

State of Misconsin 2013 - 2014 LEGISLATURE



2013 SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 26

May 3, 2013 – Introduced by Senators Moulton and Vinehout, cosponsored by Representatives Bernier, Petryk, Wachs and T. Larson. Referred to Committee on Senate Organization.

1	Relating to: commending the University of Wisconsin–Eau Claire men's hockey
2	team on winning the 2012–13 NCAA Division III Championship.
3	Whereas, the University of Wisconsin–Eau Claire Blugold men's hockey team
4	won the 2012–13 NCAA Division III men's hockey national championship; and
5	Whereas, the Blugold men's hockey team's season record of 24–5–2 was the best
6	season record in program history, earning the team the WAC conference
7	championship title; and
8	Whereas, the Blugolds earned a spot in the NCAA tournament ranked fourth
9	in the nation, and after defeating St. John's and St. Norbert's, the Blugolds entered
10	their first NCAA Frozen Four; and
11	Whereas, in the Frozen Four the Blugolds defeated Utica College and went on
12	to face the Oswego State Lakers in the national championship game; and
13	Whereas, on March 16, 2013, at the Herb Brooks Memorial Arena in Lake
14	Placid, New York, the Blugold men's hockey team beat the Lakers with a score of 5–3
15	to win the NCAA Division III men's hockey national championship; and

2013 – 2014 Legislature – 2 –

1	Whereas, this was the first national championship for the UW–Eau Claire
2	men's hockey team as members of the NCAA and the second national championship
3	in program history; and
4	Whereas, head coach Matt Loen was voted the USCHO Division III Coach of the
5	Year; and
6	Whereas, three Blugold players were named to the CCM Division III
7	All-American First Team and to the All-USCHO team; and
8	Whereas, the UW–Eau Claire men's hockey team, through its extraordinary
9	performance and record-setting season, exemplifies the university's motto of
10	"excellence," and has made its university and community very proud; now, therefore,
11	be it
12	Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That the members of the
13	Wisconsin legislature commend and congratulate the University of Wisconsin–Eau
14	Claire men's hockey team on winning the 2012–13 NCAA Division III Championship
15	and on an outstanding season.
16	(END)