

State of Misconsin 2013 - 2014 LEGISLATURE



2013 ASSEMBLY JOINT RESOLUTION 84

January 31, 2014 – Introduced by Representatives Jorgensen, Vos, Barca, Berceau, Bies, Craig, Danou, Hintz, Hutton, Jacque, Jagler, Kahl, Kerkman, Knodl, Kolste, Marklein, Mason, Nass, A. Ott, Ringhand, Shankland, Spiros, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Wright and Kaufert, cosponsored by Senators T. Cullen, Grothman, Hansen, Harsdorf, Kedzie, Lassa, Miller, Olsen and Vinehout. Referred to Committee on Rules.

Relating to: commending the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater football team 1 for winning the National Collegiate Athletic Association Division III Football 2 3 National Championship title. Whereas, the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater Warhawks football team 4 5 achieved a perfect season in 2013, winning all 15 of their games, culminating in their 6 33rd league title in program history and a 52-14 victory over Mount Union in the 7 Amos Alonzo Stagg Bowl to earn the National Collegiate Athletic Association 8 Division III Football National Championship title; and 9 Whereas, this is the fifth time in seven years that the football team has won the 10 NCAA Division III title; and 11 Whereas, the team has been led by a dedicated coaching staff, including head 12 coach Lance Leipold, who was named D3football.com's Coach of the Year, assistant head coach and defensive coordinator Brian Borland, and offensive coordinator Andy 13 14 Kotelnicki; and

1

 $\mathbf{2}$

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

Whereas, the team has also benefited from many experienced student athletes, including senior linebacker Cole Klotz, who was named the Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Player of the Year, and seniors Tyler Huber, Zach Howard, Josh Williams, Steve Morris, Andrew Keister, Eric Kindler, Bryan Spakowicz, Kyle Wismer, Ryan Cortez, Joe Paulus, Marshall Rutherford, and Loussaint Minett; and

Whereas, the team has brought honor and positive attention to the University of Wisconsin–Whitewater and pride to its community and state as a whole; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the members of the Wisconsin legislature commend the Warhawks, their coaching staff, and their student athletes on winning the 2013 National Collegiate Athletic Association Division III Football National Championship title and wish them great success in all future endeavors.

15 (END)