

State of Misconsin 2011 - 2012 LEGISLATURE



2011 SENATE BILL 178

September 7, 2011 – Introduced by Senators Olsen, Lassa, Galloway and Wirch, cosponsored by Representatives Ballweg, Barca, Bies, Brooks, Kerkman, Krug, Molepske Jr, Mursau, A. Ott, Petryk, Ripp, Steinbrink, Tauchen, Turner, Van Roy, Vruwink and Williams. Referred to Committee on Agriculture, Forestry, and Higher Education.

- 1 AN ACT to affect 2011 Wisconsin Act 32, section 9152 (1pc) (b); relating to:
- 2 differential tuition at certain institutions and colleges of the University of
- Wisconsin System.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau

Current law generally prohibits the Board of Regents (board) of the University of Wisconsin (UW) System from charging resident undergraduates enrolled in the 2011–12 or 2012–13 academic year academic fees that are more than 5.5 percent greater than the academic fees charged in the previous academic year. However, the prohibition does not apply to differential tuition approved by the board before June 1, 2011. Any differential tuition approved after that date is subject to the prohibition. Although current law does not define differential tuition, the board adopted a policy prior to June 1, 2011, that describes differential tuition as tuition that is added to the base tuition level for the purpose of supplementing services and programming for students within an institution of the UW System. The policy also establishes procedures for institutions to submit proposals for differential tuition to the board for approval.

Under this bill, the prohibition does not apply to differential tuition for students at UW-Stevens Point, UW-Green Bay, UW-Parkside, or the two-year UW colleges that is approved by the board pursuant to the policy described above, even if the board approves the differential tuition after June 1, 2011.

SENATE BILL 178

1

 $\mathbf{2}$

3

4

5

6

7

For further information see the *state* fiscal estimate, which will be printed as an appendix to this bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. 2011 Wisconsin Act 32, section 9152 (1pc) (b), is amended to read:

[2011 Wisconsin Act 32] Section 9152 (1pc) (b) The limit under paragraph (a) does not apply to differential tuition for students at the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point, the University of Wisconsin-Green Bay, the University of Wisconsin-Parkside, or the University of Wisconsin Colleges that is approved by the Board of Regents pursuant to policies adopted by the board before June 1, 2011.

(END)