1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

LRB-4632/1 CMH:klm

2015 SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 105

February 11, 2016 – Introduced by Senators L. Taylor, Bewley, Erpenbach, Harris Dodd, Lassa, Ringhand, Vinehout and Wanggaard, cosponsored by Representatives C. Taylor, Berceau, Brostoff, Considine, Danou, Hebl, Horlacher, Jorgensen, Milroy, Murphy, Ohnstad, Zepnick, Spreitzer, Shankland and Petryk. Referred to Committee on Senate Organization.

Relating to: proclaiming May 3, 2016, as National Teacher Appreciation Day in Wisconsin.

Whereas, educators have a vital impact on the lives of our children, contribute more to student achievement than any other aspect of education, and serve as mentors to the next generation of leaders; and

Whereas, teachers selflessly give to ensure every pupil has a quality education; an overwhelming 91 percent of educators spend their own money to buy basic school supplies for their classroom, which amounts to \$1.5 billion per academic year; and

Whereas, teachers go above and beyond to provide guidance and assistance to underprivileged students, with two in three educators buying snacks to supplement basic nutrition needs and one in three teachers purchasing clothing for students; and

Whereas, educators often provide a place of refuge and escape for students with dysfunctional households, forever changing the life trajectory of these students and fostering a message of support, hope, and acceptance for these students to pursue their dreams; and

Whereas, the legislature has an opportunity to commend and recognize the
outstanding work of educators across Wisconsin and the United States; and
Whereas, May 3, 2016, is designated as National Teacher Appreciation Day as
an honorary day to appreciate the impact teachers have on our students and
communities; now, therefore, be it
Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That the legislature
hereby proclaims May 3, 2016, as National Teacher Appreciation Day in Wisconsin.
(END)