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AN ACT to create 36.27 (2) (br) of the statutes; relating to: exempting from

nonresident tuition at the University of Wisconsin System certain members of

the Wisconsin National Guard or a reserve unit of the U.S. armed forces.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau

This bill provides for resident tuition at University of Wisconsin (UW) System
institutions for certain members of the Wisconsin National Guard or a reserve unit
of the U.S. armed forces who would not otherwise be eligible for resident tuition.

With certain exceptions, under current law, a person must be a resident of this
state for at least 12 months prior to registering at an institution within the UW
System in order to be exempt from paying nonresident tuition.

This bill provides that a member of the Wisconsin National Guard or a reserve
unit of the U.S. armed forces, other than an inactive guard member or member of the
individual ready reserve, who would otherwise be ineligible for the nonresident
tuition exemption is eligible if he or she satisfies the following conditions:

1. He or she resided in this state for six months prior to registering at a UW
institution.

2. He or she has been a member of the Wisconsin National Guard or a reserve
unit of the U.S. armed forces for the entire six-month period.

3. He or she continues to be a member of the guard or reserve unit while
enrolled in a UW institution or is honorably discharged from the guard or reserve
unit.

The bill limits the exemption from nonresident tuition to 128 credits or eight
semesters, whichever is longer.
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For further information see the state fiscal estimate, which will be printed as
an appendix to this bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:

SECTION 1. 36.27 (2) (br) of the statutes is created to read:

36.27 (2) (br) 1. In this paragraph, “national guard” has the meaning given in
s. 321.01 (9).

2. Subject to subd. 4., a student who meets all of the following requirements is
entitled to the exemption under par. (a):

a. The student has resided in this state for 6 months next preceding the
beginning of any semester or session for which the student registers at an institution.
If a student residing in this state is called out of the state to perform duties as a
member of the national guard or a reserve unit of the U.S. armed forces, during the
period in which the student is called out of the state the student shall be considered
as residing in this state for purposes of this subd. 2. a.

b. The student is a member of the national guard or a reserve unit of the U.S.
armed forces, other than an inactive member of the national guard or a member of
the individual ready reserve as described in 10 USC 10144, when he or she registers
at an institution and has been a member for the 6-month period under subd. 2. a.

c. While enrolled in an institution, the student continues to be a member of the
national guard or reserve unit of the U.S. armed forces, or is honorably discharged
from the national guard or a reserve unit of the U.S. armed forces.

3. If a student receiving the exemption under this paragraph withdraws from
the system because he or she is called into state active duty or into active service with

the U.S. armed forces for at least 30 days, the student is entitled to the exemption
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under this paragraph if he or she reenrolls in the system in the semester in which
he or she is discharged, demobilized, or deactivated from active duty or in the next
succeeding semester.

4. The exemption under this paragraph is limited to 128 credits or 8 semesters,
whichever is longer.

SECTION 2. Initial applicability.

(1) This act first applies to a person who registers at an institution in the
University of Wisconsin System in the academic year beginning after the effective
date of this subsection.

(END)



