

State of Misconsin 2013 - 2014 LEGISLATURE



2013 ASSEMBLY JOINT RESOLUTION 27

April 30, 2013 – Introduced by Representatives JORGENSEN, KOLSTE, RINGHAND, BERCEAU, BIES, DANOU, HINTZ, HUTTON, KAHL, KERKMAN, MARKLEIN, MILROY, MURPHY, NASS, RIPP, SPIROS, WACHS and WRIGHT, cosponsored by Senators T. CULLEN, COWLES, KEDZIE, LASSA, SCHULTZ and L. TAYLOR. Referred to Committee on Rules.

1	Relating to: commending the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater women's
2	wheelchair basketball team for winning a second consecutive national
3	championship.
4	Whereas, the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater Warhawks women's
5	wheelchair basketball team achieved a perfect season in 2013, winning all 27 of its
6	games, culminating in a 56–41 victory over the University of Alabama to earn the
7	National Wheelchair Basketball Association Intercollegiate Women's Division
8	National Championship title; and
9	Whereas, this is the second consecutive season that the women's wheelchair
10	basketball team has won the national championship; and
11	Whereas, the team has been led by a dedicated coaching staff, including Head
12	Coach Dan Price, Assistant Coach Jay Baker, Assistant Coach Kearstin Gehlhausen,
13	and Assistant Coach Ashley Kosenesky; and
14	Whereas, the team has also benefited from many experienced student athletes,
15	including senior and captain Becca Murray, who was named Player of the Year,

Academic All-American, and first team All-American; senior and captain Desiree
 Miller, who was named Academic All-American and second team All-American; and
 senior and captain Mareike Adermann, who was named first team All-American;
 and
 Whereas, the team has brought honor and positive attention to the University

- of Wisconsin-Whitewater campus and highlighted the athletic possibilities for
 individuals with a disability; now, therefore, be it
- 8 **Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That** the members of the 9 Wisconsin legislature commend the Warhawks, the coaching staff, and the student 10 athletes on the 2013 National Wheelchair Basketball Association Intercollegiate 11 Women's Division National Championship and wish them great success in all future 12 endeavors.

13

(END)