

State of Misconsin 2007 - 2008 LEGISLATURE

2007 SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 34

April 13, 2007 – Introduced by Senators RISSER, LAZICH, BRESKE, ROESSLER, ERPENBACH and MILLER, cosponsored by Representatives BLACK, JESKEWITZ, KERKMAN, BERCEAU, TURNER and NYGREN. Referred to Committee on Senate Organization.

1	Relating to: congratulating the 2006–07 University of Wisconsin women's hockey
2	team.
3	Whereas, the 2006–07 University of Wisconsin (UW) women's hockey team won
4	its second consecutive NCAA Division I Women's Ice Hockey National Championship
5	with a 4–1 win over the University of Minnesota–Duluth on March 18, 2007; and
6	Whereas, the UW women's hockey team finished its back-to-back
7	championship season with a remarkable 36-1-4 record, finishing with a
8	record-setting 26-game unbeaten streak; and
9	Whereas, the Badgers' championship win broke or tied six NCAA single-season
10	team records: most wins (36), best winning percentage $(.927)$, fewest losses (1) , most
11	home wins (19), fewest goals allowed per game (0.88), and lowest goals against
12	average (0.85); and
13	Whereas, the Badger women's hockey team is the first UW program to repeat
14	as NCAA champions since women's cross country won the title in 1984 and 1985; and

1	Whereas, Badger senior Sara Bauer, the WCHA Player of the Year and scoring
2	champion for the second consecutive year, was named the tournament's Most
3	Outstanding Player, with a total of five assists and one goal, in the Frozen Four; and
4	Whereas, UW Head Coach Mark Johnson was named by his peers as the ACHA
5	Women's Division I Coach of the Year for 2006–07, for the second consecutive year,
6	and has a career record of 147-28-14 (.815) in five seasons as head coach of the
7	Badgers, ranking him first among active NCAA Division I women's head coaches;
8	now, therefore, be it
9	Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That the members of the
10	Wisconsin legislature commend and congratulate the UW women's hockey team for
11	its hard work and great achievement in winning the 2006–07 NCAA Division I
12	Women's Ice Hockey Championship; and, be it further
13	Resolved, That the senate chief clerk shall provide copies of this joint
14	resolution to Head Coach Mark Johnson and to each member of the team.

(END)

- 2 -

15