LRB-1999/1 SRM:lmk:nwn

2007 SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 16

February 19, 2007 – Introduced by Senator Robson. Referred to Committee on Senate Organization.

1	Relating to: honoring Wisconsin citizens who lost their lives in the war on
2	terrorism.
3	Whereas, Operation Enduring Freedom was begun by the United States
4	government on October 7, 2001, and Operation Iraqi Freedom was begun on March
5	19, 2003; and
6	Whereas, in the execution of Operation Iraqi Freedom and Operation Enduring
7	Freedom, the armed forces have suffered numerous casualties, including deaths,
8	injuries, and the capture of United States service members; and
9	Whereas, the United States and the Wisconsin legislature have recognized the
10	service and sacrifice of members of the armed forces who have died in the execution
11	of Operation Iraqi Freedom and Operation Enduring Freedom; and
12	Whereas, the people of Wisconsin are eternally grateful for the service and
13	sacrifice of their courageous servicemen and servicewomen in support of this country

and the freedoms we hold dear; and

14

1	Whereas, it is fitting and appropriate to remember the selfless contributions of
2	all Wisconsinites who served in this conflict and, in particular, the following who
3	have died:
4	Army Pvt. Evan A. Bixler from Racine
5	Army Spc. Joshua I. Bunch from Hattiesburg, MS
6	Marine Corps Reserve Lance Cpl. Ryan J. Cantafio from Beaver Dam
7	Army National Guard Cpl. Stephen W. Castner from Cedarburg
8	Army Spc. Eric D. Clark from Pleasant Prairie
9	Army Sgt. 1st Class Lance S. Cornett from London, KY
10	Army Cpl. Kenneth M. Cross from Superior
11	Army Spc. Grant A. Dampier from Merrill
12	Army Reserve Pfc. Gregory Goodrich from Bartonville, IL
13	Army Sgt. John C. Griffith from Las Vegas, NV
14	Marine Pfc. Andrew J. Halverson from Shopiere
15	Army Reserve Sgt. 1st Class Merideth Howard from Alameda, CA
16	Army Pfc. Isaiah R. Hunt from Suamico
17	Navy Reserve Petty Officer 2nd Class Jaime S. Jaenke from Bay City
18	Army Lt. Col. Dennis M. Johnson from Port Edwards
19	Army National Guard Sgt. Ryan D. Jopek from Merrill
20	Army Reserve Sgt.1st Class Matthew R. Kading from Madison
21	Marine Capt. Kevin M. Kryst from West Bend
22	Army National Guard Spc. Justin W. Linden from Portland, OR
23	Army Sgt. Mark A. Maida from Madison
24	Army Reserve Staff Sgt. Stephen G. Martin from Rhinelander
25	Marine Lance Cpl. Gary Matus from Weyerhaeuser

1	Army Spc. Michael A. McGlothin from Milwaukee
2	Navy Lt. Michael M. McGreevy, Jr. from Portville, NY
3	Army National Guard Staff Sgt. Todd D. Olson from Loyal
4	Marine Corps Reserve Lance Cpl. Branden P. Ramey from Belvidere, IL
5	Army National Guard Spc. Eric U. Ramirez from San Diego, CA
6	Navy Reserve Petty Officer 1st Class Gary T. Rovinski from Roseville, IL
7	Marine Cpl. Joshua M. Schmitz from Spencer
8	Air Force Senior Airman Adam P. Servais from Onalaska
9	Marine Corps Reserve Staff Sgt. Chad J. Simon from Madison
10	Marine Cpl. Adrian V. Soltau from Milwaukee
11	Army Pfc. Jon Baily St. John II from Neenah; now, therefore, be it
12	Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That the members of the
13	Wisconsin legislature honor the sacrifice of these Wisconsin citizens who lost their
14	lives in the fight for freedom, thank them for their service, and mourn their death;
15	and be it further
16	Resolved, That the senate chief clerk shall send copies of this joint resolution
L 7	to the families of each of these citizens who lost their lives in the fight for freedom.
18	(END)