

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

State of Misconsin 2011 - 2012 LEGISLATURE



2011 SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 12

February 16, 2011 - Introduced by Senators Hansen, Cowles, Carpenter, S. Coggs. T. CULLEN, DARLING, ELLIS, ERPENBACH, S. FITZGERALD, GALLOWAY, GROTHMAN, HARSDORF, HOLPERIN, HOPPER, JAUCH, KAPANKE, KEDZIE, C. LARSON, LASEE, Lassa, Lazich, Leibham, Miller, Moulton, Olsen, Risser, Schultz, Taylor, VINEHOUT, VUKMIR, WANGGAARD, WIRCH and ZIPPERER, cosponsored by Representatives Van Roy, August, Ballweg, Barca, Berceau, Bernard SCHABER, BERNIER, BEWLEY, BIES, BROOKS, CLARK, E. COGGS, D. CULLEN, DANOU, ENDSLEY, FARROW, FIELDS, J. FITZGERALD, GRIGSBY, HEBL, HINTZ, HONADEL, HULSEY, JACQUE, JORGENSEN, KAPENGA, KAUFERT, KERKMAN, KESSLER, KESTELL, KLEEFISCH, KLENKE, KNILANS, KNODL, KNUDSON, KOOYENGA, KRAMER, KRUG, KRUSICK, KUGLITSCH, T. LARSON, LEMAHIEU, LITJENS, LOUDENBECK, MARKLEIN, MASON, MEYER, MILROY, MOLEPSKE JR, MURSAU, MURTHA, NASS, NERISON, Nygren, A. Ott, J. Ott, Parisi, Pasch, Petersen, Petrowski, Petryk, Pocan, POPE-ROBERTS, PRIDEMORE, RADCLIFFE, RICHARDS, RINGHAND, RIPP, RIVARD, Roys, Seidel, Severson, Shilling, Sinicki, Spanbauer, Staskunas, Steinbrink, STEINEKE, STONE, STRACHOTA, SUDER, TAUCHEN, THIESFELDT, TIFFANY, TOLES, Tranel, Turner, Vos., Vruwink, Weininger, Williams, Wynn, Young, ZAMARRIPA, ZEPNICK and ZIEGELBAUER. Referred to Committee on Senate Organization.

Relating to: commending the Green Bay Packers.

Whereas, the Green Bay Packers are the only nonprofit, community-owned major league professional sports team in the United States with a total of 4,750,937 shares owned by 112,158 stockholders, and the Packers are the last of the "small town teams" that were once common in the NFL during the 1920s and 1930s; and Whereas, the Green Bay Packers claimed their fourth Super Bowl victory and thirteenth NFL championship with a 31–25 victory over the Pittsburgh Steelers, becoming only the second No. 6 seed to win; and Whereas, the Packers, with a record of 10 wins and 6 losses, entered the 2010

playoffs as an NFC wildcard participant; and

Whereas, under the expertise of general manager Ted Thompson and under the guidance of head coach Mike McCarthy and his staff, the Packers progressed through the NFC playoffs by winning three road games; and

Whereas, despite having 12 starting players miss a total of 86 games and 31 players miss a total of 180 games, the resourceful Packers found a way to keep winning; and

Whereas, the Packers took a chance on quarterback Aaron Rodgers with the twenty-fourth overall pick in the 2005 NFL Draft, and after serving as Brett Favre's backup for three seasons, he has cemented his position as one of the best quarterbacks in the game; and

Whereas, with the ground game struggling, the Packers turned to Rodgers who threw to eight different receivers for 304 yards, three touchdowns, and no interceptions and was awarded Most Valuable Player for Super Bowl XLV; and

Whereas, the Packers defense, under the direction of Dom Capers, also played a significant role in the game with several key defensive stops, two interceptions, and a forced fumble despite a roster that was decimated by injuries; and

Whereas, Packers coach Mike McCarthy was so certain of victory he fitted the players for championship rings on the night before the Super Bowl; and

Whereas, with one of the youngest teams in the league, the Packers overcame significant obstacles to put together a championship season; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That the Wisconsin legislature commends the Green Bay Packers on their amazing victory and wishes them luck in their future seasons.