Whereas, the 82nd Airborne Division Association exists to continue and foster
15	that special esprit de corps among fellow paratroopers, to perpetuate the memory of

1	the 82nd Airborne Division troopers who fought and died for our nation, and to
2	further the common bond among all members of the airborne community; and
3	Whereas, the 82nd Airborne Division Association, during the 52nd year of
4	existence and at the 50th Annual Convention, adopted a resolution to perpetuate the
5	memory of the Parachute Test Platoon's "Jump Into History" on August 16, 1940;
6	now, therefore, be it
7	<b>Resolved by the assembly, That</b> the Wisconsin assembly designates August
8	16 of each year as "National Airborne Day"; and, be it further
9	<b>Resolved, That</b> the President issue a proclamation calling upon the federal
10	state, and local administrators and the people of the United States to observe the day
11	with appropriate programs, ceremonies and activities; and, be it further
12	<i>Resolved, That</i> the assembly chief clerk shall send copies of this resolution to
13	the President of the United States and to each member of the Congressional
14	delegation from Wisconsin.
15	(END)