LRB-1951/1 CMH:cjs:cs

## 2015 SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 19

March 27, 2015 - Introduced by Senator RISSER, cosponsored by Representatives BERCEAU and SUBECK. Referred to Committee on Senate Organization.

**Relating to:** congratulating the James Madison Memorial High School Spartans 1 2 boys swimming and diving teams on their 2014-15 season and winning their 3 fifth consecutive state championship. Whereas, the James Madison Memorial High School Spartans boys swimming 4 5 and diving teams finished off their 2014-15 season with their fifth straight Division 6 1 title; and 7 Whereas, the team scored 350.5 points in the WIAA Division 1 state swimming 8 and diving meet, the second-most ever, and its 149.5-point margin of victory was the 9 second-largest ever in any division; and 10 Whereas, the team set four school records, one of which is a state record by the 11 200 Medley Relay team; and 12 Whereas, 11 different individuals from the team placed in the top seven in 13 individual events at the state meet; and

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

Whereas, in addition to this being the fifth straight state championship, this is the team's ninth state championship in the past 11 years, and the team has 136 straight Big Eight conference dual meets without a loss, dating back to 1997; and

Whereas, this was the team's 15th straight overall title, which is tied for most in state history, and the team has finished as state champion or state runner up for 15 consecutive years; and

Whereas, the James Madison Memorial High School Spartans boys swimming and diving teams exemplify that the "whole is greater than the sum of its parts," and recognition must be given to every member of the team and coaching staff; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That the Wisconsin legislature hereby commends and congratulates Justin Temprano, Amos Kaldor, Ben Gebhart, Alex Peterson-Weber, Ryan Menninga, Rory Sanchez, Ryan Henry, Nate Swanson, Baird Miller, Elliot Patterson, Drake Horton, David Chen, and Alex Wowk, swimming coaches Paul Eckerle, Karl Richters, and Michael Drives, and diving coach Phil Lyons on winning the 2015 Boys State Swimming and Diving Championship; and, be it further

**Resolved, That** the senate chief clerk shall provide a copy of this joint resolution to head coaches Paul Eckerle and Phil Lyons, their staff, each member of the team, and Athletic Director Jeremy Schlitz.

21 (END)