

4

State of Misconsin 2011 - 2012 LEGISLATURE



2011 SENATE BILL 35

March 16, 2011 - Introduced by Senator Carpenter, cosponsored by Representative Kaufert. Referred to Committee on Judiciary, Utilities, Commerce, and Government Operations.

AN ACT to repeal 4.001 (2) to (5), 4.004 and 4.01 to 4.99; to renumber and

amend 4.001 (1); to amend 13.01; and to repeal and recreate 4.009 of the

statutes; relating to: the number of legislative districts.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau

Currently, the senate consists of 33 members representing 33 senate districts and the assembly consists of 99 members representing 99 assembly districts. Each senate district is composed of three underlying assembly districts.

This bill changes the number of senators to 25 and the number of representatives to the assembly to 75. Under the bill, each senate district is composed of three underlying assembly districts. The bill specifies the assembly district numbers that constitute each senate district but does not specify the boundaries of assembly districts. The boundaries of assembly districts under current statutes are based on the 1983 redistricting. In 2002, a U.S. district court substituted different boundaries by court order.

The bill first applies with respect to the next decennial legislative redistricting that occurs after its enactment.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

Section 1. 4.001 (1) of the statutes is renumbered 4.001 and amended to read:

SENATE BILL 35

4.001 Legislative redistricting; equal population districts established.
Based on the certified official results of the 1980 census of population of Wisconsin,
as received by this state from the U.S. bureau of the census on March 23, 1981, under
P.L. 94-171, the This state is divided into 33 25 senate districts, each composed of
3 assembly districts. Each senate district shall be entitled to elect one member of the
senate. Each assembly district shall be entitled to elect one representative to the
assembly.
Section 2. 4.001 (2) to (5) of the statutes are repealed.
Section 3. 4.004 of the statutes is repealed.
Section 4. 4.009 of the statutes is repealed and recreated to read:
4.009 Senate districts. (1) FIRST SENATE DISTRICT. The combination of the 1st,
2nd, and 3rd assembly districts constitutes the 1st senate district.
(2) SECOND SENATE DISTRICT. The combination of the 4th, 5th, and 6th assembly
districts constitutes the 2nd senate district.
(3) Third senate district. The combination of the 7th, 8th, and 9th assembly
districts constitutes the 3rd senate district.
(4) FOURTH SENATE DISTRICT. The combination of the 10th, 11th, and 12th
assembly districts constitutes the 4th senate district.
(5) FIFTH SENATE DISTRICT. The combination of the 13th, 14th, and 15th
assembly districts constitutes the 5th senate district.
(6) Sixth senate district. The combination of the 16th, 17th, and 18th
assembly districts constitutes the 6th senate district.
(7) SEVENTH SENATE DISTRICT. The combination of the 19th, 20th, and 21st

assembly districts constitutes the 7th senate district.

SENATE BILL 35

1	(8) Eighth senate district. The combination of the 22nd, 23rd, and 24th
2	assembly districts constitutes the 8th senate district.
3	(9) NINTH SENATE DISTRICT. The combination of the 25th, 26th, and 27th
4	assembly districts constitutes the 9th senate district.
5	(10) TENTH SENATE DISTRICT. The combination of the 28th, 29th, and 30th
6	assembly districts constitutes the 10th senate district.
7	(11) ELEVENTH SENATE DISTRICT. The combination of the 31st, 32nd, and 33rd
8	assembly districts constitutes the 11th senate district.
9	(12) TWELFTH SENATE DISTRICT. The combination of the 34th, 35th, and 36th
10	assembly districts constitutes the 12th senate district.
11	(13) THIRTEENTH SENATE DISTRICT. The combination of the 37th, 38th, and 39th
12	assembly districts constitutes the 13th senate district.
13	(14) FOURTEENTH SENATE DISTRICT. The combination of the 40th, 41st, and 42nd
14	assembly districts constitutes the 14th senate district.
15	(15) FIFTEENTH SENATE DISTRICT. The combination of the 43rd, 44th, and 45th
16	assembly districts constitutes the 15th senate district.
17	(16) Sixteenth senate district. The combination of the 46th, 47th, and 48th
18	assembly districts constitutes the 16th senate district.
19	(17) SEVENTEENTH SENATE DISTRICT. The combination of the 49th, 50th, and 51st
20	assembly districts constitutes the 17th senate district.
21	(18) Eighteenth senate district. The combination of the 52nd, 53rd, and 54th
22	assembly districts constitutes the 18th senate district.
23	(19) NINETEENTH SENATE DISTRICT. The combination of the 55th, 56th, and 57th
24	assembly districts constitutes the 19th senate district.

SENATE BILL 35

(20) TWENTIETH SENATE DISTRICT. The combination of the 58th, 59th, and 60th
assembly districts constitutes the 20th senate district.
(21) TWENTY-FIRST SENATE DISTRICT. The combination of the 61st, 62nd, and
63rd assembly districts constitutes the 21st senate district.
(22) TWENTY-SECOND SENATE DISTRICT. The combination of the 64th, 65th, and
66th assembly districts constitutes the 22nd senate district.
(23) TWENTY-THIRD SENATE DISTRICT. The combination of the 67th, 68th, and
69th assembly districts constitutes the 23rd senate district.
(24) TWENTY-FOURTH SENATE DISTRICT. The combination of the 70th, 71st, and
72nd assembly districts constitutes the 24th senate district.
(25) TWENTY-FIFTH SENATE DISTRICT. The combination of the 73rd, 74th, and
75th assembly districts constitutes the 25th senate district.
Section 5. 4.01 to 4.99 of the statutes are repealed.
Section 6. 13.01 of the statutes is amended to read:
13.01 Number of legislators. The senate consists of $33 \ \underline{25}$ and the assembly
of 99 <u>75</u> members.
Section 7. Initial applicability.
(1) This act first applies with respect to the next decennial legislative
redistricting that occurs after the effective date of this subsection.

(END)